We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service and excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Leon de Oro Inn & Suites
Ranked #76 of 236 Hotels in Lima
Reviewed June 16, 2009

A good middle-range hotel with nice staff and perfect location in residential quarters in Miraflores. My husband and I stayed here for four nights in April 2009. If we're coming back to Lima we would book this hotel again.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ubkvist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (261)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

58 - 64 of 261 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2009

We stayed at this hotel as part of out Intrepid tour around Peru
We stayed in two different rooms in our time here- both were similar, with TV and cable channels.
The rooms were kept clean and the bathrooms were fine. The hotel had internet access which was free for the first 15 mins- more than enough time to check-in online! They also printed our airplane tickets out for us free of charge!
The breakfast here was not great- the bread was hard and the variety wasn't great.
This is your average 3star hotel- comfy and clean and adequate for 2-3 nights stay.
The staff were really friendly and helpful though and the hotel is in a great location- a couple of minutes walk to the main shopping areas of Miraflores, also around the corner from the best Ceviche (raw fish) restaurant in Miraflores.
The area is also very safe and close to nice views of the ocean.
Take your own water though, as it was around $2 per bottle from the hotel!

  • Stayed: January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank choonkaloonks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2008

Stayed at Leon de Oro 10/08, arranged through Peruvian travel agent. Location is very good, walking distance from the ocean and shopping at Locamar, in the safe Miraflores neighborhood. Staff were freindly and helpful to us in our first S. American experience. Unclear exactly what the nightly cost was, as it was rolled into the overall package, but it must have been less than $100 US.

  • Stayed: October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ChicagoBurnham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2008

We stayed here for one night at the start of our Peru trip and one night at the end. The first time we got a pretty small room right behind reception - maybe because we were checking in very late, about midnight. They said there were no other rooms available. The second time we stayed we got a larger room on the 4th floor, with a mini-fridge, and two double beds, which was nicer. Both times the rooms were clean and pleasantly decorated. The bathrooms again were clean and nicely done, but pretty small. Still, it's fine for a short stay. There was TV with CNN and maybe one or two other channels in English. The first time we stayed service wasn't fantastic - the girls on reception didn't speak much English. We wanted some bottled water to brush our teeth and drink in the night, but they told us there was none in the hotel to buy and we had to make a trip to a supermarket, which was a bit of a pain. But when we stayed there the second time we noticed a fridge with drinks on sale in the reception area - I don't know if it was new or if we hadn't noticed it the first time! Service the second time we were there was better, the people at reception spoke more English, and they were very helpful with information, and helping us flag down taxis and explaining to the driver where we wanted to go. Breakfast was fine, nice fresh juices, bread, cheese, jams etc as part of the buffet, and you could order cereal, eggs, and perhaps a couple of other things, I can't remember, for extra. I ordered a cereal and it was nice. Overall I think the hotel represented ok value for money, it's in a safe area, and the rooms felt nice and clean, and generally the staff were helpful. We considered giving it 4 stars, but felt that the service and very small room on our first stay meant it fell just below, so we've given it a 3.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Soph234567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2008

We stayed at this hotel at the beginning and end of our Peru trip. The location was good for us. We could walk to the new shopping/restaurant area on the coast in the Miraflores area or into the Kennedy Park area of Miraflores with its excellent restaurants and shops. The hotel staff was helpful, gave good directions on a readable map and was prepared when the section of the city lost its power as we walked home after dinner our first night. They gave us flashlights and escorted us up the stairs. Breakfast is served in a pretty, cozy room and was even available for our 5 a.m. departure each time. There were 4 of us traveling on an individual tour booked through Andeantreks in Boston. Both couples were pleased with the rooms both times. They are adequate, a bit small, but we did not spend much time there. The staff and the location are great.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SoAmertransplant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2008

The best part about the hotel is the location, because its safe and within walking distance to stores and restaurants. We stayed there for one night on a layover to Arequipa, and then two more nights later in our trip. After our first night, we would have changed to another hotel for the later visit if we'd had the time to research other options. The room we were in was really stinky - sortof a musty, mildewy smell. The second time back our room was a little less funky smelling, but still not great. Each visit, the front desk would run our charges and then later call us or stop us at an inconvenient time to redo the bill and charge us more since they had apparently messed up the exchange rate. And I really couldn't understand how they came up with the different charge. Plus they tried to charge us for a taxi from the airport that we arranged on our second trip, I think the rationale was he was their agent for pickups (since the hotel arranged him the first time around) but we'd already paid him in full in cash (and they pointed out that he'd overcharged us). Breakfast was ok, not great. The first time they asked us if we wanted eggs, we said no thanks and they didn't bother to explain there was a whole menu available to us - only learned of that the second time (even though the server was the same both times). I think you can find a better hotel for the price in Lima.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank myhumble0pini0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2008

Leon de Oro is in a residential neighborhood in Miraflores. The staff was waiting for our arrival at midnight, even though our flight was two hours late. The room was spotless and had a mini fridge – a surprise. We paid $70 for a double – the low end for Lima. High end for what we’re used to. The staff tried hard to make our stay pleasant and obviously took pride in keeping the hotel in good shape. Breakfast area was very pleasant; the included breakfast was average. Felt totally safe here. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cyd'sTips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lima hotels
Miraflores
Mariel Hotel
Mariel Hotel
#66 of 236 in Lima
103 reviews
Miraflores
Hotel Stefano's
Hotel Stefano's
#42 of 236 in Lima
581 reviews
Miraflores
Ibis Larco Miraflores
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miraflores
Hotel Las Palmas
Hotel Las Palmas
#83 of 236 in Lima
211 reviews
Miraflores
Hotel Ferre Miraflores
Hotel Ferre Miraflores
#85 of 236 in Lima
196 reviews
San Isidro
Basadre Suites Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leon de Oro Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leon de Oro Inn & Suites

Address: 930 La Paz Ave | Miraflores, Lima Lima18, Peru
Location: Peru > Lima Region > Lima
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#51 Business Hotel in Lima
Price Range: $45 - $73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Leon de Oro Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Leon De Oro is an elegant hotel in the historical Miraflores district, 16 km from Jorge Chavez Airport. It features a Peruvian Art Exhibition and classical rooms with free Wi-Fi. Rooms at Leon De Oro Inn & Suites are decorated with ornamental furniture and textured wallpaper. All are equipped with air conditioning, a minibar and a fan. Guests at Leon De Oro Inn can visit the Amano Incan Museum, a 10-minute walk from the hotel. For shopping, Larcomar Shopping Mall is only 5-blocks away, and the tour desk can arrange city tours. A breakfast buffet with buttered croissants, fresh orange juice and tropical fruits is served daily. The restaurant serves regional cuisine, and Miraflores offers several lively restaurants and bars. Leon De Oro Inn & Suites offers a convenient 24-hour reception desk, as well as free parking and car rental services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Leon de Oro Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leon De Oro Hotel Lima
Leon De Oro Inn And Suites
Leon De Oro Lima

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing