We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The perfect place to stay in Lima!”
Review of The House Project

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The House Project
Ranked #21 of 334 Specialty Lodging in Lima
Berlin, Germany
1 review
“The perfect place to stay in Lima!”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Amazing hostel in the middle of Miraflores! Very cute and clean rooms and a nice outside area with hammocks to hang out and relax. The owners Pedro and Juan as well as their staff are all fluent in English and were incredibly friendly and helpful. They make you feel welcome and taken care of the minute you walk in! The best hosts you could hope for! They gave us lot's of advice on which places to go to in Lima and helped us organize the shuttle to the airport. The hostel is located in a very secure neighborhood. And eventhough it's right around the corner from lot's of bars and restaurants, the street itself is not too noisy. The hostel is within walkling distance from two supermarkets as well as from several Inka Markets for souvenir shopping and close to the beautiful Parque del Amores. There's free WiFi and in the kitchen right next to the reception we could get free water, tea and coffee. It really felt like a home away from home!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    76
    53
    11
    4
See reviews for
10
67
49
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 14, 2012 via mobile

The House Project was one of the best hostels we have stayed at in Peru. Big hostel with great rooms. My wife and I were on our honeymoon and the hosts Pedro and Juan were very helpful in pointing out all the best places to check out for dinner, surf, adventure or just the sights of the great city. Lima has amazing food and these guys will tell you where to go.
The future adventure plans for the hostel sound amazing and we can't wait to get back one day and check it out.
Great hot water and Wi-fi in communal area.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MattMcNamara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morro Bay, California, United States
1 review
Reviewed September 12, 2012

The moment I entered The House Project, I felt right at home. The owners and staff are wonderful and even woke me up on the morning of my flight home. The hostel is quite unique, not to mention very clean. The House Project is in a great location, centered in the beautiful Miraflores district of Lima. I would not only recommend The House Project to anyone traveling to Lima but I also look forward to my return.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lacey I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 11, 2012

I loved staying at the House project, the owner is great, polite, caring and takes care of problems quickly. Rooms are clean, breakfast is provided. Endless tea haha. Staff speaks English which was great since I don't speak Spanish at all. Overall when I go back to Peru I want to stay at the House project. Great value for the price. Great job Pedro!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grig g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

LOVED staying at the House Project! The staff is very welcoming and accommodating, went beyond the call of duty to assist our group. It felt like a community-building experience... I would definitely want to stay here if I were traveling alone! Can't imagine a better place to stay!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paula M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 11, 2012

I don't often stay at hostels, because I can't find a bed long enough, but the bed was big enough and more importantly the House Project is a hostel with soul. Pedro and Juan will make you feel as if they've been waiting just for you..(.and Starbuck's is on the corner).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

From the second I walked into this place I felt extremely welcomed and right at home. For those that don't speak Spanish, don't worry the managers/owners Pedro and Juan speck great English. There is always free drinkable water available in the lobby along with tea (coco tea as well) and coffee. As well as free wireless Internet that is pretty fast for Peruvian standards, a living room with a tv for hanging out as well as a back patio with a few hammocks.

You can't beat the location and price of this place it's right around the corner from downtown miraflores and parque Kennedy, where a majority of the action happens along with great food and bars all around. This place is great for young groups of travelrs/backpackers (with rooms that can fit 4-5 people) as well as the older tourist crowd, because they have comfportable single and matrimonial rooms. They also offer a free basic breakfest in the morning. The main thing to be aware of is that due to its proximity to Parque Kennedy, there is a discotheque right next door which makes a lot of noise for those trying to go to be early on weekends, luckily they provide ear plugs for free which helped me sleep through the music.

Pedro and Juan also can give you many recommendations of things to do in and around Lima. They took great care of the group I was there with, we rented out the whole place and they were really accomidating to our needs. They also just recently opened and have a long list of additions they plan to add with time from a sauna to a climbing wall. I have a good feeling that this place will just get better and better. I look forward to returning there in a year to see how far they have come along.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shibideewoah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lima hotels
Miraflores
Hostel Kokopelli
Hostel Kokopelli
#17 of 334 in Lima
4.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Cercado de Lima
Mana Hostel
Mana Hostel
#13 of 334 in Lima
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Miraflores
KACLLA, The Healing Dog Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miraflores
Puriwasi Hostel
Puriwasi Hostel
#8 of 334 in Lima
4.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Pariwana Hostel Lima
#1 of 334 in Lima
4.5 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
LOKI Lima
#3 of 334 in Lima
4.0 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The House Project? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The House Project

Property: The House Project
Address: Calle Bellavista 215 | Miraflores, Lima Lima 18, Peru
Location: Peru > Lima Region > Lima
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 334 Specialty Lodging in Lima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The place for cool and young minded travelers who love having fun at all times and share our passion towards arts, local culture and outdoor activities! It features a Surf Bar, Smoothies & Sushi Lounge, and a backyard patio with couches and hammocks to chill out. Every room and dorm has a ensuite bathroom with hot shower. Breakfast is included from 8am until 11am and WiFi is available in the common areas at all times. Please keep in mind that due to our bar and location in the heart of Miraflores District, nights could be noisy. We do supply free earplugs for those light sleepers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your The House Project reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing