We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay Away”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Thunderbird Hotel J. Pardo
Ranked #88 of 232 Hotels in Lima
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed July 28, 2007

Hello

I have been all over the world and stayed in many different hotels. This hotel, the Apart Hotel Las Americas, while it had a nice facility, I hated the place. I have been to Peru many times, and have over 60 days in Lima under my belt. So I know this is not a typical experience.

The problem was that I felt like I was under surveillance the entire time. I stayed here for 20 days and would have left if I had not paid in advance. They had a very strict visitor policy. First, they took the ID of any visitor I had and made them fill out a form, every time. Even if they had been there the day before. I felt they were trying to keep the local Peruvians out of the hotel. Because the policy did not seem strict when my friends were Westerners. I hated the whole process and thought it demeaning.

They also had a policy of ten dollars per visitor if they came after 9 PM. They never advised me of this and sprung it on me about mid way thru the stay. Nothing started in Lima before 11 PM, so forget having friends over to kill time until the party started. Why have a three room Suite with two couches and a wet bar if you cant entertain?

I realize they were trying to protect stupid Americans but the atmosphere was truly Closterphobic. I recommend staying anywhere but here.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank JessUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (208)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

72 - 78 of 208 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2006

in the four nights we spent at Las Americas in Lima, we needed to change our rooms five times mostly due to plumbing problems and other minor problems. Not recommended!

  • Stayed: October 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jetxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2006

We stayed here for two nights when we first moved to Peru, before we carried on to Arequipa. We checked in at 2:30 am, into a suite that was practically an apartment - kitchenette and bar, living room with fold-out bed, bedroom with king-sized bed, whirlpool tub . . . everything was clean and tidy. Although we hadn't dealt directly with the hotel, since my husband's work booked it, they had provided a classy solid-wood crib with lovely linens for our one-year-old.

I was very sick with a cold the whole time we were there, so we ate all our meals in the room. Room service was excellent and reasonably priced, the staff were friendly, competent, and great with the kids. The closet was big enough to become a fort for my 3-year-old who, thanks to the great room service, spent the whole time playing restaurant.

It was a bit noisy, and I found that the air conditioner was clunky and smelled a bit musty - but it had to be on, because otherwise the rooms got muggy and oppressive. A pool would have been nice with the kids. Only these small considerations keep me from giving this hotel the full 5 stars.

  • Stayed: February 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank AdventuresCool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2005

I have stayed at this hotel twice and both times found the suites to be very comfortable and clean. The hotel has a good restaurant, Club 21, in the lobby, and is in a conveinent location in Miraflores to access other areas of the city. It is located on a busy street, and the noise can be a problem, but Lima in general is a noisy city, and that is just something you have to contend with. The suites are a good size, with a separate sitting area and bedroom.

The hotel itself is quiet, and the staff friendly and very helpful. The concierge was very helpful in making reservations and travel arrangements.

The only detraction to this hotel, and the reason I didn't give it five stars, is that it seems in need of remodeling. While the rooms are clean and well kept, it is apparent that the furniture well used. Twenty years ago this hotel must have been the hight of luxury, but now it feels dated.

  • Stayed: November 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Promethius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
513
Reviewed September 18, 2004

I booked here because it has a kitchen. The staff at checkout and whilst I was there were very good but you can't get away from the fact it is a very noisy hotel. It is on a main street, the windows are very thin and if you have ever been to Lima you will know that a lot of people connect their car alarms to their horns and use them on a regular basis. Given this I got very little sleep. I was in room 903 and I asked if I could be moved somewhere quieter and they put me in room 205 which had less traffic noise but all the airconditioning was outside my window so no sleep again. Another thing that annoyed me was the loud piped music in the lobby and the elevators - maybe to try and mask all the other noises. The rooms are large and clean. The kitchenette consists of a microwave, fridge, sink, kettle and some cultery and crockery. There is no internet access in the rooms. I wouldn't stay again as without sleep its difficult to work.

6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Cony O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Claudioiae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lima hotels
Miraflores
Dazzler Lima
Dazzler Lima
#17 of 232 in Lima
1,266 reviews
San Isidro
NM Lima Hotel
NM Lima Hotel
#37 of 232 in Lima
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Isidro
Melia Lima
Melia Lima
#31 of 232 in Lima
1,149 reviews
San Isidro
Novotel Lima
Novotel Lima
#34 of 232 in Lima
798 reviews
Hotel Libertador Lima
#16 of 232 in Lima
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thunderbird Hotel J. Pardo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thunderbird Hotel J. Pardo

Address: General Borgono 116 | Miraflores, Lima 18, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Lima Region > Lima
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Lima
Price Range: $116 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Thunderbird Hotel J. Pardo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thunderbird Hotel J.Pardo is best known for its outstanding service and dedicated staff. This charming hotel offers 64 spacious and luxurious suites and all the amenities that you would expect from a Thunderbird Hotel.All of its rooms have living room and kitchenette.With nearby plazas, first class restaurants and shopping only a short walk away you will be in the perfect position to explore one of the nicest areas Lima has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsforEveryone and TripOnline SA so you can book your Thunderbird Hotel J. Pardo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apart Hotel Lima

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing