We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the Splurge”
Review of Hotel B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel B
Ranked #6 of 224 Hotels in Lima
Certificate of Excellence
Mill Valley, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Worth the Splurge”
Reviewed August 23, 2014

The Macias siblings create a narrative around a personality, which they then use to guide their creative decisions. For Hotel B the design concepts sprung from the life of Flora Tristan, a socialist activist and writer, born of a French mother and an aristocratic Peruvian father. That she was the grandmother of Paul Gauguin only added to the artistic flair of the Macias’ concept. Hotel B’s interiors are a stunning blend of art, elegance and a sense of history.

My wife and I, having enjoyed a long relationship with Perú, elected to celebrate our 50th wedding anniversary with Flora. It was a wondrous experience. The high ceilings, carefully chosen art and intimacy of the small public areas provide an atmosphere at once contemporary yet steeped in Belle Époque tones. The hotel includes a three-story modern annex, which we did not explore.

The well-trained young staff quietly and efficiently met all or our needs. The kitchen turns out comforting Peruvian cuisine. An eclectic gathering of guests and locals keeps the small bar humming. The Pisco Sours are great, but alas, the coffee could stand a major upgrade.

Wondrous experiences don’t come cheap. In the case of Hotel B the value is there, even though burdened with a hefty luxury tax. If even only for one night, the splurge is worth it.

Room Tip: It's a small boutique hotel, each room has its character and ample comfort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier B, Marketing Manager at Hotel B, responded to this review, October 21, 2015
Thank You very much for your time and specially for choosing Hotel B as your hotel in Lima.
It was a pleasure to have you with us and to know that you enjoyed your stay with us is our reward and motivation to keep working hard.

We truly hope to hear from you soon and have you again with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    337
    50
    11
    5
    1
See reviews for
67
199
24
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2014

Stayed here for one night and left wishing I could have stayed longer. A wonderfully converted old house. Unusual and imaginative decor with a lot of art and photography on display. Lovely afternoon tea in the library (included in the bed and breakfast deal). Fantastic restaurant and bar that made some of the best cocktails I have drunk. Very very comfortable and plush room. Sumptuous breakfast buffet laid on at 5.30AM as we had to make an early start. Utterly friendly staff. Barranco is a beautiful quaint neighbourhood to explore on foot. And finally, this is the only hotel I have been in where the evening turndown service left not just chocolates but also a poem on my bed!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SB2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketing T, Director de Recepción at Hotel B, responded to this review, December 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your words, we highly appreciate them.
It is always rewarding to hear from our clients and know they had a good stay with us. We try to create unique experiences for each one of our clients and keep improving every day.
Please let us know if you are planning to return to Peru, It will be a pleasure to have you again with us.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

What a wonderful hotel! The staff is amazing and the hotel is unique in every sense of the word. What a place for high comfort and art lovers.
The staff is helpful in every way the can. Don't forget to take a tour of the hotel. It's a must.
The restaurant of the hotel is delicious and very cozy.
A must!!!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CommercialDirector, Director Comercial at Hotel B, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your words, we highly appreciate them.
It is always rewarding to hear from our clients and know they had a good stay with us. We try to create unique experiences for each one of our clients and keep improving every day.
Please let us know if you are planning to return to Peru, It will be a pleasure to have you again with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for the 1st night of our honeymoon. And WAW, what an amazing hotel. Although it was only a short 12 hour stopover in Lima before flying on to Cusco, this hotel was the perfect start to our honeymoon. The hotel is grand but elegant. The rooms and public areas are stunning. The breakfast and service was exceptional. The service was personal throughout. We were treated to some champagne and chocolates on arrival. It really was the perfect start to our honeymoon adventure. We would love to have stayed for another night to explore the local areas. Thank you very much for our short stay.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CommercialDirector, Director Comercial at Hotel B, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you for sharing your comments and specially for choosing Hotel B for your Honeymoon. We deeply appreciate that.
It is absolutely great to know that you enjoyed your stay and we made this occasion a special one. We consider our hotel really romantic and we try to make of each stay, an unforgettable one.

We truly wish to have you again in one of your coming anniversaries!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
153 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2014

When you spring for luxury, you expect excellence. At Hotel B, when I checked in late at night, I paid 360 dollars (at an apparent discount from 550!) for a small room, with ear plugs provided, that had no hot water when I went to shower. Traffic was loud, and when breakfast time came around, it was a small buffet with a very confusing set up. I finally ascertained that there was service to bring you eggs, etc, but it was slow. When I asked for a second cup of coffee I waited 20 mins. We ate food in the restaurant and it was average, and overall the service was bumbling. I found this place a huge disappointment. Only the receptionists seemed to know what they were doing, although when I told them I had no hot water the night before they apologised and that was it. At those prices, you expect something more. All over Peru I found that 5 star hotels seemed to be somewhat out of their depth, and were not really up to standard. I rarely stay in them mind, so perhaps I am the one with unrealistic expectations. In this case, however, I feel like they are not quite at the races.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TheUnnamable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CommercialDirector, Director Comercial at Hotel B, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

We truly apologize for all the inconveniences during your stay.
All the involved areas have taken good note of your comments and working really hard to solve the mentioned issues. We are always working so hard to improve every details and provide the best service. Your comments are highly appreciated and helped us so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2014

This hotel is different from any hotel that I've stayed in. It's more of an art gallery than a hotel from when you walk into the door. Every room is different, the first floor is the older part of the hotel and the key is an old skeleton key! The second floor is newer and the room that I stayed in had a tub right in the middle! The bed is very comfortable and the linen is amazing. I had no problem sleeping. The bathroom is modern with toiletries that I didn't care for due to my sensitive sense of smell. Do walk around and look at all the art on all the floors. Don't forget to walk up to the terrace to see a glimpse of the ocean. Breakfast here was superb, but tea time was fair compared to the other hotels that we've stayed at during our trip to Peru. Service here was top notch. Hotel B is walking distance to several galleries, there's one next door! It was a nice park right in front and walking distance to the ocean and just around the Barranco area. My favorite thing about this hotel are the doors in the older part of the hotel! Just a unique experience!

Room Tip: Newer rooms on the second floor, some with a stand alone tub! These rooms are bigger than the older...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CommercialDirector, Director Comercial at Hotel B, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments and review.
It is great to know that you enjoyed our property and specially the concept. We are very proud of our private art collection.

We truly hope to have the chance to have you again with us pretty soon at Hotel B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

If you've looked for hotels in Lima, besides the old Country Club, you'll see recommendations for this renovated colonial style home in Barranco. It's small, with beautiful communal spaces, well-appointed rooms, and a cozy bar. The half owner also owns a fantastic art gallery next door, but you are in the artists' region of the City, so walk the (safe) streets to find more examples of very sophisticated, interesting art. The Hotel B has superb offerings for breakfast in the dining room and on its sunlit patio. The service was "green" last week, but willing to do anything to please. As this relatively new hotel settles in, I'm sure that won't be a concern. The mural over the bar reminds of great bars in Madrid, New York, or any sophisticated city, and the patrons were well-dressed locals, as well as guests.
This is not a hotel for a budget traveler.

Room Tip: You are close to the ocean, but I don't think there are direct ocean views. The streets seemed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CommercialDirector, Director Comercial at Hotel B, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments, we highly appreciate them.
It is great to know that you enjoyed our private art collection, we are very proud of it and we keep selecting important pieces in order to turn each stay into a unique experience of the senses.
We are taking good note of your words and we would love to have you again with us in a near future.
Thank you for chosing Hotel B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lima hotels
Miraflores
JW Marriott Hotel Lima
Miraflores
Hilton Lima Miraflores
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miraflores
Courtyard Lima Miraflores
Foresta Hotel Lima
#8 of 224 in Lima
779 reviews
Miraflores
Casa Andina Premium Miraflores
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel B

Property: Hotel B
Address: Saenz Pena 204 | Barranco, Lima 15063, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Lima Region > Lima > Barranco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 224 Hotels in Lima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel B 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel B, the first arts-boutique hotel in Lima, a restored mansion that feature 17 suites and a signature restaurant by Oscar Velarde. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Hotel B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing