We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would go again”
Review of Rincon Chami

Rincon Chami
Ranked #102 of 2,591 Restaurants in Lima
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Peruvian
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“I would go again”
Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

Find your way among all Peruvians who eat here. Typical Peruvian food, quick service, low prices and yet quality. But do not expect any glamour at all. It has nothing to do with the renowed Peruvian Gastronomy. This is an everyday place to it: full and noisy. Order the typical starts. Two would feed a regular appetite. Main dishes are quite generous. The Chicha Morada is quite honest, as so the Cebiche.

Helpful?
Thank Paulo Eduardo d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    97
    17
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Piacenza, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Nice and typical”
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Located on a side road of avenida Larco near Parque Kennedy, this is really a simple place, but food is good and it's cheap. With perhaps a dozen of tables made of iron and almost no decorations in the interior, it looks much more authentic than many other places in this area. This restaurant is perfect for a meal with no frills, but really typical. I was there for a quick lunch, I ate tasty Tamales and a delicious potato with sauce called Papa a la Huancaina. Both prepared in a good Peruvian style. The menu offered a good selection of the typical dishes of the country, including something special prepared only in some days. The staff was nice and attentive, they made my experience to be positive for sure.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mona77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hebbville, NS, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good quality, very reasonable price.”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We found about this place in Lonely Planet. Looking for a reasonably priced Peruvian meal. This is a great spot. Thanks to the lady at the next table, we were able to decide what the Spanish dishes were. Service was very prompt and courteous, meals were very tasty and filling with good size portions. Very unassuming appearance, but the food makes it worthwhile. Very good value while letting us enjoy Peruvian meals distinctly different than what we eat at home. The Pisco Sours were good as well!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Greg J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clermont-Ferrand, France
Level 6 Contributor
330 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Amazing staff and even more amazing food”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Ate at 2 different locations 3 times in our short stay in Peru. Our friend's dad managed the place so she wanted to make sure we tried some local foods. Out of our entire Peru trip we never had food that matched how delicious the food here was! I would recommend trying as much as you can, especially a Pisco Sour!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank sjaf_xo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North London
Level 6 Contributor
398 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 248 helpful votes
“Proper Peruvian in modest restaurant - beware cau cau is tripe”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

In Lonely Planet. We loved it. Nice service. Very varied typical Peruvian food. Food can be heavy. Generous portions. We had ocopa (potatoes) on our first visit. Husband had lamb stew twice. I tried beef stir fry (saltado) and next visit a local pork and potato dish. Son had escalop milanese which was good . Serve alcohol. For ther adventures there is cau cau which is a tripe dish.
Esperanze is off a main square and if you go to the other end of it there are various antique shops which look half carboot and half antique.

Good experience overall.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank the_finchley_lees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rincon Chami also viewed

 

Been to Rincon Chami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing