We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“ONE IS AT HOME WHILE HERE AT LA CASTELLANA LIMA” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel La Castellana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel La Castellana
Ranked #73 of 226 Hotels in Lima
Udaipur,India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“ONE IS AT HOME WHILE HERE AT LA CASTELLANA LIMA”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2010

THIS WAS A FOLLOW UP VISIT, AND I WAS TOLD BY COMMERCE ATTACHE AT INDIAN EMBASSY, TO TRY OUT THIS PLACE and I had to profusely thanks him in putting me up in a htoel which was more like a home, in fact, it appeared thatone time home was turned into comercial hotel. Food was lovely and also the service.
I was told that this is not very popular and doesn't have full occupancy all round the year and the owner /manager is content with less crowd and he is so sure that one who has come ,he/she would come again and again and it looked like that he would love to have such permanent customers rather than getting new faces. And here he and his staff try to understand guests very well during first vist and they have a habit of noting down preferences of guests, be it wine ,food or even miscllaneous items , sothat next when you are there ,you don't have to redo[settling] and immediately settle down to get ahead witht he job. on the whole, it was home away fromhome --an oft repeated phrase but this alone describes this abode.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vikal7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    117
    95
    36
    14
See reviews for
32
96
52
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rimouski, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2010

Okay. That's my opinion of this hotel. Good location. Clean enough. Comfortable enough... if you're lucky enough to get a room inside the hotel. The first night, we got one of the rooms that are located in front of the street, with an idependant door, completely outside the hotel. In July, it's quite humid in Lima, and so was this room. Humid and cold. The blankets were wet.

Two days before we left, we had a back luck in a bar, called Bartini (located in Larcomar shopping center). Somebody at that place put GHB in my boyfriend's drink. They robbed him money and everything. I came back with him at the hotel arount 23h00 , when I saw him completly knock out beside the bathroom and my boyfriend was absoluetly unable to walk alone. He was very sick. The taxi driver helped me to bring him in the lobby of the hotel, and I asked help to the receptionist, because I needed to use the stares to reach our room. He laughed and told me it wasn't his job. So, I had to "climb" with my boyfriend on the back two more floors, and injured myself. I asked the reception the phone number of a doctor, and he told me he couldn't help me.

I complained to the owner of the place, because the day after, two other employees were laughing at us. One told me: Your boyfriend was very drunk last night. It was so impolite, especially because it wasn't the case, and my boyfriend was sick.

Should I recommend this place ?
No.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TripFairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lima hotels

Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2010

The exterior and communal areas of this hotel are very pleasant and having read previous reviews (it was part of our tour itinerary, so had to stay there) I insisted on a room away from reception, on the first floor and overlooking the internal courtyard - which was fine, however fellow travellers in rooms on the ground floor, etc. complained of noise, musty smell, etc. The staff varied, some were very helpful and pleasant (Percy - thank you for changing my room!) and others were fairly dour and uninterested.

  • Stayed December 2009
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lollapalooza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2009

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights in late November. An early check-in had been arranged but when we arrived at the hotel, the front desk personnel denied any early check-in arrangements had been made. Staff was rude and the rooms were very dark and musty. Upon our return to LIma, we chose another hotel for our last 2 nights. I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DiCalif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
189 reviews
168 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2009

Even though we had one of the better rooms...#15 with a huge balcony looking to the street ( a little noisy in the morning though)...I could not help to notice what is, in my opinion, very hard to find in Peru. Indifferent service!
After years of dealing with bland and obnoxious tour groups (which seem to compose 90% of the guests at this hotel), the staff has lost the interest to even try and be nice to the guests. Their interaction with the customers ranges from indifferent to indifferent and everything in between!
Again, we had to book at the last minute and all of the good places were booked solid...

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ranger22miami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2009

I stayed here for 2 nights as part of a tour and agree with all that has been said earlier. I had 2 rooms and both were dark and quite loud although they were pretty well sized.

The included breakfast was very basic although you could pay for more.

The location is great, near the beach, a supermarket, some restaurants.

The staff on the desk were mixed. One guy was lovely and friendly and helped me out while the other guy grunted at me and seemed to be put out by my requests.

I would pay more to stay elsewhere in future.

  • Stayed November 2009
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KellyNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2009

We stayed in this hotel for two nights in Lima in the beginning of our trip and one night at the end. The first room was #9. It was extremely dark (we wore our headlamps to see in our packs). The bathroom was not clean. The room had a overpowering musty smell. The smell was still in our clothing when we left. We had room #27 at the end of the trip. That room was better because it had two windows, however, the windows opened up to the street and it was noisy at night. The staff at the front desk was unhelpful and rude. I would not recommend this hotel to someone staying in Lima.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelTiger03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lima hotels
Miraflores
Miraflores Inn
Miraflores Inn
#66 of 226 in Lima
4.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Miraflores
Hotel Stefano's
Hotel Stefano's
#46 of 226 in Lima
4.0 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
Hotel San Antonio Abad
#28 of 226 in Lima
4.5 of 5 bubbles 875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miraflores
Hostal Torreblanca
Hostal Torreblanca
#36 of 226 in Lima
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Miraflores
La Paz Apart Hotel
La Paz Apart Hotel
#69 of 226 in Lima
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Miraflores
Hotel Vila Santa Miraflores
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Castellana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Castellana

Property: Hotel La Castellana
Address: Grimaldo Del Solar St 222 | Miraflores, Lima 18, Peru
Location: Peru > Lima Region > Lima > Miraflores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 Business Hotel in Lima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Castellana 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel La Castellana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Castellana Hotel
La Castellana Lima

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing