We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good backpackers place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Flying Dog Backpackers Hostel
Ranked #64 of 372 Specialty Lodging in Lima
Reviewed May 26, 2011

Nice place, stayed in a private room with shared bathroom. It was a neat room, comfy beds with nice bedside lamps. The shared bathroom was a bit on the small side but we got by alright. The location was superb, can't complain at all! Free breakfast in the next door restaurant was cool too!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leecurlywurly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (203)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

85 - 91 of 203 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2011

We stayed at one of the branches o this hostel around parque Kennedy (there are 4) we stayed at the one directly next to the Starbucks. The room was great, really spacious and clean, nice clean bathroom, The hot water worked best when you showered at an off time like the afternoon since I think it ran out mid morning... Some complaints are that we were paying for a room with a tv (this was all they had when we checked in) and for the first two nights none of the electrical sockets worked in our room. So the tv didn't work, lamps didn't work, couldnt charge iPods, and the staff was not very helpful in telling us when it would be fixed. The staff in general is not very helpful and when we asked them questions it was kind of like we were intruding upon their social time or something. The hostel itself is really nice though with a great bar area and two kitchens and the location is great. Rooms are a little pricey but miraflores is a really nice neighborhood so everything is pricey. Breakfast is served in a cafe across the park I guess, we never made it because that's kind of inconvenient. Not a bad hostel, just hope you catch the staff on a day when they are feeling helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AHH381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2011

The location in Miraflores is brilliant, the common/bar area overlooking the square is also really nice and the breakfast at the cafe accross the road are this hostels strong points. Not so great are the rooms and bathrooms. Or room was boiling, and had no window, so the air was stale and smelly all the time. The shared bathroom was okay and passably clean (just), but there was no hot water, which wasnt such a problem for us as it was so hot outside.

Room Tip: Good one if your are on a budget
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Drifter65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2011

We had 3 nights of the Flying Dog Experience, in two diferent branches at both sides of Plaza Kennedy.

The sheets were dirty with suspicious stains and one of the rooms was very noise. Although it is well located and there were some nice staff, one of the boys didn't really care that we couldn´t open the bathroom door...when we had paid for a double with private bath and all our stuff was inside!! Even more, it was the most expensive one of our trip to Peru (90 soles for a dirty sheets double, bad mattress room).

Avoid this one and look for something better, Miraflores is crammed with hostels for backpackers.

Room Tip: One with no views, otherwise you won't sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mr_Falo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2011

We spent one night in this rathole, slept really badly and what did I find from the bed in the morning? A HUGE bedbug. I killed it and went to show it to the reseption to inform that sadly they have an infestation. The person behind the desk told us that they know abou the bugs, and that they are normal in the summer!! We didnt even get a discount for the room! One of the worst experiences in my four month travel. I DO NOT recommend this or any other flying dog to anybody. yuck.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Noseleap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2011

Stay here fir just one night in February, location was very convinuent to access shops, restanrants, mirabus tour. Room is quite small and a little noizy when sleeping.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank uuuyouyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights as part of our round the world trip. Its location was excellent- in the centre of Miraflores District. Unfortunately that was the only good thing about it. Upon arrival we were told there was no water- a temporary problem they were trying to fix. Out of the 3 days we were there there was running water for only 12 hours. The bathrooms were in a disgusting state- overflowing toilets and no water to wash hands. The staff were frankly rude- as if guests were the problem for asking when the problem would be fixed. We had to tell them to get buckets of water from somewhere so people could at least wash their hands. Other guests said the problem had been going on for a while. While we accept that there are problems when you run a hostel/hotel the attitude of the staff was so poor that the situation was made even worse.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wozzy1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lima hotels
Miraflores
151 Backpacker Hostel
151 Backpacker Hostel
#37 of 372 in Lima
84 reviews
Miraflores
The House Project
The House Project
#21 of 372 in Lima
250 reviews
Flying Dog Hostel
#26 of 372 in Lima
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miraflores
Puriwasi Hostel Lima
Puriwasi Hostel Lima
#7 of 372 in Lima
433 reviews
Miraflores
Hostel Kokopelli
Hostel Kokopelli
#12 of 372 in Lima
335 reviews
Miraflores
Lucky Lodge
Lucky Lodge
#39 of 372 in Lima
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flying Dog Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flying Dog Backpackers Hostel

Address: Diez Canseco 117, Miraflores, Lima Lima 18, Peru
Location: Peru > Lima Region > Lima > Miraflores
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 372 Specialty Lodging in Lima
Price Range: $20 - $42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Flying Dog Backpackers Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Flying Dog Hostels are the at the best location in Miraflores and of course in the imperial city of cusco! Nice, clean, safe and fun hostels with everything the travelers are looking for! Chill out areas, tv lounge, Dvd's, book exchange and our real cool bars are part of our offer! Come and enjoy the Flying Dog Experience... go ahead! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, HostelWorld and Hotels.com so you can book your Flying Dog Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flying Dog Backpackers Hotel Lima

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing