We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming place even for those who don't quite fit in”
Review of The House Project

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The House Project
Ranked #20 of 338 Specialty Lodging in Lima
Brooklyn, NY
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Welcoming place even for those who don't quite fit in”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

This place is perfect for the young, bearded laptop user. As a middle-aged couple, we felt out of place, but the staff was always nice.

Our first-floor room was large, with a big armoire and a lounge chair in the corner, perfect for writing in a (print) journal. It was a little chilly, like everywhere we went in Peru in June. Shower was fine, bed was fine; one of the pillows was kind of flat & lumpy.

Breakfast was good--we found our way up to Malu's Kitchen, overlooking the play area in the back. Beverages are self-serve, and Malu brings the typical breakfast, only a little better--there were a few vegetables in our eggs, an assortment of bread, and oatmeal with apple in it. There is a refrigerator for those who want to store their own food.

The location was great, although there is a lot of late-night partying in the area. We didn't have any problem sleeping.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JKabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    77
    53
    11
    4
See reviews for
10
67
50
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 3 nights, enjoyed them very much. Only issue I found is the noise coming from night clubs and sports centre next door(I needed ear plugs and the hostel provides them free of charge otherwise it was fine).
Decent free breakfast, free wifi, free tea/coffee. Kitchen and chill out facilities to use as needed. Hot water wasn't always available and so if you like your luxury or 20min showers this isn't the place for you. I would recommend good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redribbons112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merida, Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

I stayed here because my usual place in Miraflores was full, and got the last room here, what an opportunity! Centrally located in Miraflores near Park Kennedy, restaurants, shops, bars, etc... But the best was the personnel who was so friendly and helpful, I had to cancel my next booking on short notice with no problem and when I forgot my glasses there, they gladly mailed them back to me and made me feel like a long time friend after only one visit!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martinicha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Pros: The House Project was conveniently located to all the tourist attractions of Miraflores, and the price was very reasonable. The breakfast was very good, and the front desk staff were helpful. We really liked Edu, the driver who provided our rides to and from the airport.

Cons: Our room was directly off the main courtyard, where people watch television. Because the building was designed with ventilation windows that don't close, there was almost constant noise. Breakfast doesn't start until 8, and the one morning we were hoping to grab a coffee before heading to the airport (around 7:30, after checking with the front desk staff), the woman preparing breakfast shut the door in my husband's face.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Camwold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedro C, Owner at The House Project, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Dear friend,

Thanks for your review which will help us improving in many ways

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast, find our front desk team helpful, house conveniently located, and had a safe and good time with Edu, with whom we have been working since pretty much a year when we opened the doors of this house project.

Its true that we do have some rooms directly off the main courtyard and that the building (which we don't own but rent since a year ago) was designed with ventilation bathroom windows that don't close.

This review also give us the opportunity to remind everyone as we do be email, confirmation letters and in person while the check in that we are NOT a "party hostel", however due to our central location in the heart of Miraflores the neighborhood is loud during weekends from Thursday to Saturday night. In some cases and depending on public holidays it could be other days as well.

Our shared TV hours are from 9am to midnight which we think is reasonable for almost everyone to be pleased considering that we are a adventure travelers hostel. Internal quiet times start after midnight and we do have signs for that.

We are aware that some people are more sensitive than others so we kindly offer earplugs at no cost and available all times. They are placed in a special earplug dispenser which is in front of reception.

We will definitely take into consideration your comment and start changing ventilation systems in the bathrooms facing the courtyard.

On the other hand, I do apologies if Malu (woman you mentioned) did shut the door in your husband face. It surprises me as she is very respectful so will have a talk to her. Wouldve been great if you let us know what happened straight away by telling the morning person.

We also remind our guests and future ones that our kitchen hours go from 8am until 11pm. Malu comes in by 7am to get ready for the breaksfast that goes from 8am until 11am. We decided to open it at 8 cause people was showing up very early expecting early and quick breakfast, making noise and leaving a mess.

Will also take you comment into consideration and decide a solutions to make it work for everyone, either by be reopening the kitchen again from 7am (not for breakfast or using the cooking area though) and/or to place a coffee station in the front of house area. Will appreciate to hear other solutions if you have some.

Thanks for your time once again and looking forward to hearing back from you.

Gracias y saludos,

Pedro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Nice hostel, the staff was very helpful. Good location in Miraflores, very close to a lot of restaurants and bars. About a 20 minute walk or so to the beach. Clean rooms, good breakfast, and loved the hostel dog Sancho :) Would definately recommend it, but it does get a bit noisy weekend nights so keep that in mind if you need total quiet to sleep.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

We had just one night here, in between flying from cusco and out of Lima, but couldn't have wished for a better hostel!! The staff were ridiculously welcoming and helpful!

Whilst the taxi from the airport is 1&1/2 hours, this is what lonely planet says to expect if staying in Miraflores, so can't complain. Location is good otherwise though, short walk to supermarket and also loads of restaurants and to park Kennedy and the sea front.

Breakfast was also fantastic, make sure you try the fresh juice!!

We stayed in a 5 bed dorm which was very spacious. The common area is very cool, nice hammocks and a fussball table. Wifi throughout the building. There is also a good kitchen.

Would very highly recommend, we wished we had longer here.

Stayed may 2013 as a couple.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Okciaran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

What did we like....

The location of the hostel in Miraflores is perfect, close to restaurants, bars, supermarkets and banks.

We liked the enthusiasm of the owners and staff. The hostel was clean and security conscious and provided excellent breakfasts.

Tours and outside activities were provided on request and the staff were very knowledgeable.  

There is a taxi service available and provided by The House Project driver Edu - it is a safe and secure way to get to and from the airport.

The dislikes:

The only dislike (not limited to The House Project) is the constant car alarms going off at night throughout the Miraflores area and constant road traffic noise till early hours of the morning due to location of night clubs in the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ToTravelToo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lima hotels
Miraflores
Hostel Kokopelli
Hostel Kokopelli
#18 of 338 in Lima
309 reviews
Dragonfly Hostels
#4 of 338 in Lima
434 reviews
Miraflores
Red Llama Eco Hostel
Red Llama Eco Hostel
#11 of 338 in Lima
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miraflores
Puriwasi Hostel Lima
Puriwasi Hostel Lima
#7 of 338 in Lima
409 reviews
Pariwana Hostel Lima
#1 of 338 in Lima
731 reviews
Flying Dog Hostel
#28 of 338 in Lima
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The House Project? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The House Project

Property: The House Project
Address: Calle Bellavista 215 | Miraflores, Lima Lima 18, Peru
Location: Peru > Lima Region > Lima
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 338 Specialty Lodging in Lima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The place for cool and young minded travelers who love having fun at all times and share our passion towards arts, local culture and outdoor activities! It features a Surf Bar, Smoothies & Sushi Lounge, and a backyard patio with couches and hammocks to chill out. Every room and dorm has a ensuite bathroom with hot shower. Breakfast is included from 8am until 11am and WiFi is available in the common areas at all times. Please keep in mind that due to our bar and location in the heart of Miraflores District, nights could be noisy. We do supply free earplugs for those light sleepers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your The House Project reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing