We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Way to Get to Know the history of Lima”

Museo Metropolitano de Lima
Ranked #96 of 335 things to do in Lima
Attraction details
California
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Way to Get to Know the history of Lima”
Reviewed February 4, 2014

The multimedia tour is a great way to get to know the history of Lima. The only catch is that it's in Spanish, and some of the recreations are not apt for young kids.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank EcuaMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    25
    6
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, CA
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Cheesy historical videos”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Disappointing. This museum takes you on a tour of Lima's history from prehistoric times to the present. The tour guide hustles you from room to room, giving a high-speed burst of narrative in Spanish, then starting some cheesy video. I sure could have done without the 3-D video of the human sacrifices. The museum would have been much better, and more effective, with standard rooms where you could see artifacts from pre-columbian times or photographs from the moden era, with videos in rooms off to the side for those who wanted that kind of experience. Everything seemed over-simplified and simplistic. It was aimed at a mass audience, trying to please everyone, and thus, of course, pleasing no one. Admission was only S/.4.00, but I'd save even that small amount of money and avoid wasting an hour by giving this museum a miss.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank jde1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Only in Spanish”
Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

This could be a great museum - we have heard others recommend it - except for the fact it is only in Spanish. I wish I could say I knew Spanish well, but I don't. I do think this museum could do well to update its audio-visual displays to include English and broaden its audience.

Helpful?
2 Thank LyssM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Fernando, Trinidad
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Who made the historical movie farce”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

It's the worst case of glorifying the conquest of an indigenous people I have seen, since the B westerns of the 60's celebrated the genocide of the Native Americans. We were quickly ushered to this movie, and after about 10 minutes, I almost got sick. Very little was shown of the Original People, and their magnificent culture. Most of it was about Europeans stealing everything.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank dlion88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Connecticut, United States
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
81 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Went to a dinner event”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

It was a dinner event to benefit Sinfonia por el Peru, with world's best tenor Juan Diego Florez.
The venue was magnificent, with a wonderful room for events. The staff was courteous and very polite with tourists.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wanda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museo Metropolitano de Lima also viewed

 

Been to Museo Metropolitano de Lima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing