We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel-But Little Service”
Review of Hostal Torreblanca

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hostal Torreblanca
Ranked #43 of 226 Hotels in Lima
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
493 reviews
147 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel-But Little Service”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

A lovely quiet hotel located just far enough from the bustle of Mira Flora, but close enough to still take advantage of all that is offered in this area.
Rooms are located in what appears to be a haphazard manner throughout the building, requiring some memory to navigate how to get to and from each room. However, they are a good size, containing a good array of furnishings, including a refrigerator and writing desk.
Small bathroom however, requires some squeezing into, other than for a shower.
A complimentary, basic breakfast is included, along with 24 hour coffee and tea.
Only negative I would have is that as soon as I stepped in the door and advised them of my reservation, nothing further was either heard from them, or done. No signing in, just a guided tour to your room (having to find your own way out).
A very limited amount of information is available in the foyer

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FyingKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    145
    51
    7
    6
See reviews for
70
135
49
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed here one night at the beginning of a Peru trip, and one night at the end.
The first time we were picked up by Guillermo (William in English) who told us so much about the city as we drove from the airport to the hotel and filled us with expectations for when we were to return at the end of the holiday, with more time to spend in Lima.

The hotel is in a good location for walking (2 blocks) to the cliffs that overlook the ocean. The rooms are nice, clean and comfortable.

Our second night (at the end of the trip) was an even better room than the first (it was not facing the roundabout that can be noisy even in the middle of the night). We did have a problem with water in the middle of the night that made my husband have to wander the hotel in search of a working bathroom, leading him to one that had not been cleaned in some time. But it was resolved by morning and we were able to shower, et. al.

Guillermo took us on a 3.5 hour tour of the city after we had their buffet breakfast, which is nice and well stocked of different foods (breads, hot breakfast foods, cheese, ham, olives, yogurts, fruit, juices and hot drinks). The tour with Guillermo was really cool - I actually wasn't expecting as much from the tour of the church and monastery of St. Francis but it was fascinating and I'm glad that he took us there. He also was great about stopping when we wanted to do something a bit different, like take pictures of the Saint Bernard dogs (statues) along the coastline.

Good place good value and helpful staff!

Room Tip: Ask for a room off the roundabout / traffic circle to get a better night's sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adventure3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Stayed at Hostal Torreblanca four years ago and all was outstanding. This time, money was stolen from my room that had been earmarked to buy shoes for the kids at the orphanage. Hotel first response: IMPOSSIBLE! They finally offered me two free nights against a future visit. Unfortunatley, that won't buy the shoes for the kids. Service has slipped. Nice breakfast buffet, but they kept running out of food items.

Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank volunteer2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Pros
- 20 minute walk to Larcomar along the cliff with nice views
- Rooms with balcony are really nice, though there is (expected) a bit of street noise
- Safe location, came back walking from Larcomar at 10pm and felt safe. At 20 minutes away from Larcomar, you do notice crowds thin out and find yourself walking through residential apartments as you get nearer to hotel. However not an issue since this hostel is in a posh location.
- Very nice breakfast with fresh fruits, offered to us even though we were a bit late for it.
- Simple, clean, comfortable room with small bathroom with hot water (we took a double bed).
- Very helpful and friendly staff

Cons
- Taxi requested through hotel was expensive, including airport pickups and dropoffs. I ended up taking contact details of the taxi green guy who first dropped me and used him for further travelling. The hotel seems to have a 15 sole additional fees for calling a cab for you wherever you go. This may be because we visited during a busy month (Dec) as other reviewers seemed to have had prior experience with good taxi service.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms are nice although there is a bit of street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank amarwah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, Kansas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Small hotel with superior service. Excellent location within easy walking distance of dining, shopping, and a seaside running trail! Friendly and knowledgeable staff. Stayed 7 nights. Will return to this hotel on my next visit to Lima

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Stayed 4 nights - very good - central location - about 10 walk to main downtown Miraflores - breakfast buffet of small range, including some cooked - open for lunches but closed for evening meals - several reasonable eating places nearby - staff helpful in recommending - good English - our room was large - everything clean and tidy - staff very helpful with arranging cabs and transfers. Considered very good value

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ScotsAustralian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermosa Beach, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012

This is a great place to stay with very reasonable rates. They will arrange pick up from the airport for you and drive you to Miraflores. Miraflores is definitely the place you want to stay when visiting Lima. The room was fairly basic and comfortable. There was a small fridge with 2 complimentary bottles of water. The shower was amazing. Great water pressure and temperature! It is located on one of the main streets of Miraflores and is about a 10 minute walk to the Parque Kennedy area where there are many cafes and restaurants. There is a restaurant around the corner from the hotel (Senioro de Sulco) that is great (the hotel will give you a coupon for a free Pisco Sour). Really enjoyed my stay there.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lima hotels
Miraflores
Hotel Vila Santa
Hotel Vila Santa
#14 of 226 in Lima
799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miraflores
Mariel Hotel
Mariel Hotel
#107 of 226 in Lima
30 reviews
Miraflores
Ibis Larco Miraflores
Miraflores
Hotel Stefano's
Hotel Stefano's
#46 of 226 in Lima
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Torreblanca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Torreblanca

Property: Hostal Torreblanca
Address: Av. Jose Pardo 1453, Miraflores | Miraflores, Lima, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Lima Region > Lima > Miraflores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Lima
#35 Romantic Hotel in Lima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hostal Torreblanca 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Hostal Torreblanca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Torreblanca Lima
Hostal Torreblanca Hotel Lima

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing