We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outback Peru” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marcahuasi

Marcahuasi
Ranked #28 of 322 things to do in Lima
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Lima, Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Outback Peru”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Disclaimer: If you are afraid of heights you probably shouldn't go to Marcahuasi. The 4-hour bus ride up the mountain is exciting and beautiful but I was not prepared for some of those drops!

Marcahuasi is a great spot to go in Peru if you don't want to be surrounded by tourists. It is BEAUTIFUL at the top during the day, but the nights are freezing. Make sure to rent mattress pads (if it rains you WILL want these), a warm sleeping bag and tents in San Pedro. Also a donkey to carry everything up! And if you speak Spanish, a guide is a worthwhile investment (and so reasonably priced) because some of the rock formations are difficult to see without someone pointing them out, also the guides know about the ruins on top of the mountain. You feel so secluded from the outside world in such an amazingly beautiful place, I would definitely go back.

Another reason to go to Marcahuasi is that all of the money that you spend in San Pedro goes directly to the people (I believe). You rent donkeys from one family and tents from another and then another guide. This village has decided to do all of the tourism themselves to avoid being taken over by outside businesses like Aguas Calientes. It is a great way to support an rural Peruvian village, and the people in San Pedro are some of the kindest I met in Peru.

!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
11 Thank marblecake8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    81
    15
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“nice hike good spot but horrible weather”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

We went the wrong time and it was deathly cold. Literally. We had to hike bad down rather than staying the night camping cause we were so cold. Everyone warned us but to go anyway so we rented two giant blankets but it was also so rainy we were too wet to be able to stay. So just go at the right time! When that is I don't know. Ask someone cause no one told us it wasn't the right time. But the hike is a nice good hike slightly challenging especially with stuff. The spot is beautiful too and San Pedro the mountain to with the trail head is quite quaint and adorable

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Megan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gville fl.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Make sure you are in shape before attempting to reach the summit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

I visited Marcahuasi back in 69 with my school (Colegio Pestalozzi ) as I am a gringo that grew up in Lima . What I remember about the trip was the difficulty in the hike up the mountain because of the lack of oxygen . Mystical place ok for mystical people , spectacular views etc , but don't over expect things to see up there since besides the views and rock formations there is not a lot up there. Even the famous Cabeza Del Inka to my seeing it is more imagination than anything else. Still if you are in good shape and like to hike it will give you a feeling of being on top of the world when you are up there , specially if you had a cup of San Pedro on the way up . Enjoy.....

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank gringomarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Magical Place - Unbelievable Scenery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

Amazing experience - when the sun is out, watch for sunburn. At nearly 13,000 feet above sea level, it is a challenging hike up but totally worth it.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ka2sfw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Divine Adventures”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

What an energetic and mystical wonder of the world! This is a place off-the-beaten path and not visited by many 'gringos'. The people are magnificent and warm and enjoy entertaining 'gringos'!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank DivineAdventuresCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marcahuasi also viewed

 
Lima, Lima Region
Lima, Lima Region
 

Been to Marcahuasi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing