We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super kind!”
Review of Youth Hostel Malka

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Youth Hostel Malka
Ranked #151 of 337 Specialty Lodging in Lima
Innsbruck, Austria
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Super kind!”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Very friendly stuff in a wonderful hostel. nice rooms, nice garden, nice terace. the hostel is located in a nice and quiet area, but the hotspots are fast to reach. a very good place to start a trip in peru! Thank you! Gracias!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeEgger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    15
    13
    5
    4
See reviews for
2
17
11
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights earlier this week after arriving on a long flight from NZ. Anna Maria was there to pick us up from the airport as arranged. She was very friendly and chatty with us whilst pointing out highlights of the area as we drove through. (This cost 50soles)

Erica on reception was lovely and spoke good English and helped us a lot with directions and lent us a copy of rough guide for peru!

We also met who I think was the owner, very helpful in booking buses, directions, how to catch a taxi, down to how to negotiate the taxi cost in Spanish as neither of us speak a word!

We had room 11, towards the rear on the first floor. Double bed, grubby pillows underneath but with new and clean sheets/ bedding and what looked like a very new mattress. There were 4 pegs but no wardrobe, so we had to live out of our bags for the duration, but we are backpacking, so not really an issue!!

We had noisy people on our floor almost every night, and whilst this isn't the hostel owners fault, the building really allows noise to travel, so you can hear everything!! This was our only real negative as we were suffering jet lag and really struggled to sleep in the evenings (days no problem!) and every time we drifted off someone woke us up so we never fixed our routine!

Breakfast was a simple affair with bread, jam tea/ coffee, but certainly plenty of it to keep you going til lunch.

The kitchen has everything you might need to cook your own lunch or dinner, but there are lots of eateries nearby, on te walk to mireflores and in mireflores itself for all budgets.

Rooms were cleaned daily as long as you left the room open or the key at reception.

Cheap taxi ride to the old town (ten soles) and a pleasant if fume filled strolled to mireflores. Or close by, two minutes away is a food hall with eat in/ takeaway, and on the high street is a macdonalds, Starbucks and two supermarkets.

As I said definitely no frills, but for what you pay it is good value.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeckyATW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Neat hostel with a climbing wall ( didn't climb all the way up since there are no harnesses ), foosball table and ping pong table. Location is ok if you aren't planning on walking around much. It's close to supermarkets (and has a fully stocked open kitchen), but far from touristic sites. Hot showers and clean rooms. It would be nice to get fans or A/C in the rooms however, as they get hot even when the windows and doors are open. Pretty quiet, though if you have a room towards the back of the hostel, you get noise from the back patio.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the hostel with our son and nephew for two nights as we wished to be quite central to Lima but in a quiet neighbourhood. The we took the room with the double bed to the front of the hostel. The double bed had a good mattress but was very small for me as I am I 6' 3" in size. The room was quite clean, but the wardrobe was a bit dusty. The room was as quiet as it could be since it faced onto a road. Although the bathroom was private it meant walking a few steps from the room as it was not en-suite.

The boys took a four-roomed dormitory for their exclusive use. This room was practical for their needs.

The hostel was very relaxed, had a good breakfast and handy kitchen. The highlight was the garden with hammocks and table tennis. The hostel needs a bit of attention though; for instance the bar football was partially broken (some of the players didn't spin), the climbing wall didn't function, we had great trouble plugging in the TV in the common room (the plug just kept on popping out), the remote control batteries for the TV were dead and the freezer was dirty.

All in all I would recommend the hostel as a no frills budget option. The neighbourhood is great and the hostel is relaxed.

On Booking.com the best rooms are displayed, please note though that some of the rooms are of substantially lower quality than shown.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dom1000London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

I stayed 3 nights at this hostel, had a double room with a private bathroom and hot shower, and Wi-Fi access for 85 Sole per night. The three nights were not consecutive ones and hence I was put at different rooms during different nights. One night I had a good room (on an upper floor) and an unsatisfactory one in the remaining two nights -a dorm room at a lower floor which the hotel allowed us to use as private room. The hot shower would not easily work in this dorm room, and we needed help each time we had to use it. On the pros side, the hostel is quite close to Cruz del Sur bus terminal and also the terminus of some other bus stations, but is not close to the tourist attractions (museums) and restaurants.

The staff is very helpful and friendly, but not the owner. She seemed annoyed when I asked about the shower the first time. We arrived late on our last night and asked her about the dining options nearby. She offered spaggeti- leftover from her dinner at 10 soles per plate.
We agreed on it since there weren't and diners nearby. I needed to call a driver with whom we had arranged a day-trip to Caral and needed to use the hotel phone as I did not have a local mobile phone in Lima. She did eventually helped me to connect to him, but was initially resistant. She did help me find taxis to the bus station, airport and musee larco and negotiated the price with the driver on my behalf.

All in all, my stay was not awful, but not the best either. If I were to visit Lima again, I would try another place, likely in Miraflores.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms at the upper flor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SaswatiSarkar123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oban
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

We stayed in this hostel after arriving at the airport from Europe. It is not in the best location, being quite distant from the centre and Miraflores if you wish to walk. However, taxis and the local busses - if you dare to use them - are exceptionally cheap and easily resolve this issue. Though it looks a little desolate and forboding from the front, inside it is cozy and friendly. Our room was very clean as were the showers, which were continually hot. They serve a basic, but good, breakfast and there is a climbing wall to play on (its difficult!).
The staff were very helpful and booked our bus to Cusco for us which saved a lot of effort.
This is a nice, quiet place to stay and get a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank neilmacdougall77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012

My friend and I arrived from Cusco on a 20 hour bus around 2pm and didn´t fly out until midnight, so we wanted a place to shower and store our stuff before heading to the airport. We had an e-mail conformation, but they had no record of our arrival. The price quoted in the e-mail was 10 soles less than what they wanted to charge us. The owner acted put out that we were there and was not helpful. The shower was hot. They did help arrange a taxi to the airport.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank E P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lima hotels
Cercado de Lima
1900 Backpacker's Hostel
Hostal L'Baron
#153 of 226 in Lima
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miraflores
Hotel Vila Santa
Hotel Vila Santa
#14 of 226 in Lima
799 reviews
Miraflores
Ibis Larco Miraflores
Miraflores
JW Marriott Hotel Lima
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Youth Hostel Malka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Youth Hostel Malka

Property: Youth Hostel Malka
Address: Los Lirios 165 | Av. Javier Prado Este cdra. 4, Lima 09630, Peru
Location: Peru > Lima Region > Lima
Hotel Style:
Ranked #151 of 337 Specialty Lodging in Lima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Youth Hostel Malka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing