We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Plaza de Armas (Plaza Mayor)
from $50.00
More Info
from $0.10
More Info
from $32.00
More Info
from $33.00
More Info
Reviews (7,272)
Filter reviews
1,599 results
Traveler rating
757
661
165
14
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
757
661
165
14
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews presidential palace at noon government buildings beautiful square guard change main square city hall police presence wooden balconies marching band lima cathedral colonial architecture nice place to visit take pictures walk around south america walking tour
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 1,599 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Visited here on two occasions in the night and day to saviour the atomosphere. Very busy on a Sunday night as they had a catholic celebration there and was absolutely packed with people and the noise from the crowd and the beauty of the buildings lit up was magnificent.
Visited the next day some what calmer but still magnificent the architecture very beautiful with endless picture opportunity’s.
Well worth a visit if on a short stay to Lima, as has been mentioned allow plenty of time as traffic can be very busy. Allow time to visit the buildings as they are very beautiful and thief historical significance to Peru and the new world cannot be understated.

1  Thank robr658
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

Located in the historic centre of Lima, the plaza is bounded by a number of historically significant buildings. We had hoped to visit the Cathedral of Lima. Unfortunately, it was closed at the time of our visit due to a threatened protest march which necessitated a police presence..

Thank 53Shadrach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The changing of the guards at the presidential Palace is an interesting spectacle. The square it self is well maintained as well as the surrounding buildings. A beautiful church, the President's compound. I feel anyone visiting Lima must stop and witness the changing of the guards. Starting at around 11:00am local time.

Thank Connector181870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

A beautiful city ,mayors palace and surrounding buildings nicely preserved Spanish architecture.Guards and police presence all over plaza area.Interesting history.Enjoyable visit.

Thank Mikeval1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We had lunch in Chinatown and a short walk to this plaza. We were lucky to view the changing of the guard at noon time. spectacular music and crowd. The mansion is beautiful and is well
Guarded with lots of police presence One cannot get too close. The square itself is hugh with lots of greens , fountains and historical buildings around. Well worth the visit

Thank 69tiger888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is the main plaza of the city which also has the Governor’s Palace, and has a strong police presence. Much history and beautiful architecture.

Thank Patricia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Beautiful buildings with wooden balconies surrounding a big plaza with palm trees. Close to San Francisco church and the Gold museum.We took a tour from our hotel to get there and visit all 3 attractions.Word of caution traffic in rush hour can be really-really congested so be prepared at the return to your hotel ( depending location)to stay in the bus 1.5 to 2.0 hours .

Thank atti s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was on a business trip to Lima for two days. I had returned to Lima since I was 5. Nothing as I imagined it to be. The Plaza de Armas was beautiful. My visit was in the early evening at dusk after having been up and down the coastline. Beautiful lighting, strategically places, the immaculate gardens, the old old colonial Spanish architecture and the huge absolutely enormous window balconies. Carved in hard woods and just stunning for those of us whom like this kind of thing. Clean, friendly people, a picture taking event.

Thank W3757AXmarkm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stop and watch the Changing of the Guards at Plaza de Armas. Check on times, as I was told several different times to attend.
Well rehearsed and impressive, although a little difficult to see and photograph through the massive iron fence but worth a spending a little time while you're in the Historic Center of Lima.

Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We traveled next to the massive palm treed main square of Plaza Mayor, the place where Francisco Pizarro founded Lima, with its many important wood balconied buildings of Spanish colonial architecture including Lima’s City Hall, the Social Club, and the Cathedral that surround the square.

Thank Kelleygirl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews