We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An oasis in Lima”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hostal El Patio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hostal El Patio
Ranked #13 of 304 Lima B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“An oasis in Lima”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2006

I finally stayed in El Patio on my 6th trip to Lima, why didn't I do it before! I'm in love and shall always try and use it when I'm in Lima in the future. It's small, cute, individual and friendly.

I have stayed in a range of places in Lima, from more expensive by $20 a night to much cheaper and this is my favourite by a large factor. The patio is lovely, the rooms are fine size wise, I've stayed in a couple and they were both fine, the showers are hot. For the price, this is an individual and welcoming hotel, a great place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    200
    51
    18
    14
See reviews for
54
195
72
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, ON
Level Contributor
159 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2006

We stayed here for one night on our way to Cuzco and for another half day on our way back (the hotel staff gave us a very cheap half day rate, since we didn't want to spend the whole day at Lima airport).

Overall, the place has a beautiful courtyard, with tons of flowers and nice balconies to sit on. It's probably the nicest part of Lima, as the city is very dirty with a cloud of smog hanging over it, and really not much to see.

The rooms were a bit rustic and dusty, but I think everything is dusty in Lima. It has more to do with the city than with this hostal. Oh, and the airport pickup arranged by the hotel ($14) was excellent. The guy was very nice and we ended up using him 3 more times.

My recommendation would be to spend as little time as possible in Lima on your way to Cuzco. But if you want to spend one night this place is not bad at all.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DomCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2005

I always stay at Hostal El Patio every time I come through Lima (about twice a year). The airport pick is always reliable, the rooms always nice and clean and adequate, nice breakfast, pleasant surrounding, excellent location in very safe area, and the staff always so very helpful and personable.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2005

We stayed at this hostal for one night in Room 42. This room was the only room on the top floor (4th)--lots of stairs! The furnishings were extremely worn, dark and dingy. The room was very tiny with a small TV (and broken remote!) mounted on the wall. The bedspread had a huge brown stain on it. The shower was very slow. We asked for another room, but the hotel was booked. The free breakfast was basically a couple of pieces of toast, butter and jam, and juice, coffee or tea. Not worth the trouble. The "patio" was nice to look at.

The worst part was that starting at 4 a.m. a loud creaking sound from the pipes woke us up every 10 minutes! It was infuriating! When we complained to the front desk, they just looked puzzled and said nothing. I would never stay here again. It was $45 wasted.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jenhong98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2004

This little residential hotel in Miraflores is a great place to stay in the Lima area. It's only a couple of blocks from Parque Kennedy on a quiet side street. The garden patio is beautiful, breakfast is included and they have a book exchange.

  • Stayed October 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank hrme17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lima hotels
Miraflores
Hotel Vila Santa Miraflores
Miraflores
Tierra Viva Miraflores Larco
Hotel San Antonio Abad
#28 of 228 in Lima
4.5 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miraflores
Courtyard Lima Miraflores
Miraflores
Hostal Torreblanca
Hostal Torreblanca
#42 of 228 in Lima
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Miraflores
Casa Andina Premium Miraflores
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal El Patio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal El Patio

Property: Hostal El Patio
Address: Ernesto Diez Canseco 341 , Miraflores | Miraflores, Lima, Peru
Location: Peru > Lima Region > Lima > Miraflores
Amenities:
Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 304 B&Bs / Inns in Lima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hostal El Patio 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Hostal El Patio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal El Patio Hotel Lima

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing