We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just a basic, clean room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel La Castellana
Ranked #77 of 228 Hotels in Lima
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Just a basic, clean room”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

Nothing special, I was hoping for more, since it wasn't cheap. Looks nicer from the outside. Walking distance to some restaurants. Nothing special about the included breakfast, but nice jam, which always seems to be a nice touch for all breakfasts in Peru

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leen70117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    119
    96
    37
    15
See reviews for
34
97
52
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
98 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

Stayed here three nights in total, two as part of a g adventures tour. Reading the reviews here beforehand I was definately apprehensive! And decided in advance to switch elsewhere for our final Lima night,in retrospect this would have been fine. Our room was clean, hot shower and some english tv channels so we could check in on the news - after four nights camping on the inca trail, this was luxury!. wifi was a little patchy but hey, we were there on holiday so internet access 24/7 wasnt my greatest concern. As a married couple we did ask for a double room, but on both visits got two single beds...though this seemed quite standard in many of our peru hotels! So make sure you are clear if you want a double.Breakfast is poor, but again you are in a different country so cant expect a full english! Super basic - tea and a couple rolls (which were lovely and fresh to be fair!) with butter and jam.Location was great, near the main miraflores square and we also walked easily down to the new mall on the seafront. Plenty of restaurants nearby and the reception staff are friendly and will help with suggestions -ask for a free map.As fine as our stay here was,our last night we stayed in the Inca Frog on the other side of Miraflores and I prefered it there.

Helpful?
Thank Dizzyelmo
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here at the beginning and end of a G Adventures tour. It's in a lovely part of Lima and within walking distance of all attractions in Miraflores. The building is traditional, the rooms large, old fashioned but this didn't bother me, good wifi and helpful staff. Breakfast was basic but nice enough, the hotel was noisy in the morning as people are getting up every morning for early flights to Cuzco. But that was me one morning so I can't complain!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Victoria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed at La Castellana twice during our G Adventures tour in Peru. The hotel is pretty basic, the rooms are quite old and there is no heating at all which makes the stay a chilly and damp one during the cold months. The breakfast is also very basic but wi-fi works well and is relatively fast (and free). The neighborhood was not too bad (nice park and seaside mall quite nearby) and it felt safe to walk around even after dark.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olli H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here because it was where GAdventures start their trips for the inca trail. This hotel is pleasant enough, clean rooms and clean sheets. The breakfast is very simple, bread rolls (very fresh) and tea so if you eat more for breakfast it would be worth going out. But it was enough for us. The hotel was very noisy in the morning because guests get up early to fly to Cusco. Maybe a good idea to invest in ear plugs. Overall a pleasant hotel in easy walking distance from centre of miraflores.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DaveandBecky210913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

Stayed here for an over night stay en route to Cusco. It was ok for an overnight. The room was clean and the bathroom was big with a good shower. There was however only a very high window which opened onto a very small area where the smell from the kitchens flooded into the room from, strong smell of frying food, so had to keep the window shut. The room itself smelt damp, but guess this is just the nature of the old building. There was free wifi and the hotel did have character and was full of other people on big adventure trips, so had a nice vibe.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellingkit_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

I stayed here as part of a G Adventures package. The hotel itself was quite nice, the rooms were clean, the showers worked great, and the beds were comfy - As far as these solo adventures go, that's all I really need to get by. Breakfast is included, however it consists only of bread, butter and jam, juice, and tea. Anything beyond that is going to cost you, the upside is that it's not very pricey.

The front desk staff were friendly and helpful and were able to recommend things to do while I had some free time in Lima. This brings me to my next point, the hotel itself is located in a fairly central part of the Miraflores district. This means you're only about a 15 minute walk from the coast, or a 10 minute walk from the main square, or a 20 minute walk from Huaca Pucllana....among other things.

The only complaint I have is that the hotel rooms aren't very quiet. You can hear the traffic and the people outside if you have the windows open even just a little bit. And as for the early morning tour groups coming and going, unless you have earplugs or are a heavy sleeper - you're going to hear them banging around outside in the hallways.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lima hotels
Miraflores
Miraflores Inn
Miraflores Inn
#68 of 228 in Lima
4.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Hotel San Antonio Abad
#28 of 228 in Lima
4.5 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
Miraflores
Hotel Stefano's
Hotel Stefano's
#46 of 228 in Lima
4.0 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miraflores
Hostal Torreblanca
Hostal Torreblanca
#41 of 228 in Lima
4.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
Miraflores
La Paz Apart Hotel & Suites
Miraflores
Hotel Casa Cielo
Hotel Casa Cielo
#54 of 228 in Lima
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Castellana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Castellana

Property: Hotel La Castellana
Address: Grimaldo Del Solar St 222 | Miraflores, Lima 18, Peru
Location: Peru > Lima Region > Lima > Miraflores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 Business Hotel in Lima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Castellana 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Hotel La Castellana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Castellana Hotel
La Castellana Lima

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing