We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It would be better 50 metres down the street”
Review of Hostal Torreblanca

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hostal Torreblanca
Ranked #45 of 228 Hotels in Lima
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“It would be better 50 metres down the street”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

There's lots to like about Hostal Torreblanca, but it is right on a very busy roundabout constantly full of cars and buses honking their horns at all hours. The noise was too much for us to have our windows open, and with a broken fan, that meant stale hot air for most of the evenings. If only the building was just down the side street - it would be a much better experience.
That said, the staff are very helpful, and have some great tips about places to go and restaurants to visit. Inside, there are lots of Peruvian artefacts and a comfortable lounge area for general use. The breakfast was adequate, but a wider variety of breads and condiments would have been better. But the fact remains, this is Lima - one of the worst cities I have ever visited. Two days were enough for us in this dusty, noisy, chaotic city where it's safer to travel too and from the airport with your eyes closed - well, perhaps just less scary.

Room Tip: Don't choose Room 201, or any room fronting the roundabout. If something is wrong with your room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rickbarrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    146
    52
    8
    6
See reviews for
73
135
50
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Stayed here for 2 weeks during my Global Volunteer service...wow...no better way to get immersed in Lima. Everyone was willing to help by going the extra mile...which ended up being needed. Guillermo, bless his soul, picked me up at the airport with a smile and sign with my name on it...a desperately needed sight after a long trek. After 9 fabulous days, I got very sick (NOT from hotel or Lima) and Guillermo took me to Emergency and stayed by my side for 4 hours...what a blessing. Afterwards, everyone at the hotel did everything in their power to help...special order eggs, special delivery chicken soup...I will be forever grateful to EVERYONE at Torreblanca and can't wait to stay there again when healthier..Highly recommend my wonderful room with a balcony out front to witness Peruvian life any time of the day. Thank you Hostal Torreblanca...Frank, Patricia, Luis and the entire staff!

Room Tip: Ear plugs help if you're in the front of the hotel...which I loved!
See more room tips
Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank AndreaK36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

I stayed here on and off for three weeks in while in Peru. It was always a welcome relief from other hotels in the country which usually had unrealized potential. For one thing Hostal Torreblanca has at least 5 different wi-fi connections. My entire trip was planned by myself and, although I printed a good chunk of my itinerary out, there was still a whole bunch of things that needed looked up on the internet. And that was a big problem everywhere else I stayed in Peru. The breakfast here is adequate. The juices are fabulous. The rolls are as well. But the selection is very limited. The hotel has seemingly random staircases and hallways and rooms in random places. It's quite cool. The staff all speaks very good English. I would say give a printout of your flight to the clerk if you're using the hotel 'shuttle' to the airport. There was a mix up of times and my driver was late twice. Picking up from the airport was fine. Peru seems to be an up and coming tourist destination. This place is on the ball in that respect. And, to top it off, two days before leaving, realized the hotel is only a block from the ocean.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street. And be sure to bring earplugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Days after returning, I am still shocked this hotel was ranked so high on TripAdvisor. The lobby and eating area were both "nice"...the actual rooms were decent but ... the carpet in the hall was old and worn, our bathroom had an open window exposing what looked like old pipes and cob webs. There is no AC and the room was VERY noisy to the point where I could not sleep past about 5am. The staff is SUPER nice and helpful but do NOT take their suggestion on El Senorio de Sulco. (There's a fee to eat there noted in small font on the menu, they are slow and the food is overpriced.) The location to the Malecon is phenomenal. I would consider this a crash pad. The pick-up from the airport was a great deal and our guy was there waiting, even with a late arrival, however the return is a little steep. This hotel isn't bad, the rating was out of sync with expectations...again, it is a crash pad at best.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

I stayed here with Team GB for the World Paddleboard Championships and had a great stay. We where in a great spot a couple of minutes walk from the beach and close to shops and places to eat. The staff where all really really nice and super helpful. The breakfast was the best I had in Peru!! My mouth is watering thinking of those mangoes !! Thankyou Hostal Torreblanca!!

Room Tip: There is a great great BBQ chicken place 2 mins walk just before the Repsol garage. Ahh can't be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AndreLG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. George, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Our group of 4 adults stayed 2 nights after visiting Cusco. The hotel was listed in Lonely Planet and the Moon guide. As well as being rated highly on Tripadvisor. However, the hotel was not a hidden gem. The rooms have no A/C so the fan will blow sticky hot air on you. The traffic noise outside will keep you awake if you open the windows. The location is good, not great. The breakfast was very good. The hotel is clean and looks nice from the outside. The pick up service is not that good of a deal. The taxi drivers at the airport are regulated to 55 Sol to Mira Flores. We were left at the airport because our flight was delayed from Cusco despite arranging for airport pickup. So we had to negotiate with the taxi drivers anyway.
Overall, an average to below average hotel.
Keep looking, there are better deals.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sneezenwheez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

This hostal is a gem in the middle of Miraflores. I live in Lima and have recommended this hotel to two groups that came to visit me, and both groups left very satisfied. The staff are helpful and speak excellent English and Spanish, and they are always available to help with any questions or concerns. The hotel is a block from the beach and about fifteen minutes walking from Parque Kennedy. I would recommend this hostel for friends, families or couples, as it's a comfortable, quiet stay.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Erin_EA_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lima hotels
Miraflores
Hotel Vila Santa
Hotel Vila Santa
#12 of 228 in Lima
816 reviews
Miraflores
Hotel Stefano's
Hotel Stefano's
#48 of 228 in Lima
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miraflores
Tierra Viva Miraflores Larco
Miraflores
Faraona Grand Hotel
Faraona Grand Hotel
#25 of 228 in Lima
566 reviews
Miraflores
Ibis Larco Miraflores
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Torreblanca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Torreblanca

Property: Hostal Torreblanca
Address: Av. Jose Pardo 1453, Miraflores | Miraflores, Lima, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Lima Region > Lima > Miraflores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Lima
#35 Romantic Hotel in Lima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hostal Torreblanca 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Hostal Torreblanca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Torreblanca Lima
Hostal Torreblanca Hotel Lima

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing