We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
National Museum of Archaeology, Anthropology and History
Book In Advance
More Info
$47.99*
and up
Private Top Lima Musuems Tour
More Info
$90.00*
and up
Top Museums of Lima Private Tour
More Info
$189.99*
and up
Lima Combo Tour: City Sightseeing Tour plus Larco and Archaeological Museums
Ranked #16 of 333 things to do in Lima
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The extensive archaeological collection in this museum includes more than 100,000 items from pre-Hispanic cultures including ceramics, metals, funeral offerings and carved stone figures.
Wichita, Kansas
Level 6 Contributor
406 reviews
148 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Great Museum”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

If nyou have only half day and you want have idea about Peruvian history then this is the place to go. It is not the most "shiny place" but it is full of originals and lots lots of very comprehensive information about all diferent civilization that lived in Peru.
It is far better if you read Spanish.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank NayiU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

732 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    411
    257
    57
    7
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
487 reviews
316 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 456 helpful votes
“Dowdy but comprehensive”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

This, Peru's largest museum, is something of a hodge-podge covering a much wider range of themes than mere Archaeology. One of the most fascinating is a complete history of the country up to recent times, complete with paintings, photographs, memorabilia, and a narrative account of their failures and achievements, the former being very much to the fore. Anthropology is a strong theme, well presented, with fascinating details about Peru's early indigenous groups pre-Inca, and fine examples of what they left behind them. A reconstruction of the Liberators' House in which Jose de San Martin and Simon Bolivar dwelled at various times is also on display. Apparently, the archaeology collection exceeds 100.000 items, including objects of wood, stone, and metal going back up to 10,000 years. Most are not much of a sight for sore eyes, but there are some striking and worth-while artifacts among them. They are displayed in a very traditional way, and the whole institution lacks the intimacy and charm of the much smaller Museo Larco, but to the world's experts it must represent a unique resource, and the evidence of scholarship is quite compelling. You will not find other museums more culturally interesting than this one.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank davidgoldberg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Sunday afternoon visit”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

On our last day in Lima, my daughter and I decided to fit in a few museum visits. Although my daughter lived near this musuem for several months, she had never been there. We both loved this musuem. The exhibits were interesting and we liked that it was very comprehensive with regard to Peru's history. If I am ever in Lima again, I would make this musuem a must-see on my list of things to do.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Marlene D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Disappointing visit”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Had a few hours to kill between flights so my son was keen on history and in particular seeing the collection of funeral remains/mummies which we had seen advertised. I was keener on seeing the Larco Museum but the mummies won the day. There were no mummies. I gather this will happen in the next few months. Overall disappointed in the museum. Few exhibits were explained in english, No map of the exhibits available.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Bonzo0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful museum”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

I have visited this museum plenty of times since I was a child and I never get bored with it. All ceramics, textiles and artifacts shows us about the richness of peruvian cultures. Not only one, since before the colony there were many cultures co-existing and many developed from older ones. Anyway, the only thing I don't like so much is the Spanish culture exhibition, it lacks of dynamism and doesn't make the connection with the modern peruvians. Don't miss this museum. If the book called (my own translation): when Spanish wasn't spoken in Peru, is still available, don't hesitate to buy it.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Maria del Carme... D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Museum of Archaeology, Anthropology and History also viewed

 

Been to National Museum of Archaeology, Anthropology and History? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing