We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't miss this” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Antigua Miraflores Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Antigua Miraflores Hotel
Ranked #35 of 226 Hotels in Lima
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Don't miss this”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2011

My daughter and I stayed here as part of a Gate 1 tour and were very pleased. It is like visiting your grandmother's house- a bit musty and worn but authentic and charming. The staff is extremely helpful with maps , directions, ideas and unending smiles. There is a pharmacy, supermarket, and restaurants close by. Astrid and Gaston is only a short cab ride away as well as the Indian market. We had a great time here. The lobby was usualy filled guests telling their adventures.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LynFortMyers_Florida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

859 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    430
    129
    30
    17
See reviews for
135
356
87
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
254 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

We stayed here at the beginning and end of our trip to Iquitos and the Amazon. The staff was pleasant and helpful, there were computers with free internet, rooms were comfortable and clean. We were desperate for quick laundry service and they provided it beautifully. Breakfast was very good. It's located about 3 blocks from a main thoroughfare, and very quiet with good security. There's an excellent small restaurant on the corner and lots of other restaurants and stores within easy and safe walking distance. I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Royan17200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maywood
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

Stayed with my other half, the Hotel is beautiful, with elegant rooms. Felt very secure at hotel, even walking back from the Discoteca "club" at 2AM in Miraflores Complains, had bad experience with the weekday staff and breakfast taking FOREVER.

Room Tip: construction currently being done, prepare to be awake around 8AM due to banging
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ldogescalade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2011

My 22-year-old daughter and I spent a couple of nights here at either end of our Peru trip and we would recommend this hotel to anyone and everyone. It is a small, "boutique"-type hotel with charm and efficiency. The room was clean and comfortable and the price was right. The restaurant even accommodated our very early morning departure (4:00 a.m.!). The location was great -- a lovely residential neighborhood. The surrounding area seemed perfectly safe and we just used taxis after dark as we would in most any city. The staff was extremely helpful and we appreciated the two computers that were available to guests. We wouldn't stay anywhere else in Lima after experiencing the Antigua Miraflores.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelingTeacher59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2011

My tour operator booked me into this hotel for one night on the front side of a five-day tour of the Amazon and then two nights after I returned from the Amazon. The first night my room was down a dimly lit hall with the rooms on both sides of me undergoing construction. The room was adequate size, lacking any warmth. A car alarm went on and off all night along with motorcycle noises. Due to the construction the sounds were amplified because there was no carpeting. There was no safety latch on the door and no additional lock on the inside. The tour group left very early the next morning and some of the hotel guests did not receive their promised wakeup call. Because of this we almost missed our flight to the rain forest. I told the the front desk I did not want any room in the vicinity of my first room when I returned. When our group returned five days later, I was given a room in the portion of the hotel with four floors. At 04:30 water started dripping on my head and two other locations in my room. (It was not raining outside) I didn't get anymore sleep that night. Once again, there was no safety lock or a secondary lock. The door frame was not square so the door did not fit snugly. When I requested still another room I was told that no other rooms would be available that day. I informed the front desk that I knew of two people who were leaving that morning and I would be happy to have their room. I was told the room was already reserved by someone else. I told the front desk that when I returned from my tour of Lima, I expected another room. The third room was much nicer probably because it was in the part of the hotel that is shown on the brochures. Another car alarm went off almost all night. It did have a safety lock. There were no fluffy robes or towels and most of the towels had multiple holes in them. I only ate breakfast there which was average and was included in my tour cost. On my last night I requested a 03:30 wake-up call for a very early flight - the call came at 03:00.

Room Tip: If you want to stay in this hotel, insist on a room in the very front part, near the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Visitor_Paris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2011

I came here in June 2011 with my husband and 6 other family members with Gate 1 so we certainly got the gammut of rooms available.

The hotel is lovely looking from the outside. The artwork inside was beautiful (and for sale!) and we felt very safe here. Staff was friendly and we bothered them many times to make dinner reservations, call taxis, and get maps. They put up with us when some members in our group needed to switch rooms (ie different bed configurations) and brought us fans when some didn't work. There are 2 computers in the lobby for free internet and if I recall, there was free wi-fi as well. They have water dispensers on each floor and provide a jug of bottled water in the bathroom for teeth brushing which was a nice touch.

We stayed here at the beginning and end of our trip so had 2 different rooms. The rooms my husband and I had were older, but large. The first had a sitting area complete with microwave, fridge, and dishes (we didn't use any of them). The second also had a fridge and even a hot plate! However as the older rooms go, it had a very musty smell so we had the fans on and the windows open the whole time (some of my family complained of noisy/non-working fans in their rooms). My mom also switched out of a room on the top floor which she described as an "attic" with exposed beams and very hot.

I did get to see another RENOVATED room and felt so cheated with ours! Brand new carpeting, crown molding, new furniture and tv and totally updated bathroom with one of those sinks that "sits" on the counter. Perhaps you can request to get an updated room!

The biggest downfall of this place is the BREAKFAST. We were a group of 90 people and as this is a Gate 1 hotel, you'd think they'd be used to accomodating the crowds. Sadly no. The seating area fills up very quick and our first morning we had to eat breakfast in the lobby. I was pleased to see they offer a menu of 8 or so items from scrambled eggs to tamales but in the end, I wish it was just a self serve buffet. They are just not accustomed or accomodated to serving a large group. There is only 1 girl who (inefficiently) takes orders and can communicate in English. There are maybe 2 other ladies who try to bring out the bread, oj, and coffee and attempt to serve the food except I suspect they were bringing it to the wrong tables. They also bus the tables. Honestly I felt bad, they would run out of silverware and we'd go to the kitchen to get some and they were handwashing them. Numerous folks had to get up and go to the kitchen to get bread or butter or coffee. Breakfast takes a MINIMUM of one hour and don't take the back table or you will never get served. I saw a table get up and leave after waiting an hour for their food (and we're just talking simple b-fast like scrambled eggs). At some point people just took whatever food was coming out whether they ordered it or not and you can forget about your side of bacon! I heard they were going to expand their breakfast seating area but PLEASE, just go to BUFFET style!

Moving along, I recommend going down the street (turn right out of the hotel) and go one block and there is a nice pastry shop (with empanadas) there that is very cheap! I think they also serve sandwiches and drinks. Perhaps you can go here for breakfast instead of the hotel. Keep walking in that direction (<10 min) and you will hit the Love Park and can see the hang gliders taking off from the cliff. From there it is another 10 min to Larcomar, the big shopping center. We found a great supermarket (sort of like Whole Foods) that is also nearby. Take a left out of the hotel and walk to the main road. Don't cross, turn left and 1 block down will be the supermarket called Vivanda. We bought lots of Peruvian snacks and picked up some Pisco sour and mix to take home. On sale, the Pisco sour was cheaper than the duty free at the airport.

I think most in my group agreed that of the 4 hotels we stayed at on the trip, this was our least favorite. Try and request an upgraded room and don't even bother with the breakfast and you will be fine.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank caflygrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level Contributor
70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2011

My husband & I stayed here as part of Gate 1 tour. It's true that this place is older; however, it has been maintained pretty well. The rooms are larger and the baths have been redone. They don't have air conditioning, but they do have ceiling fans. The beds are clean and comfy. The best rooms are on the upper floors, but we stayed in a room on the 1st toward the back, and it was really good. The window opened onto a courtyard. We also stayed on the 2nd floor on our return trip, and it was somewhat better. There is a slight musty smell, but opening the window works fine.The front desk staff is "sort of " bilingual, but not too friendly. The breakfast staff is efficient AND very friendly. The breakfast was very good. You can order from several menu options, which I prefer to a buffet-style. We ordered coffee/wine in the afternoon/evening, and the staff was helpful and engaging. The lobby area is large w/ fun, oversized, antique furniture. It's a great gathering place for guests to meet and compare stories! The fair trade shop in the lobby has some lovely things for sell, and the money goes to a co-op. We enjoyed our stay here very much.

Room Tip: Request a room on the 2nd or 3rd floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MissIzzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lima hotels
Miraflores
Tierra Viva Miraflores Larco
Miraflores
Arawi Lima Miraflores Hotel
Hotel Runcu Miraflores
#27 of 226 in Lima
4.5 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miraflores
Hotel Casa Cielo
Hotel Casa Cielo
#58 of 226 in Lima
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Miraflores
Hotel Vila Santa Miraflores
Hotel San Antonio Abad
#29 of 226 in Lima
4.5 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antigua Miraflores Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antigua Miraflores Hotel

Property: Antigua Miraflores Hotel
Address: Av. Grau 350, Miraflores | Miraflores, Lima, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Lima Region > Lima
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#39 Business Hotel in Lima
#40 Romantic Hotel in Lima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Antigua Miraflores Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Antigua Miraflores; an authentic introduction to Peru’s rich cultural heritage. Enjoy the elegance and character of a turn of the century mansion with all the comforts and amenities of a fine hotel and the warmth and charm of a colonial B&B. Tasteful decor, attention to detail, and our staff’s attentive and friendly service will make your stay with us unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Antigua Miraflores Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Antigua Miraflores
Antigua Miraflores Lima

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing