We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wouldn't come back” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gran Hotel Bolivar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Gran Hotel Bolivar
Ranked #68 of 226 Hotels in Lima
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“wouldn't come back”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

pros: central location and nice foyer

cons: noisy with traffic and foot traffic, took 2 hours ( and counting) to get an extra blanket, hot water ran out 1/2 way through my shower, room looks remodeled but bathroom still looks old, and reception staff very rude.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jujub77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    278
    150
    68
    34
See reviews for
93
241
75
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

This is an older hotel in the historic center of Lima. It is definitely worth the stay. While it can be rather noisy because of the constant street noise in Lima, the hotel has lots of character. Our room was clear and the beds were very comfortable. We had plenty of hot water. We found the staff at the hotel to be pleasant and helpful.

You must have a Pisco Sour in the hotel restaurant as this is the home of this Peruvian classic.

Room Tip: If you can request a room on the back of the hotel, it may be better for sleeping.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PJWray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rennes
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

The Gran Hotel Bolivar is a classic. It used to be the greatest hotel in south america and you guess why when you enter it. Everything is very beautiful, the rooms are spacious and with nice old-school furnitures. The staff is nice, the location is great (in the middle of the city center) and it is very affordable.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank armelle r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
116 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

Three friends and i started and finished our trip to Peru in Gran Hotel Bolivar. Location is great and the staff very helpful from booking taxi's ( check before you set off we though they had told them we wanted to go to the bus station and the taxi driver was taking us back to to the airport) to giving us information and looking after our cases.Breakfast was ok if you like bread and jam.Big bedroom and bathroom, plenty off hot water and beds were clean, on leaving did check under bed and found someones old socks which i binned.but apart from that its a beautiful old building desperately in need of some TLC.Last night had Pisco Sours sat on the balcony watching the world go by.Must ask for inside bedroom as the noise from the streets is unbelievable goes on all night long. What we paid was well worth the money and a great start and finish to our holiday.

Room Tip: Ask for inside bedroom as the noise from the streets is unbelievable goes on all night long
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yorkshire9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jordan, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

Location and service was great. Large room with huge bathroom and hot shower. Let us store our luggage for the day. Coffee and bread served in the dinning room for breakfast was good. The only problem we had was no Wi Fi service. They did have a computer in the lobby we could use. They let us print our boarding passes.

Room Tip: Get a room at the back of the hotel away from the traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Skoosh

Helpful?
Thank Shari P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

This was a very interesting hotel.
It had a lot of character.
Old, not in the greatest shape, but everything was clean.
Service was very helpful.
Food was OK.
Being in the best location in the central Lima was a huge plus.
Realistically, this is a 4 star place, not five. But, 3 nights that we have stayed there, felt like living in a different time and that was priceless.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrej Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheongju, South Korea
Level Contributor
78 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

I only stayed here for one night, but loved every minute of it.

Personally, I really love historic sites, and it was especially cool to stay at a hotel that people like Clark Gable and Mick Jagger stayed at. As if the outside of the building wasn't beautiful enough, the inside was truly grand. All of the furniture, at least in the rooms, was antique. I really felt like I was stepping into another century... the ceilings are so high and elegant. I felt a bit glamorous walking into our room!

The hot water is strong and you are never without. The beds were comfortable, on the firmer side, and there is tons of space to put your luggage and lounge. The bathrooms are very large, which is also nice.

As for the staff, they were all very attentive and nice. Very helpful when trying to get to certain districts that are a bit more unknown. They helped us look up restaurants and find cabs that knew how to get there. They also hooked us up with a city tour just within a half hour of arriving in Lima.

The restaurant had DELICIOUS food... just on the pricier side. I didn't have a Pisco Sour there unforunately, but this hotel is its birth place so I would definitely try it while there. The staff at the restaurant were also incredibly nice and helpful.

The one and only downside is the very loud traffic that never stops all night and early morning. We had a room that overlooked a side street, so I would recommend avoiding that. Some would say this hotel is too far from the tourist attractions, but if you sign up for a tour they will come pick you up at the hotel. It is hard to get anywhere at night, which is why we opted to eat at the hotel instead.

Overall, I would recommend this hotel over and over again. For the price (a mere $86/night), you get to experience history almost as it was when it opened in the 1920s, architecturally speaking. You really can't go wrong. I wouldn't have spent $300 at the Sheraton knowing I could stay at this exquisite hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheMeagerMuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lima hotels
Hotel Continental Lima
#59 of 226 in Lima
3.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Cercado de Lima
Kamana Hotel
Kamana Hotel
#135 of 226 in Lima
3.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Hotel Paris Lima
#101 of 226 in Lima
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cercado de Lima
Maury Hotel
Maury Hotel
#145 of 226 in Lima
3.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Hotel San Antonio Abad
#29 of 226 in Lima
4.5 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel Bolivar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Bolivar

Property: Gran Hotel Bolivar
Address: Jr de la Union 958 | Plaza San Martin, Lima, Peru
Location: Peru > Lima Region > Lima > Cercado de Lima
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Lima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gran Hotel Bolivar 3*
Number of rooms: 277
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Gran Hotel Bolivar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Lima

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing