We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”
Review of Hotel Espana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Espana
Ranked #47 of 337 Specialty Lodging in Lima
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great value”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

The hotel is in a great location at the heart of Lima. The service is good, and the selection of breakfasts is satisfying and at a reasonable cost. The only problem was with the shower's water pressure, which is a tad too low. Prices are spot on and represent an overall great value.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AsafCh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    99
    82
    28
    26
See reviews for
22
104
53
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
286 reviews
172 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Should you like old haunted castles, a little bit of weird Art, huge statues, golden frames, mummies right at the reception, labyrinth like places with a lot of history and birds, you will like this hotel. It is a conveniently priced budget place (about 50-60 soles per room) right in the center of old Lima. From the outside it gives impression of a nice colonial hotel, however, the inside is a little musty and very crazy! It was an interesting experience but I have to admit that I did not feel very comfortable in the room with all that decoration, felt a little bit heavy. Water in the shower was not always hot and breakfast was served at a terrace invaded by birds, so you must not be crazy about hygiene, otherwise you just can't eat there.
However, there is a very nice old lady behind the reception - Rosalia. She was very helpful, she can arrange an airport pick up for you or tickets for a flight over Nazca for very good prices!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iliveinmexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012 via mobile

It's hard to communicate if you don't know Spanish the bathrooms have warm water depending on which one you use they have peacocks and turtles upstairs it's beautiful you can go up on top of the building and see the city. Overall a great hotel with awesome service

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BlackSheep1422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

This hostel seems interesting and almost extravagant at first glance. Turtles, peacocks and parrots on the terrace, ornate gold framed paintings and white (plastic) statues everywhere and the building is quite nice... but then you see there is no hot water, the bathrooms are rareley cared for, the 5.5 and 6 sole breakfasts should be included as they are pretty poor, and the staff make more noise at night and in the morning than the guests. The place has no good vibes for meeting other travellers and no real common space. At least the 50 soles room is reasonable, I would not pay more than that for a double in this place. The people at reception don't want to know you unless you are interested in buying flights to Cusco from them. I went 3 days here without a hot shower... stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 3rd floor or higher, away from the noise of the reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitegate, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

If in Lima, and looking for cheap hotel, you have to try Hotel Espana. Very good location! The decoration of the hotel is something unique. I really enjoyed my stay there, especially the parrots and the peacock on the roof-terras.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kissmagdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

I very recently stayed at Hotel Espana with my partner and two friends. I had booked through email and had arranged for airport pickup. The driver was there even though our plane was late and could tell us in his minimal english that we choose only change a small amount at the airport as exchange rates were better at the hotel. (he was right. 2.5 vs 2.65)
At the hostel, the older lady behind the counter did not speak English but through gestures and a phrase book we booked in and were shown our room. We were in 9a which has a private toilet and shower and 4 single beds. The r oom was clean with large paintings and mirrors on the wall and a balcony to the street. The beds were comfortable. Towels were provided.
Breakfast is continental, american, omelettes, pancakes and juice. It is very nice. The waitresses also dont speak english. The menus are in spanish or french. Breakfast is served on the roof with the peacocks, macaw and tortoise. Service is a bit slow so give yourself lots of time if you have somewhere to be.
A the front there is a tour operator who speaks a bit of english who arranged our next three buys rides and hotel stays with pickups. He is amazing.

Overall it was a great stay. It does not have a backpackers feel. Learning a bit of spanish is a must though it is for all of peru.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank natasqi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
Level 6 Contributor
380 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2012

This was my best hostel in Peru and I liked the special atmosphere of this cozy hostel in centro historico for just few bucks with the excellent and reliable service including midnight pick up service from the airport. I felt like home.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank duhoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lima hotels
Cercado de Lima
Gran Hotel Bolivar
Gran Hotel Bolivar
#73 of 226 in Lima
683 reviews
Hotel Continental Lima
#57 of 226 in Lima
384 reviews
Hotel Paris Lima
#95 of 226 in Lima
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cercado de Lima
Maury Hotel
Maury Hotel
#171 of 226 in Lima
115 reviews
Cercado de Lima
Kamana Hotel
Kamana Hotel
#166 of 226 in Lima
197 reviews
Hospedaje Santa Rosa
#89 of 310 in Lima
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Espana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Espana

Property: Hotel Espana
Address: Calle Azangaro 105, Lima 00001, Peru
Location: Peru > Lima Region > Lima > Cercado de Lima
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 337 Specialty Lodging in Lima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Espana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing