We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five stars for originality”
Review of Amaz

Amaz
Ranked #28 of 2,538 Restaurants in Lima
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Peruvian
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
San Salvador, El Salvador
Level Contributor
140 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Five stars for originality”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

I try new things but I am rather more conventional in my tastes, for these reasons I wouldn't make Amaz a habit. Now that that is out of the way, this was an interesting choice and adds to the overheated foodie market in Lima, as well as an option other than ceviche, ceviche, ceviche...

I thought I couldn't read the Spanish menu so we asked for the English version, then we realized that we just had no idea what any of the things on the menu were regardless of the language. We told the waiter to bring us his own selections from the menu, four or five things appetizer style so that we could share and sample the menu without being overly picky or annoying. In my opinion, unless you have a deep knowledge of Amazonian cuisine (giant river snails, anyone?), I recommend this route. I have no idea what we were eating half of the time, but it was river heavy (prawns, snails, fish, etc) washed down with smooth pisco sours.

It is at the base of the Marriott, and yes it is a bit pretentious, which is how I prefer restaurants. Although my buddy was fine in a t-shirt, so whatever.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jimmy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,030 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    594
    303
    89
    28
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“not amazing”
Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

Some food highlights (leaf-wrapped steamed fish) however overpriced, pretentious and cool service. You shouldn't be paying US$7 for rice anywhere, especially in Lima.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank GregRobTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good spot for casual dining”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Convenient location in busy Miraflores. We had a relaxed lunch. The food was good but the aji sauce on the side and the duck fried rice were my favorites, The scallop starter is average but the two different fish preparations on the menu were delicious. We got to visit the kitchen and watch them make little chicken and rice bundles wrapped in banana leaf before being steamed.it is pretty authentic Peruvian food but presented well and worth a visit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travlingfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart, Florida
Level Contributor
158 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“A Great Surprise in Miraflores!!”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

I have been living in Lima for a better part of the past five years, and have eaten in many of the best restaurants in all districts of Lima. I find this to be a new, and novel approach to the foods of the Peruvian Jungle presented in more of a gourmet fashion. I see that most of the people who have critizes the prices have been Peruvians, but when you compare the prices to most other "popular restaurants", it is in line, however not on the menu in print, but all dishes are available in half portions for half price. I had the smoked paiche, wonderful, my wife had the Cecina, fantastic. I love that I can walk to this restaurant from my apartment. see you there!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrewcary11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Exotic food and beautiful atmosphere”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

One of the most important factors to me when dining out is the atmosphere. The design of the restaurant is impressive and transports you to an upscale amazonian experience. The dishes are excellently put together and mix of flavors will blow you away. We asked the waiter to recommend a few dishes to us and we were not disappointed. The cocktails are also a must if you eat here. Using pisco and fruit from the Amazon, they manage to create delicate yet powerful drinks that will leave you wanting more. My friends and I were very impressed with this restaurant and I would recommend enthusiastically.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amaz also viewed

 
Lima, Lima Region
Lima, Lima Region
 
Lima, Lima Region
Lima, Lima Region
 

Been to Amaz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing