We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Free Walking Tour Lima
Open today: 11:00 AM - 3:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Must-do in Lima

To avoid confusion , this a review for freetourlima.com (title has different name). We only had... read more

Reviewed September 2, 2018
sazzlem88
,
Stafford, United Kingdom
Very interesting and off the tourist beat

It was a different view of the barranco area then we would have been able to see with a regular... read more

Reviewed July 18, 2018
emma g
via mobile
Read all 901 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Lima
from $40.95
More Info
from $0.01
More Info
from $44.00
More Info
from $150.00
More Info
Reviews (901)
Filter reviews
901 results
Traveler rating
469
193
72
68
99
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
469
193
72
68
99
Show reviews that mention
All reviews alpaca meat free pisco sours music shop traditional music the main square great introduction local culture learn how kennedy park ceviche cusco instruments information guide english demonstration overview
Filter
Updating list...
192 - 197 of 901 reviews
Reviewed January 13, 2016

Having done many free walking tours all over Europe and South America I love to use them as an introduction to a new city as well as learn a little about the culture. I found the Cusco free walking tour to be extremely dry in information. The guide didn't seem to be very passionate about the city and a number of the stops were businesses which made the tour feel like a sales pitch at times.

Date of experience: January 2016
Thank Mj184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2016

Can't remember our guides names, but he was warm and congenial, but his english was not the best. still he did a good job. this is a nice compact tour that starts off the main square takes you to the mercardo, some inca building history and then up to san blas for one of the best views of the city and a pisco tasting. I still gave the guy a good tip, others gave change which was an embarrassment. For three hours between $5-10 seems reasonable, not 50 cents. Remember, the tours are free and these guys are working hard.

Date of experience: January 2016
Thank tfizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jhonnywine, Propietario at Free Walking Tour Lima, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2016

Thank you very much for your good wishes and opinion.

Indeed our guides know that much of them city because they mostly relate to local culture instead of international culture, hence they must improve them english, but we make sure that little by little not only the pronunciation improves but mostly them general culture.

We invite you to keep on walking with us in Lima, Cusco and Arequipa, we are creating the revolution of this traditional way to know cities around the world.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2015

We had the tour with Johnny and though it was a bit annoying to have such a big group (maybe 20, 25), Johnny handled it really well. He had lots of information to tell us about each part of the city and tried to give us a local's view as best as possible. We had a snack break luckily as the tour was quite long indeed, but it was really worth it to learn all that we had in these few hours. His English was very easy to understand. If you are choosing between this and Free Tour Downtown Lima with GianFranco, CHOOSE THIS ONE WITH JOHNNY.

Also note: if you are staying in Miraflores and meet at the Ovalo Miraflores point, you have to bring money (2.50 soles/person) to pay for the bus there and then you'll take the bus back to Miraflores by yourself

Date of experience: December 2015
Thank Victoria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2015 via mobile

Good tour! Gives you the basics of the city plus a little more. Really helped me get to know the history and move within the city alone. Good guide. Knew all the answers to our questions

Date of experience: December 2015
Thank marycK6858KO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2015

I like free waking tours, because usually they offer something different. it's not a standard story, but passionate and unique stories about places.

This tour, however, was like listening to someone recite a Wikipedia page. We walked out after an hour because we were just zoning out, as were many others. This tour needs an upgrade! The guide was nice, but it was just boring.

1  Thank RobinV_NL
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
View more reviews