We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel to stay”
Review of Melia Lima

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Melia Lima
Ranked #29 of 228 Hotels in Lima
Certificate of Excellence
Kiev, Ukraine
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice hotel to stay”
Reviewed April 19, 2012

Nice, pretty, quite well located hotel. In general, very good impression.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valentine_Kirik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susana T, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Lima, responded to this review, April 23, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for entrusting us with your
comments which help us to improve our
day-to-day customer service.
Don’t forget that you can
follow us on facebook and leave your
comments on our Melia Hotels International profile
We will be looking forward to welcoming you back at the Meliá Lima Hotel in a sooner future.

Sincerely Yours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,095 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    497
    429
    121
    22
    26
See reviews for
147
245
96
482
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belo Horizonte, MG
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2012

This was one of the best places I've ever stayed. The staff was awesome, helping us with everything we needed. Dinner was fantastic with a great array of food. The room was huge and cozy, and with a really nice bathroom. I simply have no complaints about it. It was fantastic.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jhonnysimoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susana T, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Lima, responded to this review, April 11, 2012
Dear Guest

Many thanks for your comment
Our best reward is to know about our guests satisfaction
Don’t forget that you can
follow us on facebook and leave your
comments on our Melia Hotels International profile

Sincerely Yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2012

LOCATION: The hotel is in a corner between two very busy streets, which is probably bad for noise-sensitive people. Location was good for doing business, but it was far from the beach and Miraflores where most of the good restaurants are (I tried "Brujas de Cachiche" which was fantastic!). Yes, you can go back and forth with a taxi, but I would avoid if if on holidays. The hotel is right in front of a pharmacy, two supermarkets and several small restaurants and shops. It is also close to one of the big shopping malls in Lima.

THE HOTEL: It felt safe and all staff were very friendly. The hotel doesn't feel tired, but it is not newly refurbished either. My company used the conference center and service given was very good. Perhaps one of the big pluses is that you can hire a car to take you back and forth to the airport: service was always on time, they had brand new and spacious cars, and driver drove decently for the Lima standards.

THE ROOM: Yes, it was noisy, but clean, spacious and perfectly adequate for my business needs. I had a large TV with cable, a safe and coffee maker. The bathroom was full of marble everywhere. A very important plus as a business traveler is that I got free Internet!

FOOD: The breakfast buffet was standard (not bad, but not great either). I also tried the restaurant two nights, but my experience was mixed. It was good once, but the other was barely average. It’s a pity given the renewed importance of Peruvian food!

Room Tip: The hotel is in a corner, next to two very busy streets, to there is no way to avoid getting a noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Globetrotter_Roy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2011

I love the Melia hotels and made a reservation at this hotel when traveling to Lima for the wedding of a good friend. This hotel is nice, but less luxurious than others where I stayed (Mexico City and Buenos Aires, for example). Cordial customer service, very polite personnel. Was disappointed with my first visit to the restaurant; service very slow, cork residue in my glass of wine; replacement glass was dirty. Being in a hurry, did not bother to ask for a 3rd one, but was slightly annoyed. This should not happen in a hotel of this category. Breakfast buffet was very good. In summary, Nice hotel, but the location is a little far away from the center of activities.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaGitana30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fpenha, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Lima, responded to this review, December 2, 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for contacting us. So that we
can respond to you in as much detail as
possible, please could you email
calidad.melia.lima@melia.com with your comments or
suggestion? We will respond to your email
as soon as possible.
Many thanks.

Susana Tamayo
Calidad - Meliá Lima
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2011

Ok, so it's not THE BEST location, and their amenities are not top notch. But for a secure, clean, international hotel I thought the price was good (US$160/night - other very nice hotels are much much higher!!). If you found a reliable taxi driver I don't think it would be cost-prohibitive to be driven back and forth to Miraflores. I would definitely stay here again.

Plusses:
+GREAT, friendly and capable staff
+My room was very large (Junior Deluxe Suite) w/ large flatscreen TV. Furnishings were very nice (not 80's as some have experienced) and bathroom was very nice - large marble bath etc.
+$$
+I actually thought breakfast was quite nice - eggs, bacon, fruits, juices, cereals, pastries/breads plus other stuff...
+Secure location
+Room service food was exquisite
+Free wireless - perfect for me as this was a business trip
+Car service. Always on time. Great service. $10 a trip. Nice autos.
+Clean

Minusses:
-the 9th Floor Lounge for cocktails and snacks; atmosphere was nice but the snacks are VERY sparse and cocktails were expensive and not well-made. I wouldn't pay again to eat there.
-Pool. Small, indoor but with open walls so was very chilly. It felt old and run-down and would not have used it even if it was warm
-Spa. Ok, it's cheap ($12 french manicure?) but not nicely laid out. I did not feel 'pampered' or relaxed, and the mani chipped fast. Again, it's like buying somthing on sale - so cheap you almost have to... but I would not use it again.
-There was a lot of loud traffic starting at 5:30 am (its on the corner of 2 intersecting main roads). But it wasn't too strong; I managed to ignore it after a while

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NJFunTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fpenha, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Lima, responded to this review, December 2, 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for entrusting us with your
positive comments and good suggestions
which help us to improve our day-to-day customer service.
So that we can respond to you in as much detail as
possible, please could you email
calidad.melia.lima@melia.com with your comments or
suggestion? We will be pleased to answer you.
Many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
47 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2011

We stayed here for one night before our Cuzco trip and two nights after. The 1st stay, we were offered and took an upgrade from our Junior Deluxe Suite to the Junior Deluxe Room (Level Floors) for $30 (which included internet in the room, cocktail hour & breakfast). Considering breakfast was $13 @ and internet was $12, it made sense for us to do it.

The room was on the 12th floor and was not that big but was at least updated. Cocktail hour was actually good as they can make drinks for you for no extra cost and there are lots of available hors d'oeuvres. However, breakfast was bland and not really up to par.

On the 2nd stay, we decided not to spend $30/night on the upgrade as we really did not want to eat breakfast there again. The room we booked was again a Junior Deluxe Suite, but since it was not on the Level floors, it was not updated. The furniture looked like it was straight out of the early 80s; however, the room was huge! It must have been double the size of our Level floor room.

The hotel is located in an upper-class neighborhood so it's very safe, but there is nothing really around to walk to. We did discover that it is only a few blocks from the nice Miraflores area (near the casinos and nicer hotels), and it is an easy walk there.

Service was good, especially the bellboy and valet. The front desk, however, didn't seem too knowledgeable about the rewards program. I wanted to make sure my stay was credited to my member # but I did not have it with me. I asked to search it by name and they said they didn't have the ability to do that but that I could call the 800# to request it. I found this quite inconvenient as I didn't want to pay for a phone call from the hotel.

I also expected a bit more from being a member, at least some kind of perk like other hotel programs, but I was told all I could get were points and if I earned enough points then I could get some rewards. We were on a trip for our anniversary and my husband's birthday, so even an upgrade would have been nice.

I also found the price to be not so reasonable. With the same price, there may be better options in nicer areas. Mini-bar is excessive, too (I got an 8 oz bottle of water for $8!!!).

Room Tip: Choose the Level floors for upgraded rooms (and less noise!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fpenha, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Lima, responded to this review, December 2, 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for entrusting us with your
comments which help us to improve our
day-to-day customer service. Sorry if your
stay did not turn out as you hoped it would.
If you send an email to calidad.melia.lima@melia.com
we will respond to your comments as soon
as possible. Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
286 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Stayed in this hotel at the onset and return of the Cuzco leg for Machu Pichu. On the way in, with a tour group, the room was spacious and clean but on the front entrance and noisy. I asked for a quiter room upon my return and was graciously allocated a beautiful suite for a two night stay. Room service was excellent and the restaurant itself was very good. Pool looked inviting. Staff were very helpful. This hotel is close to one of the local pyramids, and is only a few minute taxi from the Larcomar, a seaside shopping mall of interest - and is about 20 to 30 minutes from downtown sites if I recall correctly.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malone2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lima hotels
San Isidro
Wyndham Costa Del Sol Lima City
Foresta Hotel Lima
#8 of 228 in Lima
800 reviews
Miraflores
Dazzler Lima
Dazzler Lima
#17 of 228 in Lima
1,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Isidro
BTH Hotel
BTH Hotel
#23 of 228 in Lima
668 reviews
San Isidro
Atton San Isidro
Atton San Isidro
#10 of 228 in Lima
2,539 reviews
Miraflores
Casa Andina Premium Miraflores
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Lima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Lima

Property: Melia Lima
Address: Av. Salaverry, 2599 | San Isidro, Lima, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Lima Region > Lima > San Isidro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Lima
#13 Business Hotel in Lima
#21 Romantic Hotel in Lima
#22 Luxury Hotel in Lima
#26 Family Hotel in Lima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Lima 4*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Meliá Lima is located in the residential & financial area of San Isidro. It is the 5* Hotel closest to the International Airport "Jorge Chávez". The International Pacific Exhibition Center, the historical center of Lima and the commercial & leisure district of Miraflores are close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Melia Lima reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Lima Hotel Lima
Sol Melia Lima
Lima Sol Melia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing