We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Did the job” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel La Castellana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel La Castellana
Ranked #73 of 226 Hotels in Lima
Sault Sainte Marie, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Did the job”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

We were at La Castellana as part of a tour, with a total of 3 nights bookending our trip.

The hotel is good for location and is sufficiently comfortable and clean.
If you're the type that walks most places, it puts you within minutes of a couple grocery stores, Miraflores, Parque Kennedy and lots of restaurant options, so that's a major plus for me.
The bed was firm, not terribly comfortable but still enough to sleep well. The room had a good amount of space. There was a mini fridge, safe, and closet. Bathroom was clean.

Courtyard was a nice place to meet for lunch or to gather up before heading out again.

I would recommend to anyone looking for a simple accommodation, or who is just in need of a well-located spot for a quick visit to Lima.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DanaeTravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    117
    95
    36
    14
See reviews for
32
96
52
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Camden Town, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel as part of a G Adventures package to do the Inca Trail - the hotel is aesthetically pleasing from the outside, a very colonial looking building with a very cosy feel, nestled in the rather heavily tourists area of Miraflores.

The staff were pretty standard, and could probably do with being a bit friendlier. Myself and my partner are currently learning Spanish, so attempted to speak Spanish - clearly they didn't have the time to try and converse with us, choosing to respond in English, with something of a Sharp, snappy "here's your key, off you go". Perhaps they just experience a few too many 'gringos' and simply cannot be overly bothered...? Completely different experience with the dining room staff at breakfast, so kudos to them!

The room itself was very comfortable, however we had asked for a double bed and were given two singles; as a gay male couple this occasionally happens. I think a lady on reception tried to address the situation with some subtlety ("is your room ok - would you like to move?") well...yes, the room is fine, if you're asking if we would like a double bed, cut the cryptic cr@p and ask! As it happened, we stayed with our single beds - after unpacking, we could not be bothered with switching rooms!

The room was a great size, clean and with a ceiling fan which was essential.

Breakfast was basic; toast with butter and jam, but served by lovely and attentive staff. Coffee, tea and juice refills were seemingly unlimited but only if you ask - you'll not be offered another coffee.

The hotels location is great; Miraflores is a home away from home (apart from the excessive use of motorists horns!). There are so,e great cafés and bars nearby (there is a side street near the hotel with a selection of great restaurants - cafe de la paz is a must!)

Anyhow, this hotel was good enough for its purpose - we wouldn't really have wanted to spend any longer here, but as a stop on the way or cusco, it as sufficient.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank BenW87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

I stayed here twice on the same trip as part of a G Adventures Inca Trail group.

Tips for your stay:

Adjust your expectations of service and amenities. Other reviewers have mentioned poor experiences. I will say that my interactions with staff were all fine, if a bit basic. This is a third world country, and this hotel is a budget lodging in a heavily toured district. You will not get the Hilton treatment at this location. If you feel entitled to something more, you should probably cancel your stay here and book somewhere else. I was happy with the level of service provided.

The first room I stayed in (on the upstairs floor to the right of reception as you walk in, towards the back) was a but underwhelming. Bathroom was weird, fixtures were dated and a little mildewy and and beds were a bit small. However, it was more than adequate for one night. The second room I had (to the left of the reception, third floor, back of the hotel) was actually very nice and had a huge bathroom and bed.

Hotel safe, hotel storage, room safe, and restaurant recommendations were all spot on and a pleasure. The breakfast is basic. Ask for more rolls if you are still hungry. They proprietor will happily bring more. The juice and coffee are excellent.

Room Tip: The rooms to the left of reception seem to be MUCH nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Josh F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

The room was normal, medium quality bed, but nice and quiet on the top floor. Great showers. Decent wi-fi connection. Very clean and very safe feeling. And, best of all, they were really helpful when I showed up without any reservation during a busy period, checking until they had a room at a fair price. Easy walking down a main street to the central area of Miraflores, too. And sort of charming. All in all, great value.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Love22saywa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for a few nights as part of the G Adventures Inca trip. Basic hotel with basic facilities. But did the job since all I needed was a place to crash at the end of the trip and before taking my flight back home. The worst part of the experience was the shockingly rude behaviour of the staff - especially one of the receptionists called Oscar [--]. He was truly obnoxious and made the overall stay rather unpleasant. I appreciate the language barrier but being in the hospitality business, you'd expect a certain level of behaviour and there was none of that to be seen.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ADVADV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lima hotels

Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

Nothing special, I was hoping for more, since it wasn't cheap. Looks nicer from the outside. Walking distance to some restaurants. Nothing special about the included breakfast, but nice jam, which always seems to be a nice touch for all breakfasts in Peru

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leen70117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
98 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

Stayed here three nights in total, two as part of a g adventures tour. Reading the reviews here beforehand I was definately apprehensive! And decided in advance to switch elsewhere for our final Lima night,in retrospect this would have been fine. Our room was clean, hot shower and some english tv channels so we could check in on the news - after four nights camping on the inca trail, this was luxury!. wifi was a little patchy but hey, we were there on holiday so internet access 24/7 wasnt my greatest concern. As a married couple we did ask for a double room, but on both visits got two single beds...though this seemed quite standard in many of our peru hotels! So make sure you are clear if you want a double.Breakfast is poor, but again you are in a different country so cant expect a full english! Super basic - tea and a couple rolls (which were lovely and fresh to be fair!) with butter and jam.Location was great, near the main miraflores square and we also walked easily down to the new mall on the seafront. Plenty of restaurants nearby and the reception staff are friendly and will help with suggestions -ask for a free map.As fine as our stay here was,our last night we stayed in the Inca Frog on the other side of Miraflores and I prefered it there.

Helpful?
Thank Dizzyelmo
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lima hotels
Miraflores
Miraflores Inn
Miraflores Inn
#66 of 226 in Lima
4.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Miraflores
Hotel Stefano's
Hotel Stefano's
#46 of 226 in Lima
4.0 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
Hotel San Antonio Abad
#28 of 226 in Lima
4.5 of 5 bubbles 875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miraflores
Hostal Torreblanca
Hostal Torreblanca
#36 of 226 in Lima
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Miraflores
La Paz Apart Hotel
La Paz Apart Hotel
#69 of 226 in Lima
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Miraflores
Hotel Vila Santa Miraflores
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Castellana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Castellana

Property: Hotel La Castellana
Address: Grimaldo Del Solar St 222 | Miraflores, Lima 18, Peru
Location: Peru > Lima Region > Lima > Miraflores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 Business Hotel in Lima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Castellana 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel La Castellana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Castellana Hotel
La Castellana Lima

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing