We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very cool, chilled out place”
Review of The House Project

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The House Project
Ranked #21 of 334 Specialty Lodging in Lima
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Very cool, chilled out place”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

This hostel is super chilled out, all the staff are super friendly and helpful and it's really clean. The location is awesome, right in the centre of Miraflores. We had no problems with noise as others have suggested and we were in a room at the front. Great vibe here and good breakfasts with fresh juice, bread and eggs.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vix B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    76
    53
    11
    4
See reviews for
10
67
49
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Quito
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Very nice place great value for the money! Included breakfast and the room had a tv! A nice neighborhood with lots of cafes and restaurants around. Wifi did not work on the rooms but it was not an issue. The service was excelent they even let us stay watching tv and let us shower after checkout to get ready for our overnight bus rice to Nazca! very friendly and the beakfast was nice with eggs!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SunshinePhotography
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

I had a great time at this hostel. Juan and Nico were so friendly, and Pedro (who was away while I was there) coordinated my trip with me in advance, answering my questions. I was worried it would be too hot in the hostel in summer, but it was fine. It's not a crazy party hostel, so no drunken travelers woke me up in my mixed dorm room at 3am. I stayed a week and during that time I went from the only person in the dorm to one of 5. I got the single bed (instead of the two bunkbeds) and loved my window breeze.

Some people got up at 6 to go surfing, others went to bed at 2am, and everyone was respectful of each other. There's a nice communal area to hang out with hammocks and a grass area. The wi-fi is pretty reliable, though it went out a few times thanks to construction on the Bellavista. It's right next to the Calle de Pizzas, so on Thursday-Saturday nights there's loud music, but a room in the back mutes it. It didn't bother me.

There's a good mix of North Americans, Australians, Europeans and South Americans. So I met some Chileans, Argentinians, Dutch, Germans, French, and Australians over the course of 5 days.

There's a small cooking area with a mini fridge and a handful of people make dinner there. There's also a TV and comfy couches to hang out in the evening. Some people drank beer or shared wine before or after going out. A lot of people were staying there on their way to Cuzco or sandboarding. I was rockclimbing and headed to the rock climbing gym 2 blocks away. Met some people there and then headed outdoors climbing with them, so it's great for meeting likeminded sports enthusiasts or getting suggestions on where to go. Juan's brother owns a sushi place called Magmo nearby and you get a discount if you stay at the hostel. 35 soles for a bed in a friendly place was completely worth it.

Clean showers, clean rooms (there's a lady that comes every day, which is important because Lima is so dusty and the hostel gets dirty fast with so many people coming and going), linens provided, scrambled eggs, bread, jam and fresh juice for breakfast too. And it's really safe, since Juan chastized me for opening the door to world-weary backpacking strangers, but strangers none the less. They stay up all night to let people in, so there's 24h access for guests.

Such a great location. And it's better than some of the other budget accommodations in the Ovalo in Miraflores. Nothing sketchy. Good atmosphere.

Room Tip: At the back, a shared dorm, because you get a good breeze in the summer heat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissWattson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

I think the thing these review are missing is that it is a great place for the solo / cheap traveller, but for me it was not the right fit. I have to remember I am not in college anymore. If you are travelling alone and like to party - this is a great spot. If you are travelling in a group, the location can't be beat. If you are travelling as a couple, splurge the extra $20 a night and get a hotel room.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

The owners were extremely kind and welcoming (deserving of all the comments they've received in previous reviews), the location just a couple minutes walking from Kennedy Park in the heart of Miraflores cannot be beat, the breakfast was delicious (above and beyond the quality you'll find in other hostels), there was plenty of hot water and the place was generally clean. If you're a backpacker looking for a bed in a dorm, look no further. The private room we had close to the reception area however left a lot to be desired (who knows, maybe the other ones are nicer?). I generally like a hostel atmosphere and I'm not interested in any kind of luxury nor did I expect it when I made our reservation, but the room was just kind of dingy compared to private rooms I've had in other hostels. It was quite dark (lighting was limited to an overhead bulb), there was no decoration of any kind to give the place any "warmth," and the beds were not particularly comfortable. It was perfectly fine for one night and I'm grateful for the level of service I received, but I wouldn't want to have stayed any longer in that room. Basic doesn't have to mean unpleasant, and it was. In short, the House Project is a great place and I wouldn't dismiss it but its private rooms need some polishing.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jason W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
49 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2012

the house project is located just 3 minutes walking from Kenedy park, 10 minutes walking from the sea and 10 minutes from metropolitano bus stop. City center is located around 40 minutes by bus from Miraflores. The location is perfect and safe. breakfast is also good. If you are on adventure sports and surfing this is the correct budget place. double rooms are basic, wet and the one that we were accomodation has just a small window looking on the no-where.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spanishca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
131 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012

When we got home and asked our kids what they liked best about all of Peru, they said...The House Project! Nico, Juan, and Pedro are exceptionally nice people as were the other guests. Bunk beds are quite comfy, breakfast is large with fresh juice smoothies, eggs, great fresh rolls with butter and jam, and good coffee or tea. It's an amazing place with a super location near Parque Kennedy. The courtyard out back is great - hammocks, foosball table, patch of grass, tables, and a new 2nd floor deck for grilling. They have paper and crayons/markers for the kids to boot. Safe, secure, friendly. Feels more like staying in a friend's house.

Room Tip: The quad and 5-bed out back on the ground floor were great. Nice to be able to let the kids out you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatiePatrykus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lima hotels
Miraflores
Hostel Kokopelli
Hostel Kokopelli
#17 of 334 in Lima
4.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Cercado de Lima
Mana Hostel
Mana Hostel
#13 of 334 in Lima
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Miraflores
KACLLA, The Healing Dog Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miraflores
Puriwasi Hostel
Puriwasi Hostel
#8 of 334 in Lima
4.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Pariwana Hostel Lima
#1 of 334 in Lima
4.5 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
LOKI Lima
#3 of 334 in Lima
4.0 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The House Project? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The House Project

Property: The House Project
Address: Calle Bellavista 215 | Miraflores, Lima Lima 18, Peru
Location: Peru > Lima Region > Lima
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 334 Specialty Lodging in Lima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The place for cool and young minded travelers who love having fun at all times and share our passion towards arts, local culture and outdoor activities! It features a Surf Bar, Smoothies & Sushi Lounge, and a backyard patio with couches and hammocks to chill out. Every room and dorm has a ensuite bathroom with hot shower. Breakfast is included from 8am until 11am and WiFi is available in the common areas at all times. Please keep in mind that due to our bar and location in the heart of Miraflores District, nights could be noisy. We do supply free earplugs for those light sleepers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your The House Project reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing