We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 8:15 PM
Save
  
Google
Ways to Experience Museo Convento San Francisco y Catacumbas
from $39.99
More Info
from $162.00
More Info
from $1,794.88
More Info
from $129.00
More Info
Reviews (6,305)
Filter reviews
6,304 results
Traveler rating
3,354
2,379
512
46
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
3,354
2,379
512
46
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful church human bones last supper harry potter guided tour underground catacombs old church church of san francisco interesting visit worth a visit interesting history interesting place on display guinea pigs entrance fee plaza mayor library
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 6,304 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A step back in time. The Spanish Architecture was breathtakingly beautiful. The main Alter shimmering gold leaf housing many of Franciscan saints.

Date of experience: November 2019
Thank Travelbug291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2020

We learned so much walking through and visiting the museum. We had a guided tour in English. Very thorough and makes you appreciate what you are looking at even more. By the time we got to Cusco, we were already full of information from this that we were able to enjoy visiting more churches and convents.

Date of experience: December 2019
Thank Kyle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2020 via mobile

This is a must to learn more about the history of colonial Peru, it houses some fascinating antiquities, beautiful architecture and an acquisitive collection of Rubens. However, our guide rushed us and we were unable to fully appreciate this specific gallery - we tried to return at the end of our tour but were told this was not possible without a guide, which was a huge disappointment. Would recommend others to take their time and let your guide wait since you won't have an opportunity to return.

Also, while I don't mean to be unfair, our guide's English was not very good and so we felt we missed some important points. For these reasons, we give a 4 out of 5.

Nonetheless, it is a great place to visit and get a sense of the religious history of Lima...just perhaps 'check' your guide's English ability before you start and if not convinced wait for the next group.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank Tigriza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2020

Despite the major earthquakes that struck the city over time, the building preserves its original architecture, the interior being built with carved mahogany wood and the walls decorated with hand painted porcelain mosaic. The convent is a special place because of a very old library and underground catacombs, where although it is possible to visit, photography is forbidden.
As it is arranged, the library seems to be an inspiration for J.K. Rowling stories, a magical place where the monks kept very old and valuable books written in Quechua.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank iwastheretraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2020

The church San Francisco is very beautiful (aways check opening times), but it is really Santo Domingo Convent which will take your breath away. There are several outstanding features. Fist all the patio is covered with beautiful tiles. Then there are several large spaces built in Mudejar style, reminding us of influence of Arab culture during ist long conquest of Spain. The library with some 20,000 manuscripts in many languages is all preserved also online, so everybody can get a permission to check the relevant sources. Lastly, these monks obviously had high connections because there are numerous paintings from Rubens´workshop and an equal number of those of followers of Zurbaran.
Youa re not allowed to do an unaccompanied tour: you have to have a guide.

Date of experience: December 2019
Thank Cartagena2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews