We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Point Hostel Lima
Ranked #199 of 358 Specialty Lodging in Lima
Reviewed September 16, 2011

The Point hostel in Lima is one of the best hostels I have ever stayed in. As per all Point hostels, they didn't have our reservation when we arrived (their online booking system really doesn't work!) but they found us a room anyway, and they even gave us a whole 4 bed dorm to ourselves (there were 2 of us) because they didn't have any doubles. The bar and garden were always buzzing, and a great place to meet people. Breakfast after a heavy night at the bar was really good too. Lima itself wasn't very exciting but we were happy to spend most of our time there in the hostel. You have to get a bus/ taxi into town (unless you walk, like we did, but it takes about an hour!) but the area around the hostel has some good restuarants so you don't have to go into town too much.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank louisewitham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TPHMarketing, Guest Relations Manager at The Point Hostel Lima, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2011

Hi
Thanks very much for your review! We are glad you had a great time with us, we were aware of some problems with the online booking system and have now fixed the problems that we had. Thanks again and happy travelling!
The Point

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (101)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

61 - 67 of 101 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2011

The time a spent at the Point in Lima was the best of the whole trip. The people are fantastic and the have an onsite cook that's pretty cheap.
It will be even better when they have finished the new bathrooms (almost finished when I was there).

There is a square nearby with the best market in Lima for tourists on Sundays, and very cheap too

Happy Hour is fantastic.
A place I'll never forget.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GenevieveH4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2010

We didn't book this hostel ourselves - we had a credit through STA travel and they booked it for our one-night layover in Lima. I read reviews beforehand that had called it "The Party Hostel," and it definitely was.

The staff was not very helpful. The beds were comfortable and there were lockers to lock your bags in. The bathrooms were old and kind of gross. On the plus side, there is free internet and a TV room with lots of DVDs to watch. On the downside, the bar and the pool tables are located RIGHT next to the rooms, so it's impossible to sleep with all the music and beer pong going on. The crowd of people there was also very random and kind of weird.

Overall, I didn't really see anything that would cause me to recommend this to a friend or want to stay there again. I feel like there are probably better Lima hostels out there.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brnidgrl3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2010

My friend and I stayed here for 3 days before moving to Cuzco, it was our first time travelling, We loved this hostel, definitely one of the best we stayed at, The atmosphere was great, staff were helpful and it felt very safe and secure. Internet was fine, nice bar area and the rooms were comfortable. Recommended for people backpacking,

Stayed: June 2010
Thank queenmel1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2010

This hostel was great if what you are looking for is to meet people. We stayed there for two nights, and found it to be a decent place to base our stay. The neighbourhood is great, and it was easy to get to places to eat, shop and see.
It's unfortunate that there are no private baths, and that the shared showers/bathrooms (which are co-ed) were not overly clean, but for the price we paid we certainly didn't expect more.
The lodgings themselves were basic, but fairly clean. However, if you are looking for a quiet night, look elsewhere, as this place is hopping until the wee hours of the morning, and there are no real windows/walls to separate you from the action.
All in all, we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laineysmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
new york
14
Reviewed February 11, 2005

maybe the best hostel i have ever been to ... if you are looking for fun ... that´s the place for you .

4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Aritz d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lima hotels
Lima Wari Suites
#86 of 230 in Lima
95 reviews
Barranco
Beraja Family Hostel
Beraja Family Hostel
#11 of 358 in Lima
40 reviews
Barranco
Hostel Domeyer
Hostel Domeyer
#110 of 358 in Lima
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barranco
La Puerta Verde
La Puerta Verde
#39 of 321 in Lima
32 reviews
Barranco
Casa Nuestra Peru B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Point Hostel Lima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Point Hostel Lima

Address: Jr. Batalla Junin, Lima 300, Peru (Formerly The Point Backpackers Hostel Lima)
Location: Peru > Lima Region > Lima > Barranco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #199 of 358 Specialty Lodging in Lima
Price Range: $10 - $20 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Point Hostel Lima 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Point Lima was opened in 2002, as the first real backpacker hostel in Peru. We are located in a beautiful colonial mansion in Barranco, Lima's most vibrant district, on a quiet side street and facing the ocean, where you can find dozens of shops, restaurants, bars, clubs, and other attractions. Our friendly (English speaking) staff can book attractions for you directly from the front desk. Enjoy our TV room and courtyard, blazing fast WiFi and our tasty restaurant. At night, drop by the PointLess Barand when the bar closes at 1am, our nightlife guide will take you out to a different club every night! Visit us and enjoy the ultimate hostel experience! Please check out our websites for more info about our Hostel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and HostelWorld so you can book your The Point Hostel Lima reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Point Backpackers Hostel Lima Hotel Lima

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing