We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Gran Hotel Bolivar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Gran Hotel Bolivar
Ranked #69 of 228 Hotels in Lima
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

What a fabulous place. Faded grandeur is an understatement. This was THE place to be in Lima once upon a time and how we loved experiencing those times gone by with lots of vintage furniture, tiling and massive suites of rooms. OK, so there was no heating, a sub standard shower, a few chipped tiles, intermittent wifi and a few tacky pictures on the walls but this all added to the character of the place and, lets face it, we couldn't have afforded to stay there if these were all rectified. The doormen and "front of house" staff were dressed and had the professionalism and demeanour of a very posh place and the immaculate 1920s car made us smile. One small niggle was the restaurant/bar staff who seemed offhand - but still worth experiencing this "Home of the Pisco Sour". Still giving 5 stars for service because of everyone else.
Apparently there once were turkish baths etc - wish we could have experienced these too.
This place was an absolute gem. There's no question that we'll be staying there again next time we're in Lima (and we're really hoping nothing is "updated").

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    278
    153
    68
    34
See reviews for
94
244
75
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Lombardia, Italy
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

This hotel, located in the colonial heart of Lima's Plaza San Martin, is one of the rare examples of hotels that have not been altered from the frenzy of restructuring. Sure, it hasn't all the comforts of the modern ones, but if your goal is to enjoy the most authentic side of Lima and not the tourist and banal reported by the guides, stop here. On the other hand, all of the most interesting arts site of Lima are in these parts: from museums to cathedrals, from palaces to the streets, the real heart of Lima is centered around this impressive Art Deco building.
The rooms are very spacious and clean and the vintage bathrooms, even if they looks dated as old grandmother's house, are so cute! The furniture is antique and all the bedrooms have a nice original parquet floors. The ratio quality price is competitive and the staff courteous, efficient and timely makes that place definitely worth mentioning.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manuela Alessan... F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

A one-night stay in transit. Walking in felt like a time warp - lots of wood, real room keys, lovely grand staircase. The room was in character - little foyer just inside, good sized bedroom, high ceilings, walk-in closet, big bathroom with somewhat antique plumbing. Location is great - right in the centre of downtown. The room faced onto a busy street - I live in the inner city, so OK for me, others might find it a bit noisy. The TV was pretty ancient, remote control only worked within 1 metre! Generally a bit disappointing.

Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank stratfd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We had a huge room with hall, expansive bathroom including a rotary dialling telephone, a walk in dressing room and 3 beds. We knew that it was a bit run-down, but the entrance was stunning still, as was the model-T Ford in pristine condition. The breakfast was basic but fine for the price. WiFi was fine too. It was a cheap hotel, with a beautiful lift which worked well. Yes ,the parquetry was rotten in the floor and we had to be careful where we trod, but everything worked , except for the heating, as it was very cold at night and there were not sufficient blankets (only 1 each) on the beds --we just put on more clothes. The staff were all helpful, especially when I was sick. I cannot recommend the bar/restaurant next door to the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MyMuM0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 20, 2013

A moment in this hotel is a return in the past, with the old car of the entrance and with the memory of Heminguay, Orson Welles.... A charming hotel. We have liked the decoration of our room, the hotel and the attention of the personal.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Crayssac A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

Me and my girlfriend stayed there on August 2013. The sight is amazing as a post colonial style of building. But the awesomeness stops there.
The comfort of a 21st century palace is not there to meet what you would expect for the price you're paying (240 soles meaning 80$). No decent heating (and it does get cold at night in August), rooms are quite spartiate; service is good though (they arranged us our night in Ica afterwards).
Breakfast is short (omelet with 2 eggs, a bit of jam and 3 toasts, no choice whatsoever).
In short, a bit to pricey for what you get. You could almost go visit it and sleep elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

This afternoon i was enjoying a drink with a friend, and my bag was stolen, while we were sat at our table in the not very busy bar. from the moment we got in there it was very strange,,, it was fairly obvious that the staff had something to do with this as they were the only ones walking around our table, moving chairs etc, and were not good at dealing with our situation, even finding it a situation to smile at, when they had not smiled the whole time we were in there, when I raised the alarm! the head of security and front desk Raul were excellent however, and assisted us in calling the police, would not recommend this hotel as anyone is allowed to wander around,

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amandaselina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lima hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lima hotels
Hotel Continental Lima
#58 of 228 in Lima
350 reviews
Cercado de Lima
Kamana Hotel
Kamana Hotel
#147 of 228 in Lima
193 reviews
Hotel Paris Lima
#102 of 228 in Lima
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cercado de Lima
Maury Hotel
Maury Hotel
#151 of 228 in Lima
109 reviews
Hotel San Antonio Abad
#28 of 228 in Lima
891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel Bolivar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Bolivar

Property: Gran Hotel Bolivar
Address: Jr de la Union 958 | Plaza San Martin, Lima, Peru
Location: Peru > Lima Region > Lima > Cercado de Lima
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Best Value Hotel in Lima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gran Hotel Bolivar 3*
Number of rooms: 277
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Gran Hotel Bolivar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Lima

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing