We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fading Beauty Still Epitomizes Graceful Service, Comfort, Class”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Belmond Miraflores Park
Ranked #1 of 228 Hotels in Lima
Certificate of Excellence
Bowen Island, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fading Beauty Still Epitomizes Graceful Service, Comfort, Class”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

I've stayed at the Miraflores Park many times over the last 5 years, and so I've been able to discern its incremental steps downward. While it is still the best hotel in Lima in my opinion, I think that Orient Express needs to be a bit more vigilant against losing that sentiment among upscale globe trotters who frequent the city.

But first, lets talk about what makes the Miraflores Park such a great hotel.

At the top of this list is location. Perched on the cliffs at the southern end of affluent Miraflores, it overlooks the ocean, and the sunsets are thus spectacular from the northward facing rooms. A marvellous little pond laden with fish and turtles, water hyacinths, and lily pads imparts a serene feeling upon stepping out of the car. Beyond that, the meticulously maintained park hosts dog walkers and nannies pushing babies, while the ubiquitous young couples smooch on benches or on the seawall sidewalk that runs for kilomteres north along the Costa Verde - a fantastic jogging venue.

The location is of tantamount importance to those sensitive to air quality, as the ocean breeze provides the very best possible in Lima, which can be eye-stinging and throat irritating most days of the week further inland.

A 15 minute walk down the seawall brings you to Larco Mar, Lima's monument to western civilization, featuring many American and European brand stores, Starbucks, Tony Roma's and Chili's, as well as some distinctly Peruvian spots like La Vaca Loca and Pardo's chicken. For fitness regime warriors, the well-equipped and spacious Nike Air gym in the bowels of the mall also happens to be the best of such facilities to be found in Lima. Lots of cardio machines facing the ocean, free weights, machines, sauna...super busy after 4 p.m. Best time is between 1 and 3.

Lima's restaurants are of course legendary, and the Miraflores Park's location on Malecon de la reserva is an excellent base camp from which to launch culinary expeditions in old Miraflores, the more eclectic and nightlife-oriented Barranco, and the staid luxurious San Isidro.

Service at the Miraflores Park is absolutely flawless, with no task refused. The allowed me to store 3 suitcases there free of charge while we went on a side excursion that required light packing. Requests for things like toothpaste, a bellman to assist with luggage, or a car to be waiting are executed immediately and competently.

The rooms themselves are spacious and well thought out, with plenty of 110 and 220 voltage outlets, free wifi that had relatively fast up and down speeds in the early morning and later evening, but slower during prime times. The bathrooms are the centerpieces of each room though. Marbled floors, a huge tub without protruding fixtures, surrounded by mirrors, all invite leisurely aquatic relaxation. And the showers are legendary. Dinner plate-sized shower heads cascade an abundance of water that is almost embarrassing in its sheer volumetric excess. It honestly feels like you are standing under a warm waterfall. Water temperature is consistent and fixtures intuitive. Towels are beach-size, though they were looking and feeling a little worn.

The Down Side
Here are the little deficiencies that have undermined what 5 years ago would have been a near-perfect review:

1) The windows don't open at all on the ocean-facing side, and air conditioning smells dank and mildewy. So the air quality (and thus, sleep quality) was very diminished from when I first visited. This is the biggest complaint I have and one which will continue to undermine the hotel's five-star status until remedied;

2) Though at first it was amusing, it eventually became annoying and ultimately kept us from sleeping. The guest in the next room was having some issue with somebody somewhere, and clearly he was not aware that the telephone already came with amplification and broadcast technology. He shouted the most vile stream of Cuban-American spanglish at the unfortunate soul on the other end of the line, incorporating every curse word in the English and Spanish slang dictionaries non-stop for an hour. But he did that about 6 times during our stay. The next guests had small children who were clearly of the "raised by wolves" variety, and who were encouraged, it seemed, to shriek with utter abandon thorughout the evening. My point is, sound insulation needs to be upgraded badly.

3) The breakfast buffet has seen a steady deterioration in quality over the last five years. It used to be the reason to get out of bed early. Now its the reason to go eat at La Tiendecita Blanca. The fruit was dry and/or tasteless and/or unripe and/or woody. This is an absolute disgrace in Peru, where the very best of the world's produce comes in the form of mangoes, pineapple, banana, melons, and oranges. The baked goods have also seen a downward trend lately.

4) The rooftop pool is a daily ritual for me. The water is kept quite warm, and over 2 metres deep, so its great for swimming lengths as long as there's no one else trying to do the same. The water is either very mildly chlorinated or using some other system for purification, because there is no chlorine stench afterward, which is godsend for me. During my entire visit of one week's duration, however, the glass walls that line the pool area were inexplicably filthy, and my expectation that somebody would clean them each day was never realized - an unfortunate oversight on the part of hotel management.

Overall, I still love the Miraflores Park hotel far and away above every other 5 star hotel in Lima. But these deficiencies represent an erosion of what was clearly proprietary pride. I recommend it without hesitation, but unit the situation is rectified, you will need to request a room on the back side of the hotel (with a small balcony for fresh air) if air quality is important. And don't bother with the breakfast buffet if you find the quality remains as described here - there are myriad great locations for fresh fruit of the highest quality and freshly baked breakfast breads in the immediate vicinity.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the back side if fresh air is important to you....the ocean side windows do not op...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FreezingColdShower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Miraflores Park, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Guest:

Receive a warm greeting on behalf the entire team of the. We appreciate the time you have dedicated to sharing your opinion with us and the great description of our luxury hotel you have made.

We will be happy to have you with us in another opportunity.

Best regards,

Patricio Zucconi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,519 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,205
    258
    29
    20
    7
See reviews for
245
772
78
150
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

We first stayed at the JW, and after staying here thought the JW had better rooms and location. THis hotel was definitely very nice, fancy and trendy! I am not sure its worth over $300 a night though... Great service staff!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pooja2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Miraflores Park, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments which will aid us in constant improvement and upkeeping of our level of service.

We remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Patricio Zucconi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

I loved this hotel. I stayed here 3 times in June/July 2012 for a total of 7 nights. It was my first time in Peru and my first time in 30 years travelling overseas alone. I felt safe, secure and welcome from the first airport pick up in Lima. The staff were just great,friendly, reliable and welcoming .The rooms were lovely, clean and comfortable, with nice views. The buffet breakfasts were wonderful as was the view from where it was served. The service at the Jekyll and hyde Bar was excellent as was the wine. The location is great, close to shops, with a great walkway along the ocean.
It was great to return to the hotel for the second time after 2 weeks in the central Amazon . Needless to say I extremely appreciated the luxury of a warm shower and bath in marble surroundings and a soft comfortable bed. My husband joined me for the rest of our Peruvian
holiday and enjoyed returning to this hotel for our final 2 nights before flying home.
I will definitely be returning to Peru and will without doubt be staying here again.
Oh and the cherry on the top.? They do not charge for WiFi. Yeh! it is as it should be. How
upmarket hotels still charge for wifi when small hostels provide it free irks me.

l

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank krisd57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Miraflores Park, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for your compliments. We will keep working on our service to deliver fantastic travel experiences and charm that will always prevail in our guests' memories.

Once again, thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind regards,

Patricio Zucconi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brighton
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Best location in Lima, facing the ocean.
Great service and excellent breakfast, but a bit dated.......
Good shopping nearby. The only negative point: do not ask the doormen to get you a regular taxi.
We noticed that the price of these fares were almost doubled.
They apparently get a share from the cab drivers (in Lima there are no metered taxis...)

Room Tip: ocean facing room!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank homecooking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Miraflores Park, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Guest:

Receive a warm greeting on behalf the entire team of the. We appreciate the time you have dedicated to sharing your opinion with us and the great description of our luxury hotel you have made.

We will be happy to have you with us in another opportunity.

Best regards,

Patricio Zucconi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

This Lima property is deluxe. The lobby is beautiful and rooms are huge. The bed and linens are superb. Bath is quite large with a fabulous shower with the best "rain" shower head I've ever experienced. The windows are large with views of the Pacific ocean. The staff is very attentive. Breakfast is served on the rooftop next to the pool. Again, the views are fantastic. There is only one restaurant in the hotel which serves Japanese cuisine.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emmy6_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Miraflores Park, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your kind words. We take pride in serving our guests and having them leave satisfied with everything we have to offer.

Your perception is a valuable tool we take into consideration to maintain and improve the quality of the product and service standards we provide to all our customers.

Sincerely,
Patricio Zucconi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneve
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We stayed one night and enjoyed our stay very much from the moment they picked us up at the airport to the moment they dropped us off back to the airport - even dense Lima traffic seemed to be not an issue - everyone else was stuck in it but us. Japanese food in their restaurant was excellent, but expensive. The room was nice, but we were woken up by a shower noise at ~4 am Breakfast was excellent - there was nothing one could wish which was not there. Lots of fresh fruits and juices. The location is stunning, very clean and safe - there were a lot of discreet policemen present in the area. If you saw Lima center before, you would not have guessed it is the same city. We would definitely stay in this hotel again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ILoveGeneve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Miraflores Park, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Lima, Peru.

Best regards

Patricio Zucconi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

We only had one night there but were very impressed from the minute we arrived. Service was first class, the room was well appointed and very comfortable. The desk staff arranged for us to travel to a nearby excellent restuaraunt, with a car at either end for a small fee.

The pool was located on the top floor was great with stunning views up the coast along with a well equipped gym.

The Breakfast area was also located on the top floor and apart from the views, included a great selection of hot and cold foods.

Room Tip: Higher Floors over looking the ocean and foreshores.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janipots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Miraflores Park, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your wonderful comment here on Trip Advisor, especially the title, I hear it more and more from our guests.

Best regards

Patricio Zucconi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lima hotels
Miraflores
JW Marriott Hotel Lima
Miraflores
Hilton Lima Miraflores
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miraflores
Courtyard Lima Miraflores
Miraflores
Casa Andina Premium Miraflores
Miraflores
Tierra Viva Miraflores Larco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Miraflores Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Miraflores Park

Property: Belmond Miraflores Park
Address: Av Malecon de la Reserva 1035 | Miraflores, Lima 18, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Lima Region > Lima
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Lima
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lima
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lima
#2 Family Hotel in Lima
#10 Business Hotel in Lima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Miraflores Park 5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in Miraflores, one of Lima's most exclusive residential areas, Belmond Miraflores Park is an all-suite hotel offering breathtaking views out to the Pacific Ocean. Its state-of-the-art facilities, spacious accommodation and pampering services make it the perfect hotel for both corporate and leisure guests. In Travel + Leisure World's Best Awards 2014 it was voted #10 in the "Top City Hotel in Central and South America" category. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Belmond Miraflores Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Miraflores Park
Miraflores Park Lima

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing