We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The House Project
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (251)
Filter reviews
251 results
Traveler rating
104
77
54
12
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
104
77
54
12
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate roomstayed here for four nightscommunal areasrecommend staying herehostelnoisewifimirafloresgymsoapneighborhood
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
82 - 87 of 251 reviews
Reviewed August 19, 2013

I first came here by accident, now I return by choice. This hostel has all the basic amenities, but its best feature is the warm, welcoming staff, and fresh squeezed OJ in the morning is an additional delight.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Service
Thank Carl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

In May 2013, I took the chance to compare what changed at the House project and what stayed the same since my last stay there in November 2012.
The open-air breakfast, the wooden oven, the new setting in front area - all the chances really make this place an even better place to meet great people and spend a great time in a city full of character.
What stayed the same? The atmosphere only real people with real lifes can create and almost all the staff at this place is soo open-minded and interesting, I hope you guys continue like that! it starts with Edu s transfers from and to everywhere and only goes on and on with lots of ideas and smiles- thank you!
good luck and see you in September I hope

Daniel Graser

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gonzo81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedro C, Owner at The House Project, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Hey man!It was great to host you both times and realize how much we have changed and improved. We are now 1 year old and still working hard on making this place be better than the day before. We all look forward to catch up again if you make your way back in September. Best wishes!Pedro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We stayed here for three nights and really enjoyed our stay. The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful - nothing was too much trouble! The room was very clean and the beds comfortable. It was noisy at night due to the proximity of all the nightlife, but didn't worry me too much. Breakfast is simple but tasty with scrambled eggs, freshly-squeezed home made juice and fresh rolls, all taken on a very nice room terrace. We've booked to stay again on our return to Lima!

Room Tip: The rooms furthest from the nightlife are quietest!
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iain H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedro C, Owner at The House Project, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review. We are 1 year old and all feedback is important to keep improving. There are certain things such as the noise from the neighbourhood during weekends nights (Thursday to Saturday) that we can't do much but offer free earplugs and available all times. The house as you had witnessed is quiet...we are not a party hostel. Best wishes, Pedro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

This place is perfect for the young, bearded laptop user. As a middle-aged couple, we felt out of place, but the staff was always nice.

Our first-floor room was large, with a big armoire and a lounge chair in the corner, perfect for writing in a (print) journal. It was a little chilly, like everywhere we went in Peru in June. Shower was fine, bed was fine; one of the pillows was kind of flat & lumpy.

Breakfast was good--we found our way up to Malu's Kitchen, overlooking the play area in the back. Beverages are self-serve, and Malu brings the typical breakfast, only a little better--there were a few vegetables in our eggs, an assortment of bread, and oatmeal with apple in it. There is a refrigerator for those who want to store their own food.

The location was great, although there is a lot of late-night partying in the area. We didn't have any problem sleeping.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JKabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 3 nights, enjoyed them very much. Only issue I found is the noise coming from night clubs and sports centre next door(I needed ear plugs and the hostel provides them free of charge otherwise it was fine).
Decent free breakfast, free wifi, free tea/coffee. Kitchen and chill out facilities to use as needed. Hot water wasn't always available and so if you like your luxury or 20min showers this isn't the place for you. I would recommend good value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redribbons112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews