We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and super helpful!”
Review of Lima Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lima Backpackers
Ranked #2 of 343 Specialty Lodging in Lima
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Friendly and super helpful!”
Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

This was the perfect first stop on our travels in Peru! The 4 bed female dorm with private bathroom was great, but what made it even better was the friendly relaxed atmosphere and your helpful tips, maps, instructions for us to get the most out of short stay in Lima. Thanks Marco!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Anne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco P, Owner at Lima Backpackers, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
You are welcome. And we wish you a memorable trip in Peru. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
41
96
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

I could tell you that this hostel is so comfortable you feel like you are just living in a friend's flat with 7 other people. I could tell you that the beds are comfortable, and the kitchen and bathrooms are clean (it was the first place I actually felt comfortable cooking my own food). I could tell you how easy it is to travel from the hostel to Miraflores or the centew of town via Metropolitano.

But the one thing that makes this hostel special is Marco (the owner). He knows his city very well. He continually offers help and advice on your travels. And he makes a seriously good Pisco Sour!

If you are looking for a laid back, chilled out hostel, just stay here.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheryleve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco P, Owner at Lima Backpackers, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you for your preference, we are very happy to meet you. And we wish you the best for the rest of your travels and for the future. Cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Had a great time staying here 2 nights before starting a dragoman trip in Lima and it was awesome!
Marco is very welcoming and very nice and wil do his best to make your stay as good as possible! He will answer any questions you might have and help you as much as he can.
The dorms are nice, clean, and very "homie", you will get a map, directions anywhere you want to go and a bus card. Also a twol, breakfast, a shared fridge and i nice livingroom with a tv and a computer that you can use.

I would def come back if i ever go back to Lima!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco P, Owner at Lima Backpackers, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Thank you for your review. It was our pleasure meeting you. Enjoy South America and if you are ever back in Lima let us know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Can't say enough good things about this hostel and its owner, Marco. Hostel is cozy, quiet, clean, and echoing everyone on here-Marco is simply the best! Just a short walk from a huge supermarket and cheap/easy taxi/bus ride to Miraflores and Barranco. I was traveling for the first time as a solo female and a little nervous, but this was the perfect place and host to ease my worries. (A big plus was female only dorm). It felt like home. It was definitely the perfect launch pad for me to explore Peru! Thanks, Marco!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jess B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco P, Owner at Lima Backpackers, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
How are you? Thank you for your comments. We hope you are having lots of fun exploring Peru. Take care and see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2014

Me and my boyfriend stayed 3 nights at Lima backpackers and from the moment we arrived, our host Marco made us feel incredibly welcome. The homely feel to this hostel is like that which we have never before experienced. The dorms are clean and comfortable and small enough in size to ensure you make friends quickly. There are lockers big enough for your big backpacks and Marco supplies you with a bus card 3 different maps of the city; central, miraflores etc and a key to the apartment. The bathrooms were spotless and te kitchen was a great size to allow you to do as much cooking as you want. Marco as a host was excellent and very knowledgeable about Lima having lived their all his life. He pointed us in the direction of good restaurants and told us the good sights to see and how to use the local transport. He also went out of his way to assist in ringing bus companies and taxis for us. Marco also kindly showed us the nearby neighbourhood of barranco one evening which was brilliant to be accompanied by someone local and fun to do this at night. All of the above is topped off by great wifi, great breakfasts with freshly squeezed juices, comfy beds and hot showers. All in all, a great hostel with an even better host. A big thank you from Nat and Myles

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nmarg50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco P, Owner at Lima Backpackers, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Thank you very much and we wish you the best for the rest of your trip. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for only one night but marco was so welcoming friendly and helpful with advising us on where to go in Lima. He took the time to write everything down for us and made excellent recommendations. The hostel was more like a home and was a really relaxing place to stay. Wish we could have stayed longer!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lann2806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco P, Owner at Lima Backpackers, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Thank you for your comments. Keep enjoying your travels and take care. Cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

Marco is a brilliant host and this is an excellent hostel. He made us feel so welcome and like we were long time friends. Such a personal touch. He is always on hand to help you with any queries you might have and you have full use of the kitchen. The bedrooms are clean and there is a female only dorm too. Breakfast is served everyday. We would definitely use again next time were in Lima. In a great location. Don't listen to the taxi drive who tell you it's not. They're working on commission from other hotels.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco P, Owner at Lima Backpackers, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
How are you? We hope you and your friends are doing great. And thank you for your comments. If you are ever back in Lima please let us know. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lima hotels
Pariwana Hostel Lima
#1 of 343 in Lima
741 reviews
Miraflores
Puriwasi Hostel Lima
Puriwasi Hostel Lima
#9 of 343 in Lima
410 reviews
Miraflores
KACLLA, The Healing Dog Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
LOKI Lima
#4 of 343 in Lima
401 reviews
Dragonfly Hostels
#5 of 343 in Lima
442 reviews
Miraflores
Red Llama Eco Hostel
Red Llama Eco Hostel
#11 of 343 in Lima
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lima Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lima Backpackers

Property: Lima Backpackers
Address: Albacete 293, Urb. Los Jazmines, Santiago de Surco, Lima 33, Peru
Location: Peru > Lima Region > Lima
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 343 Specialty Lodging in Lima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Lima Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lima Backpackers is a warm and friendly accommodation that welcomes travelers from all over the world. We've got all the comforts, we have experience and we know what travelers value and need during their stay in a big city like Lima. Furthermore, we know Lima very well and we have all the right information and tips to explore and discover the true capital of Peru:its tourist attractions and its non-tourist as well;its culinary scene: food markets, hole-in-the-wall restaurants, traditional restaurants;its true nightlife: taverns, bars, peñas, local gigs;its culture and traditions. ** Lima Backpackers accommodates travelers by reservation only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Lima Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing