We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Ceviche!”
Review of La Picanteria

La Picanteria
Ranked #46 of 3,548 Restaurants in Lima
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $45
Cuisines: Peruvian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed May 17, 2019

La Picanteria was the culinary highlight of our trip to Peru! The restaurant had a great vibe from the moment we walked in. We enjoyed pisco sours and roasted corn with chili at the bar before heading into the main dining room for lunch. We loved sitting at the long tables and had fun chatting with our neighbors between courses. Our waiter was lovely and gave us a 5-star experience. With our permission, he took the reigns and picked out a corvina for us (sold by the kilo) and had it prepared 4 ways. Two AMAZING ceviche preparations, the fried fish head with half of the fish roasted on the bone, and to finish off, fish broth made with the rest of the fish bones. BEST MEAL EVER! I cannot recommend this restaurant highly enough. If you find yourself in Lima for lunch, do yourself a favor and get to La Picanteria!

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lmhaugo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (483)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6 - 10 of 483 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2019

My husband and I really love this place. We bring all of our out-of-town visitors here because its not only a really great restaurant but its also such a fun experience! Our guests usually love the concept of choosing not just a dish but the whole fish and then having it prepared several ways. The fish is all freshly caught and displayed on ice next to a chalkboard with all the options + weights available for that day. Once someone orders a fish, it's marked off the chalkboard indicating that one is no longer available. Its fun to choose the fish and preparations as a group. Sometimes deciding the appropriate weight can be a challenge for beginners, but the waitstaff are pretty helpful and haven't steered us wrong yet. We've visited here 5 times already and have never had anything we didn't love ! And although the ceviche and other fish preparations are definitely a highlight other items on the menu have been fantastic as well -- the lobster was yummy as was the osso bucco ! I would definitly call La Picanteria one of the must-do spots while visiting Lima!

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank _Kismet_B_2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2019

La Picanteria is an interesting concept of a restaurant that strengthens the already strong food offerings in Surquillo. The secret of this place is the freshnes of the fish. You buy the entire fish and order how you want it cooked. I asked for a ceviche, a sudado and a chilcano. The ceviche was one of the best I have eaten in Lima, the sudado was also great but the best part was closing this magnificent meal with the chilcano prepared the way my mother made it. As you seat in communal tables you have the chance to interact with your neighbors. Ours was a chilean couple that were enchanted by the meal and especially by the Pisco Sours. Great fun and a great meal.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank Jorge G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2019 via mobile

Arriving early definitely pays off. You can spend the time before the restaurant openes in a bar, sipping pisco sour or beer and nibbling homemade fried corn with chili. You then get the table in the main dining room (not in the entrance lobby) and don’t have to wait for it.
As recommended, we chose a fish and had it prepared three ways: ceviche, soup, and fried. We added a plate of grilled shellfish to that.
They first bring some fried bread to the table, accompanied by a simple, yet wonderful sauce. Its secret is in ceviche juice which is added to olive oil, lemon, onions, and chili.
Grilled scallops and razor clams were good, the latter wining the match. Again, very simple (similar sauce, lots of onions), but very tasty due to the quality of the ingredients.
Ceviche was great. I especially liked the fried skin accompanying it and adding a crunchy element to the dish.
They used the bones (and I guess many other things) to make a simple, slightly spicy soup with a couple of tomato pieces and some vegetable swimming in it.
The grand finale was the grilled fish. They put it on banana leaf and covered it with a wonderful aji tamarillo sauce. Phenomenal!!!
The dessert was just for tasting purposes; I would definitely skip it.
Very enjoyable, very informative waiters, relaxed atmosphere. At 80 EUR for three definitely worth the price.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank Matevz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2019

Great choice of fresh seafood cooked in many different ways. Great service and atmosphere. Need to arrive at 12 sharp if you do not want to wait..

Date of visit: December 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Picanteria also viewed

Lima, Lima Region
Lima, Lima Region
 
Lima, Lima Region
 
Lima, Lima Region
Lima, Lima Region
 

Been to La Picanteria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing