We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Run away!!!! Fast!!!!”
Review of Kamana Hotel

Kamana Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kamana Hotel
Ranked #177 of 229 Hotels in Lima
Reviewed June 11, 2014

I have never been in a dirtier hotel. Carpets were not vacuumed for a long time; the dust sitting on the carpets had been there for a long time. We as a group had 4 rooms and they were all disgusting. We slept on the top covers using our clothing to cover the pillow. I have never given a bad review about a hotel. Sometimes when I read the bad reviews I think people are too picky and should just stay home. This is not a case of “people being princesses”. If I can save just one person from the mistake we made I’ll be happy. The next day two people in our group woke up with bites that blistered. It’s funny how the pictures on hotels.com look NOTHING like the real rooms do (as you can see in the pictures). The room one of the couples had was painted that morning and the smell was still there in the afternoon so we asked to change it but the new room they got was so filthy they kept the original one.

We booked a pick up at the airport but no one showed up. I called the hotel and was told to call back in 3 minutes and they will tell me how much it will cost to pick us up. I told him we were at the airport with many taxis so I did not need him to START arranging pick up.

We got to the hotel in the morning and asked if we can have our breakfast because we will be leaving at 1.30am the next day. They said that today it’s too late but we can have breakfast at 1 am. Of course at that time everything was closed and yet again we didn’t get our breakfast.

I don’t really even care about the airport pick up and breakfast.

Just the filthiness is so gross this hotel should be shut down.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MEGSIBOO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (201)
There are newer reviews for Kamana Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

52 - 58 of 201 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2014

We were expecting a budget hotel for a budget price but the Kamana took it to another level. One word Disgusting....black hairs all through the bed, mould in the bathroom, sticky carpet and smelled like a dump... Thongs and sleeping bag were required. We ended up booking another hotel at the end of our tour as we didn't want to have to deal with the place again.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank ColnKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2014

I stayed here pre and after my tour to Machu Picchu with Tucantravel Great service,friendly staff and the security guard very friendly. He came running after me as I had my cell and wallet just in my hand.
Handy to the local supermarket,Plaza and bank.
Would recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stayed here twice at the beginning and end of a group tour. Our first room was comfortable enough with a small double bed. Our second room was huge, obviously renovated with a king size bed. The free wifi is reliable, the rooms have hair driers and the shower is hot. The location is excellent, very close to the Plaza del Armas and within walking distance to a lot of other sites and restaurants. There was no noise from other rooms, rooms at the front of the building have some street noise but nothing unreasonable. I would recommend this place. Breakfast is basic but cheap.

Room Tip: 5th floor rooms seemed to be small, 4th floor rooms were larger and renovated.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Batmane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

We chose this hotel for it's great location - all the major plazas and sights are within walking distance (old town which we were interested in). It is very well located and even though the area looks a bit dodgy, we didn't feel unsafe. There is a very friendly guard at the door that opens up for you and helps with taxi's and baggage. We arranged a transfer as we arrived very late at night and the driver was waiting for us and it all worked out very well. The staff were all very friendly and helpful, except for Miquel who didn't really look like he wanted to help and that we were really bothering him. They asked us at reception if we wanted two beds or one, and we said one as we are a married couple. We ended up with a room with 2 double beds and 2 single beds!! So loads of space! It was very comfortable and clean, fresh towels everyday. Also a really good hot shower. The only negative thing is that the hotel is a bit dated and definitely needs a refurbishment. The carpets were very old and stained and the bedding faded. We also didn't have the best view (a brick wall) but that is to be expected in a city. It was bit noisy, but not so bad as to keep you awake. In the moring around 8am there was a huge noise, sounded like a rocket ship taking off and lasted for about 15 min - I suspect this was the shower upstairs? Luckily we were awake by this time! The breakfast, although basic was really good and fresh with really nice coffee! The waiters were very friendly and helpful. I would recommend this hotel as the price is very good for what you get and you can't beat the location!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Talia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2014

A little intimidating when arriving at 1:00 AM and seeing the bars on the front door!! Turned out to be a great little hotel, clean rooms, very friendly and helpful staff. Great location in Central Lima. Within walking of great restaurants, shopping, central squares, main pedestrian road just around the corner, fabulous cathedrals, etc....One block from bus stop that will take you to Mirafloras and Barranca. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WasagaBaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Just around the corner from the main pedestrian road that links the two main squares. Rooms were decent, clean and tidy, and the staff very helpful (bar recommendations, airport transfers etc). No air conditioning, but fans in the rooms (it was pretty hot when we were there). For us, a very good value hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bendy_Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lima hotels
Hotel Continental Lima
#58 of 229 in Lima
399 reviews
Cercado de Lima
Maury Hotel
Maury Hotel
#170 of 229 in Lima
116 reviews
Hotel Paris Lima
#94 of 229 in Lima
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cercado de Lima
Gran Hotel Bolivar
Gran Hotel Bolivar
#75 of 229 in Lima
700 reviews
Cercado de Lima
Hotel Inka Path
Hotel Inka Path
#198 of 316 in Lima
73 reviews
Hostal Yaki
#159 of 350 in Lima
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kamana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kamana Hotel

Address: Camana 547, Lima 09630, Peru
Location: Peru > Lima Region > Lima > Cercado de Lima
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #177 of 229 Hotels in Lima
Price Range: $48 - $61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kamana Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Kamana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kamana Hotel Lima

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing