We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exquisite little gem of a museum - we loved it!”

The Amano Pre-Columbian Textile Museum
Ranked #44 of 328 things to do in Lima
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This museum features the private collection of Mr. Yoshitaro Amano, which contains selected pieces of ceramics and textiles, arranged chronologically to illustrate the development of weaving throughout Peru's pre-Columbian cultures, featuring special items from the Chancay culture.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Exquisite little gem of a museum - we loved it!”
Reviewed February 4, 2012

One of the many gems we discovered during a month in Peru was this tiny museum. Despite – or possibly because of – the fact that virtually no English was spoken, and my Spanish is very limited, the treasures we were privileged to view stood out on their own as absolutely exquisite examples of pre-Hispanic pottery and textiles, all in perfect or near-perfect condition.

The museum was founded by a Japanese-Peruvian, Yoshitaro Amano, and is today funded by the Amano Museum Foundation. It is open to visitors only two or three hours a day during the week, and appointments must be made in advance. There is no admission charged, but donations, and purchases at the charming little gift shop, are encouraged.

Our appointment was for 3:00, and we were the only people in the “tour.” Our guide welcomed us at about 3:10. A group of Japanese tourists, led by a Japanese-speaking guide, followed us in the next tour at 3:30. Our guide spoke only Spanish and I was concerned that this would be a problem but, somehow, almost magically, much of what he told us was understandable. And, truthfully, the background and explanations he provided were secondary to the breath-taking quality of the pottery and, especially, the textiles, he showed us. He pulled out drawer after drawer, each with only one or two stunning pieces of intricately woven fabric and lace. It was almost beyond belief that these pieces had survived in such beautiful condition, from the coastal Chancay culture that existed between 800 and 1000 years ago.

The museum, as noted, is small, and the “tour” lasted under an hour. But the impact of what we saw was huge, and we’re delighted we made an opportunity to visit Museo Amano. We highly recommend it.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank JBWanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    49
    8
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whidbey Island
Level Contributor
195 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Remarkable, One-of-a-Kind!”
Reviewed January 9, 2012

This museum came highly recommended by a close friend who is very knowledgeable about indigenous tapestries. We moved through the museum, with the guide very quickly. First the ceramics, which was, in itself, fascinating. Then the tour de force: the woven pieces. I had no idea how advanced the Pre-Incan cultures were regarding their weaving skills. The level of expertise of Chancay, such as the thread count, has been unsurpassed by modern technology! This museum is well worth an hour of your time.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank judythr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
647 reviews
102 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
“Almost home”
Reviewed January 3, 2012

Being a swede in Lima, this place is special. The founder of the museum got a Swedish protection passport in the 50s and could continue working on collecting items for the museum, which he couldn't have done otherwise beng "paperless". 2 rooms. One with ceramics, one with textiles. Both fantastic.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
Thank Hans L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
120 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Very nice museum!”
Reviewed December 21, 2011

You will need to make an appointment for this small private owned museum.

Beautiful textiles from Pre-Inca cultures, very well preserved, good display, attentive help.

A must see place while in Lima. Look for the small shop it has great things made exclusively for the musem

Visited January 2011
Helpful?
Thank FalcoG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“ethereal gorgeous pre-Inca weavings”
Reviewed October 31, 2011

take time. the alpaca lace-work is lighter than gauze, floats in the air, ?nearly a millenium-old stitchery intact.
memorable.

testifies to Sr. Amano's discoveries, and his honoring of Peruvian genius.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Amano Pre-Columbian Textile Museum also viewed

 

Been to The Amano Pre-Columbian Textile Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing