We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gran Hotel Bolivar
Nearby Hotels
$345
$256
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$234
$225
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$316
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$460
$430
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$122
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$319
JW Marriott
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
$390
$287
Westin.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$196
$179
Sheraton.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
$152
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (732)
Filter reviews
732 results
Traveler rating
139
306
174
77
36
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
139
306
174
77
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsplaza san martingrand old ladyfaded grandeurold damestained glass domepisco soursantique furnitureinside roomclassic hotelhistoric center of limapresidential suitehotel barbring earplugsroom was largeincluded breakfasttaxi driverknobs
Filter
Updating list...
155 - 160 of 732 reviews
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Elegant architecture in a great location. On a main plaza and not all that far from Plaza de Armas. An easy walk along a main shopping street filled with stores and restaurants, most focused on chicken dishes

The staff at the desk and in the dining room were all pleasant and helpful. The room was relatively spacious, the shower water hot. And breakfast was individually prepared with a reasonable choice of eggs and meats and fairly decent coffee.

But. We stayed in the hotel for two nights and did not get a good night's sleep either night. The mattresses felt similar to the hard ground we slept on when camping without air mattresses. Fortunately no rocks. We asked about changing to a room with softer mattresses, but they were all the same. It seemed there was also a noise problem as phones ringing some distance down the hall were very evident in our room.

Room Tip: Close to the elevator for a start.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Traveler6208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

I'm disappointed at the negative reviews here. I genuinely found this place a very pleasant stay and in a perfect location in Lima. I paid around £50 a night- A lot for Peru but hardly breaking the bank.

The room was really pleasant, with a separate sitting room and a very quaint bathroom, with tons of HOT water. Staff too were very hospitable and even offered a breakfast box since I was leaving early the next morning. Sadly a large tour group managed to steal my breakfast, but the thought was there!

Well recommended, I could not fault it. Very convenient if you need to get to Desamparados station early the next morning...

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Saminbrizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Pros

Architecture - Was a grand hotel in it's day
Model T Car in foyer
Clean


Cons

-Noisy - Music Blaring till 3am no soundproofing to windows
-Street Traffic very noisy
-Furnishings- Poor quality
-Beds Rock hard
-Beds Damp - impression that room was rarely used
-Bathrooms -dated



Overall cannot see why anyone would rate this hotel 5star, would not recommend unless you are restricted to a very tight budget in old part of Lima City

Room Tip: Look for room to rear to lesson street noise
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SEAWAVES1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

If you want to escape into an old world style hotel this is definitely for you. I enjoyed the really spacious rooms and location close to the city centre. The service in the hotel was generally very good but the service at breakfast was a bit slow. Overall great for the price.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cafeconleche625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

If you only have one night to spare in Lima, stay here! It's location is great. It's within easy walking distance of all the sights in the historic centre. That's why we chose it... The hotel itself is a bit old, but it has its charme! Large room with antique furniture and a very hard matrass. Shower and toilet wasn't the best we've had, but everything was very clean. There even was wifi inside the room (#409) and cable tv (one of the first I guess). Only thing is that is was pretty cold in the room!
We came by nightbus from Arequipa and arrived at 7:30 at the hotel. The room was available but the receptionist asked for $20,- for an early check in! After we told them we were tired and unhappy about paying extra for a room which was empty at the moment his colleague let us check in for no extra charge.
Breakfast (like everywhere else we stayed in Peru btw) was horrible. Some old dry rolls with marmelade... But overall a recommendable authentic stay in a great location!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Baskotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews