We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location in miraflores with average rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel La Castellana
Ranked #100 of 234 Hotels in Lima
Reviewed January 7, 2013

The location is good. I wasn't in the hotel much so the only expectations I had were to come back to a clean place that was safe and comfortable. The location is safe and we were walking aroudn at night without really needing to worry (not to say that it's smart to go running out without your brain, anywhere). The rooms were basic and that's fine by me because the cleanliness was acceptable and yes, a bit damp feeling. Not sure if that's because Lima is a coastal city. I think that because the building is using the old architecture, the dampness can come in but I did not find it particularly uncomfortable.

Breakfast was included in my stay and it was by no stretch, luxurious but it was sustainable to get me started for the day: coffee/tea, bread & jam/butter, yogurt.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (351)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

220 - 226 of 351 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

The hotel is nice and rustic, a little dark but that's no problem for me. I've stayed twice, the first time I was ill from my travelling to Lima and they got me to a room and just let me rest. The second time I tried out the restaurant and they sorted me out a tour. The food was average to good, so perfectly happy with that. Breakfast was... Peruvian! Which I'm used to, and it was fine. Wifi throughout and wonderful service from every member of staff I met. Showers could do with keeping hot for longer but I like a long shower, that's probably more me being a spoilt Westerner!

Thank you to all the staff.

Room Tip: One a bit further from the hotel reception makes sense.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BackPackingFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

This is basically a clean place to sleep in a good, safe location while you are in Lima. The rooms are basic, although a bit damp feeling. Cleanliness was about what you would expect in a basic room in Lima. The breakfast was just bread, jam, and coffee/tea, but it was enough to start the day.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank displacedandrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Rooms were very basic...this hotel would resemble more of a motel based on North American standards; beds were clean however, the smell of mildew surrounded the room. Definitely needed to open windows to sleep. Please bring indoor flip flops or shoes if you are a little OCD on cleanliness.

FYI- this hotel stay was part of G Adventures (formerly Gap)

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CanadianChick007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

This a basic hotel in Miraflores. Breakfast was just coffee, juice and bread unless you paid extra. Beds were comfortable and washroom clean. Wifi was intermittent. Nothing fancy but location was good. Used it as a jumping off point for a Gadventures tour.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JEricksom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Gave this hotel a "poor" rating due to the dirty rooms. Smelly rooms, dirty washroom, uncomfortable beds - in general dark and uninviting. Would not recommend staying here.
Breakfast was toast, butter, milk and coffee.
On the other hand, the courtyard was very pretty, and if you're staying at this hotel I would recommend going up to the roof - a nice place to enjoy a drink.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank illjill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

I didn't think the place was that bad. We had a double for $80, which is a little bit stretching our wallets, but the service was good. The breakfast included a basket of bread, yogurt, bowl of fruit, coffee/tea. Any breakfast that includes fruit in Peru gets a star in my book. I thought the staff were very friendly and answered all our questions, etc. The rooms were a bit dark, and the decor just felt like staying at an old, rich aunt's home in Spain. I'm sure at one point in history long ago, this place was the bee's knees. I couldn't put my finger on it, but it didn't matter because we were so close to the square, Punto Azul, walking distance to the coast. Wifi only worked when we sat in the lobby. If the place was a little bit cheap, I would give it an extra star.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teresa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lima hotels
Miraflores
Hotel El Ducado
Hotel El Ducado
#83 of 234 in Lima
288 reviews
Miraflores
Hostal Torreblanca
Hostal Torreblanca
#48 of 234 in Lima
427 reviews
Miraflores
Tierra Viva Miraflores Larco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miraflores
Hotel Vila Santa
Hotel Vila Santa
#12 of 234 in Lima
875 reviews
Miraflores
Hotel Britania Miraflores
Miraflores
Ibis Lima Reducto Miraflores
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Castellana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Castellana

Address: Grimaldo Del Solar St 222 | Miraflores, Lima 18, Peru
Location: Peru > Lima Region > Lima > Miraflores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 Business Hotel in Lima
Price Range: $55 - $87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Castellana 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Hotel La Castellana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Castellana Hotel
La Castellana Lima

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing