We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sonesta Hotel El Olivar
Ranked #38 of 228 Hotels in Lima
Certificate of Excellence
Orange County, CA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

Very nice hotel in the heart of a pretty and safe area of Lima. The hotel overlooks a park situated in an olive tree grove. The park and the area are safe for walking. There is a nearby ruin within walking distances and some very good restaurants. Restaurant at hotel is good and has a very good buffet breakfast that was included in my room rate. Small but nice rooftop pool area was very relaxing after a day of site seeing in downtown Lima, which is about a 25 minute taxi cab ride away. The hotel has cabs they can get you - they are always waiting, but you will pay more. Walk around the corner to main street and hail your own cab to get a lower fare. I would highly recommend this hotel as a relaxing and convenient place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaucho83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAM-Olivar, Gerente at Sonesta Hotel El Olivar, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Mr. Gaucho;

Thank you very much for sharing your experiences at Sonesta El Olivar Hotel with Tripadvisor visitors. As you have mentioned, we are surrounded by El Olivar Park, very relaxing and safe place to walk around. We are glad also that you were satisfied by our facilities and service, I will share your comments with all our staff.
I hope you can stay again with us and feel Sonesta El Olivar Hotel like your home in your next trips to Lima.

Best regards;

Gerardo Bordoli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    184
    35
    9
    9
See reviews for
47
113
14
215
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

Well located, comfortable, helpful staff, nice food. Recommend either for business or vacation trip.
The AC was a little noisy and I had some trouble with the hot water in the shower, which was promptly fixed by the staff.

Room Tip: I stayed on the second floor, there's a huge staircase that goes from the lobby straight to my r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jose_Roberto_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAM-Olivar, Gerente at Sonesta Hotel El Olivar, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Mr. Jose Roberto;

I woukl like to thank you for your preference and for sharing with Tripadvisor's visitors your experience at Sonesta Hotel El Olivar. I'am really sorry for unease you had with our A/C, our Maintenance Department is aware of this problem and they are working in order to avoid this inconvenience with other guests. We hope you can stay again with us and confirm the improovements we are making.

Kind regards,

Gerardo Bordoli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

We stayed at this hotel 5 times from late January through late February 2013. We found the hotel to be excellent. We took tours through various parts of Peru, and always returned to this hotel to regroup before heading out again. The rooms are excellent. The service is excellent. The food is wonderful. We often left clothes to be cleaned upon our return from a tour, which were returned to us perfectly clean at the time of our next visit. We very much enjoyed walking in the El Oliver Park which is right beside the hotel. I have only one complaint. I got mild stomach upset 3 times at this hotel. I suspect polluted water in the taps. My wife had no such problems. I always looked forward to returning to this hotel while on tour.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PFJE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAM-Olivar, Gerente at Sonesta Hotel El Olivar, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Guest;

We would like to thank you very much for your comments and for sharing them with Tripadvisor's visitors. It was a pleasure to have you as a guest and we are really glad to know that you had an excellent experience at Sonesta Hotel El Olivar. Regarding to the inconvinient with the water from the taps, I would like to comment that this water is drinkable but it depends on the organism of each person the reactions. We appreciate your preference and we hope we can assist you in your next trip to Lima and make you feel like home.

Kind regards;

Carlos Reyes V.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

The 6am wake-up call comes with the peal of church bells and the cooing of doves---a very gentle way greet the day, though a bit tough if you plan to sleep in. Located at one end of the beautiful, 500 year-old Parque Olivar, Hotel Sonesta is also within easy walking distance of the Miraflores cliff-top park along the coast and a 20 minute taxi ride (traffic willing) into the historic city centre. Our room was very small but adequate, with a large bathroom and comfortable bed. No electric jug---shock horror for tea addicts---but one was supplied immediately on request. Our room faced the park and therefore the road but we weren't bothered by traffic noise. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was great.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YwanT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAM-Olivar, Gerente at Sonesta Hotel El Olivar, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Guest;

We really appreciate the time you are taking to share your experiences about our facilities with tripadvisor visitors, it was a pleasure for us to assist you during your visit to Lima. As you mention, we are located in a residential area in front of Parque El Olivar, where our guests can enjoy running around it and also listening the cooing of doves and other birds. We are close to many different recognized restaurants in our districts and also nearby other important places of our city.
We hope you can visit us again or any other Sonesta Hotel around the world.
Kind regards,

Carlos Reyes V.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

We arrived at the hotel at 9am, a bit early to check in, so they looked after our cases while we had coffee in the restaurant and then enjoyed the view from the roof terrace. We were given early check in at just after 11. Our room was comfortable and clean and had everythng we needed. We had room 516 which had a poor view. Although we were in Lima in May we had sunny weather so we particularly enjoyed the local park next to the hotel and the roof terrace where there is a phone you can use to order food and drinks. We had an excellent lunch on the roof terrace. The breakfast buffet had a wonderful choice of fresh fruits, breads and hot and cold dishes.The staff were always friendly and helpful.The bar had plenty of good areas to relax after a days sight seeing and served fantastic pisco sours.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthLondonMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAM-Olivar, Gerente at Sonesta Hotel El Olivar, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Guest;

Thank you very much for letting us know about your experience at Sonesta Hotel El Olivar, we are really glad you enjoy your stay with us. Unfortunately not all our rooms have a view to El Olivar Park, in case our guest request it depends on our disponibility but our staff is always looking for solve our guest's requirements. We appreciate your preference and we hope we can assist you in your next trip to Lima and make you feel like home.

Kind regards,

Carlos Reyes V.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

I was given one of the old rooms that face the street, the view is nice but windows are not sound proof, bed was too hard, room looked old for the price. Next room faced the back, no view but much nicer. Thanks to the staff, Cristian at the reception, the new room was much more comfortable, newer, bigger but stil the bed was a little to hard for me. Food was excellent even the daily lunch special. We needed a room for a meeting and the staff again helped with no problems. Location is also good. Gym was good at the top floor.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank viajeros321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAM-Olivar, Gerente at Sonesta Hotel El Olivar, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Guest;

Thank you very much for letting us know about your experience at Sonesta Hotel El Olivar; it was a pleasure to assist you during your stay in Lima. Unfortunatelly, not all our rooms are redisigned yet, we still in a process that will continue this year. Be sure that we are taking note of your comments about the bed and sound proof windows. We are glad to know that you liked our restaurant menu and our staff service. We hope you can visit us again.

Kind regards;

Carlos Reyes V.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

I stayed at this hotel because it was close to my company’s offices in Lima. Before booking I checked Frommers and Trip Advisor to make sure it would be acceptable. I must say, I was very surprised upon my arrival at the hotel.

Upon check in, I asked the front desk clerk if I could have a map of Lima. To my amazement, the hotel did not have a map. What hotel located in a major city does not have maps for its guests?

The first room I was taken to was tiny and I asked for a larger room. The second room I was taken to was slightly larger. Given that Lima is incredibly humid, I wasn’t surprised by the fact that the room was musty smelling, the carpet damp, and the bedding damp. What did surprise me was the utterly pathetic air conditioning the hotel possesses.

The hotel does not appear to have central air conditioning. Instead, each room has a wall unit. I am not exaggerating when I say that the wall unit is so poor, I could purchase a far superior one at Walmart. In order to operate the a/c, one must use their key card to turn on the electricity in the room. Therefore, the a/c does not run when you are out of the room, which only causes the humidity to increase.

The a/c only has one setting – on or off. There is no way to adjust the speed or intensity of the fan. Also, the a/c does not turn off once the desired temperature is reached. In order to keep your room cool and cut down on the humidity you must run the a/c constantly. What doesn’t help matters is the fact that the a/c is so loud it sounds like a jet engine.

The hotel essentially leaves its guests with two options. Be hot and miserable with the humidity or be up all night because of the noisy air conditioning. The only way to sleep with the a/c on is to take a sleeping pill.

The service at the hotel was rather poor. Someone stole two beers out of my mini-bar and the hotel tried to charge me for them. After having my friend complain to the front desk in Spanish, we were able to have the charge removed. When we asked the hotel if we should have their preferred taxi service pick us up from dinner at a specific time, the hotel said there was no need. When we called the hotel after dinner to order the taxi, we were told it would take over an hour.

I should also add that the bed was extremely hard, the bathroom looked like something out of the 1980s, and if you did not have the a/c on, you could hear a lot of traffic noise.

If you are looking for an excellent hotel in Lima, I recommend you try your luck at the JW Marriott in Mira Flores. I will certainly be staying there the next time.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAM-Olivar, Gerente at Sonesta Hotel El Olivar, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Guest;

First of all; we would like to thank you very much for letting us know about your experience at Sonesta Hotel El Olivar and the inconveniences you had during your stay with us. We would like to offer you our most sincere apologies for not assist you properly with your requirements. We have taken note of all your suggestions and comments, be sure that we will work out each of them in order to avoid any future inconvenienceswith our guests. Remember that our guest's opinion is really important for us and we hope we can provide you again our service.

Kind regards,

Carlos Reyes V.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lima hotels
San Isidro
Novotel Lima
Novotel Lima
#33 of 228 in Lima
4.0 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
San Isidro
Atton San Isidro
Atton San Isidro
#11 of 228 in Lima
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,242 reviews
Aku Hotels
#57 of 228 in Lima
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foresta Hotel Lima
#7 of 228 in Lima
4.5 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
San Isidro
Swissotel Lima
Swissotel Lima
#10 of 228 in Lima
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta Hotel El Olivar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Hotel El Olivar

Property: Sonesta Hotel El Olivar
Address: Pancho Fierro 194 | San Isidro, Lima, Peru
Location: Peru > Lima Region > Lima > San Isidro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Lima
#21 Business Hotel in Lima
#22 Family Hotel in Lima
#29 Luxury Hotel in Lima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Hotel El Olivar 4*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the most important business and residential district of Lima, with the view of the majestic Olivar Grove Park in San Isidro, is the Sonesta Hotel El Olivar Lima. The property is close to financial institutions and large corporations as well as shopping centers, restaurants, cafes and nightclubs. A warm, contemporary hotel, designed to meet the most demanding traveler, whether for business or pleasure. Just 25 minutes from Jorge Chavez International Airport. Enjoy the culture, tranquility, culinary excellence, high standards of service, tradition and hospitality that only our 5-star hotel can offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sonesta Hotel El Olivar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Hotel Lima
El Olivar Sonesta Hotel
Sonesta Lima

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing