We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful El Olivar”
Review of Discovering Peru

Discovering Peru
Ranked #27 of 230 Tours in Lima
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Saint Jeannet, France
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful El Olivar”
Reviewed November 19, 2013

If there is a beautiful Park in Lima, it is El Olivar. This large Colonial olive grove, planted with century old trees, is rather unknown from tourists, and mostly used by Limeños for an afternoon stroll, a picnic on the lawns, or just relaxing, watching exotic birds fly-over. El Olivar is peculiar not only for it's discretion, as there are no major thoroughfare crossing the park, but also for it's relatively large size, it's private colonial houses dotting the park, as if built by mistake, the panels describing the birds that can be spotted, and of course, the gorgeous olive trees. A must, on a weekend afternoon.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Malagueta1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    93
    23
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Apache Junction, Arizona
Level Contributor
119 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Many sides to Lima”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

As with any large city Lima has many sides. Miraflores is upscale with a busy working white collar center. Other areas we saw were more entrepreneurial. There were street vendors with small carts on most corners, There were smaller independent shops. We were told that elections are held on Sunday so as not to take away income from locals. Everyone must work even school children. The schools have 3 sessions, one lasting late into the night so that families can cover their businesses 24/6. This is a Catholic country so religion is very important to the citizens. As with others big cities there are areas you want to avoid. Be sure to ask your hotel about different areas or do some research before getting off the beaten path.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank sunshine1940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Fernando, Trinidad
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Can live in Lima, Peru.”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

This city is great. Everything you could ever want, and fairly cheap too. Museums, parks, food, drink, people, weather, and the beach....it's all good.
There's even a huge Incan ruins being excavated in the Miraflores district.
I don't suggest you drive though. Peruvian drivers are maniacs. Let them do the driving, make sure you buckle-up, and hold on tight.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank dlion88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“a wonderful place”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

I can not think of anything to dislike about Lima. I have lived in Lima as a child and have returned twice as an adult. The city has just about everything one could want. People are kind and caring, any kind of food in the world is available. Hospitality industry is second to none. Sights and smells are incredible.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank hoosiermut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
290 reviews
93 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Lima a City of Extemes”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Lima is a huge sprawling city full of extremes. I spent two weeks in Lima staying in the San Borgia area. I travelled to Miraflores, Downtown lima and La Victoria on numerous occasions, as with all large cities where there are extremes of wealth and poverty do not draw extra attention to yourself. Do not carry your phone with you, only have cash that you will need for your trip, do not wear expensive looking jewellery including your watch. Be mindful of your surroundings at all times. In the Miraflores area I carried my DSLR camera in a camera case over my shoulder I had not issues there, there are lots of security guards/Police in this area. When using Taxis negotiate a price before getting in, they do not have meters and avoid thevolunteerabroad black taxis. The cost of most fares around Lima will range from 15-20 Sols. When arriving and departing Lima pre arrange for transfers to and from the airport to your Hotel.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Geoff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Discovering Peru also viewed

 

Been to Discovering Peru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing