We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good Marriott - Just avoid their Taxis”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
JW Marriott Hotel Lima
Ranked #3 of 234 Hotels in Lima
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed March 2, 2008

My wife and I stayed on the executive floor (I'm a Platinum member at the Marriott so received a free upgrade) for our 2 stays, both of which were paid for using hotel points.

The hotel is in a great location, has very pleasant rooms and a superb view out over the Pacific. Being right next to a busy shopping centre (LarcoMar) is also an advantage as the centre has a wide variety of good quality restaurants and shops (including American chains like KFC/Pizza Hut for those missing home). You could really tell why this hotel is the best in Lima as well, the rooms with their ocean views were spectacular - and the higher you were the better!

The bathrooms had a very pleasant walk-in shower and separate bath, the room itself had a huge king sized bed, 102 TV channels (though surprisingly no movies) and 2 chairs to relax in after a day exploring. Also the concierge was very helpful when needed to confirm flights or just provide advice. Overall it was just a great place to escape from the heat of Lima and enjoy some luxury on our holiday - we'd definitely stay here if in Lima again.

Plus, if you want to have an even more pleasant holiday then pay the extra $50/night for access to the executive lounge too - during the week we had an american breakfast (weekends was a Peruvian choice instead), plus a good selection of light hot & cold snacks during the day and into the early evening. I'm also not sure if this was just due to being on the executive floor but each day we were presented with a small gift by room service (they just came around each evening and handed it to us).

The only part I didn't enjoy about our stay was the car from the airport - we decided to get a Marriott car from the airport to hotel as we were arriving at 1am in the morning, and an airport journey is usually very pleasant in a Marriott car. With the airport being slow to unload bags it took us almost an hour after landing to get out to the taxi area... to find our driver had vanished, a colleague of his was present thankfully - but both drivers spoke only Spanish (luckily my wife is fluent as otherwise we would have been stuck), then to make me feel it wasn't the quality service I'd expect - the website/concierge had said the taxi would be $36, twice as much as a local taxi, but still reasonable. What didn't impress me is that it was $36 using a poor exchange rate of soles/dollars, plus 19% tax, plus 10% service charge... so it actually cost us around $50, which wasn't worthwhile as we'd have had less trouble using the airport taxi firm for one third of the price.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank littev0ices
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsLima, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Lima, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2008

Dear Guest,

We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at the JW Marriott Lima.

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. regarding the taxi company we work with and we hope that it did not impact your stay and the possibility of returning back to the Hotel.

Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to have you once again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Guest Care Center
JW Marriott Lima

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,335)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,042 - 2,048 of 3,335 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2008

Stayed here as part of a package tour in January. Overall the hotel has the excellent service and bedding you can expect from Marriott. Excellent breakfast, drinks, etc - with the typically inflated Marriott pricing. The location is terrific. Use cabs across the street rather than paying the Marriott commisions in front of the the hotel.

There are few quality choices in Lima so I would definately stay here again.

Stayed: January 2008
1  Thank SunnyDays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsLima, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Lima, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2008

Dear Guest,

We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at the JW Marriott Lima.

Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to have you once again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Guest Care Center
JW Marriott Lima

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2008

1. the rooms are very small...like their american counterparts NOT like spacious rooms you will find in other Lima hotels

2. You will have to pay for internet access (just like you do in USA & same rates !!)

3. cab rides arranged by lobby are very expensive (USA rates)

4. the buffet is out of this world...so is the afternoon tea..do not miss them !

5. there is a tennis court..excellent

6. there is an attached casino

all in all, a great hotel

Stayed: April 2007
1  Thank assamese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsLima, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Lima, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2008

Dear Guest,

We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at the JW Marriott Lima. It was nice to hear from our buffet and tennis court.

Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to have you once again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Guest Care Center
JW Marriott Lima

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2008

The Marriott is in a terrific location. The staff are very friendly and efficient. I highly recommend the airport pickup service - its a little more expensive than a regular cab, but MUCH more efficient.
My only real gripe with the hotel .... I stayed on the business floor and the hotel allowed unaccompanied children to abuse the free breakfast and snacks in the lounge - they were like a bunch of piranha.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Trravelling_Dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsLima, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Lima, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2009

Dear Guest
We have reviewed your comments regarding your last stay with us and we would like to apologize for the incident regarding the unattended children in our executive Lounge, rest assured we will take immediate action to avoid the reoccurrence of incidents of this nature in the future, Again, thank you for giving us the opportunity to know your opinion about our services. This is an invaluable tool we use to improve in search of the excellence
We hope that this issue did not impact your stay and the possibility of returning back.
Sincerely,
Customer Care Center
JW Marriott Lima

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2008

Excellent hotel - in a great location. The lancormar mall is close by, and that's great to shop ard in. the area around is great. Great views of the pacific from the room, you can view the sun set.

The only thing is it's about 40mins away from the airport...so nt worth it if you're here for a quick stay.

The room service and concerige were abs great and v helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank reviewer_NewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsLima, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Lima, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2008

Dear Guest,

We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at the JW Marriott Lima. It was nice to hear the Room Service and the Concierge. They work exceptionally hard to make every guest feel special. Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to have you once again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Guest Care Center
JW Marriott Lima

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2008

I have stayed here a couple times on business and always look forward to going back. The view on the ocean side is fabulous. The breakfast buffet is awesome, and has US, Peruvian and Asian cuisine - the variety of fruit is wonderful. The is dial-up internet access in the room or wireless in the comfortable lobby for a fee, in addition to the business center. It has the best hotel gym I have been to - it would be nice it they turned the treadmills to face the ocean. The hotel will pick you up upon arrival at the airport if you call ahead - more expensive than a street taxi but also safer. You can not see it from the hotel, but right across the street there is a mall built into a cliff which goes to the ocean (the roof of the mall is at street level, and is a park, so you can't see it). There are restaurants, shops, and artisan items. The Miraflores neighborhood where the hotel is located has wonderful restaurants. Like other reviewers, I also found the concierge somewhat unfriendly and helpful - she made restaurant reservations but did not get back to me about a tour as promised. I was impressed by security - I accidentally left my room safe open one day, and the contents were carefully inventories, relocked and I had to call to have them reopen it. I found the staff generally to be helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Luusmeitli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsLima, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Lima, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2008

Dear Guest,

We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at the JW Marriott Lima.

Please accept our most sincere apologies for the incident with our Conierge staff. Rest assured we will take immediate action to avoid the reoccurrence of incidents of this nature.

Again, thank you for giving us the opportunity to know your opinion about our services. This is an invaluable tool we use to improve in search of the excellence.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,
Guest Care Center
JW Marriott Lima

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2008

As expected, the JW line of Marriott hotels did not disappoint. Although I've been to better JW's (mexico city, Tokyo) that were more luxurious, I still found the accomodations top notch for Marriott. We were lucky to secure a corner room that had large, glass viewed ocean views and a well-appointed sitting area. Didn't have any local cues that service was friendly and non-obtrusive.

Pros:
Great location. Within walking distance from the beach shops and casinos in area. Safe area. Quality beds, especially the king size. Concierge was excellent with area details. Buffet breakfast was top notch; expect to pay $20/person.

Cons:
Lacked peruvian cues in design but very minor compared to overall quality. Hotel was connected to a casino; a first for me.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank RiverTiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsLima, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Lima, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2008

Dear Guest,

We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at the JW Marriott Lima.

Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to have you once again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Guest Care Center
JW Marriott Lima

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lima hotels
Miraflores
Belmond Miraflores Park
Miraflores
Hilton Lima Miraflores
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miraflores
Courtyard Lima Miraflores
San Isidro
Swissotel Lima
Swissotel Lima
#9 of 234 in Lima
1,243 reviews
Miraflores
Dazzler Lima
Dazzler Lima
#17 of 234 in Lima
1,273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Hotel Lima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Hotel Lima

Address: Malecon De La Reserva 615 | Miraflores, Lima 18, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Lima Region > Lima > Miraflores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Lima
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lima
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lima
#3 Family Hotel in Lima
#3 Spa Hotel in Lima
#6 Green Hotel in Lima
Price Range: $209 - $395 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Hotel Lima 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Lima from our Miraflores hotel - JW Marriott Hotel Lima. We offer a perfect setting to acquaint yourself with the upscale shopping and must-see attractions in Lima, Peru's vibrant Miraflores District. Our hotel boasting views of the ocean is near Playa Redondo, the pyramids of Huaca Pucllana and abundant parks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your JW Marriott Hotel Lima reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Lima
Marriott Hotel Lima
Marriott Lima
Lima Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing