We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, not so nice neighbourhood”
Review of Ginebra Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ginebra Hotel
Ranked #144 of 224 Hotels in Lima
Bendigo, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, not so nice neighbourhood”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

We stayed here for one night as a stopover, before flying out to Cusco the next day.
Taxi ride (organised by the hotel) was the scariest we’ve ever been! Roads in Lima are crazy.
Not much English is spoken, so checking in was a little difficult. Room was beautiful, large and spacious and cute little ensuite. Only problem we had was; we filled the spa bath up and got ready to relax but the water stank like sewerage so we had to empty it :(
Dinner in the restaurant was the best food I ate in Peru. We were waited on by the chef who was working by himself and the food was delicious, fresh and quickly made!
Breakfast was also great the next morning, with breads and eggs and juice & coffee.
Problem is with this place, it is in a horribly noisy and frightening neighbourhood but once you get over that, it is actually quite charming.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AussiesSammyKirt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel G, Gerente at Ginebra Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Thanks for your comment! Glad to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    22
    18
    4
    4
See reviews for
5
37
5
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
College Park, Georgia
Level Contributor
163 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 511 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2014

Reviewing this hotel is tough, as there are many great things about this hotel, as well as a few attributes that would disqualify this as a choice for a number of travelers.

First off, you are unlikely to find as stylish a hotel for such a low rate anywhere--I paid $40 a night, including breakfast. The rooms and bathrooms are modern, nicely appointed, and well decorated. Ventilation is an issue, since many rooms (mine included) lack air conditioning--and my room was an interior one. So your choices for cooling include open windows (in a window well), and a standing fan that emits beeps after too long, making using the fan largely unsuitable for sleeping. The bathroom is very modern, with a great shower as well.

Then the quirks set in.

For such a small, cute hotel, there is a fair amount of bureaucracy. Guests are forbidden from smoking in the rooms (a standard prohibition), bringing in food or drink from outside (less customary--if I want to bring in a bottle of water or protein bar, getting fined for it seems excessive)--even a lost key (the key are the card type) cares a charge of 10 Soles.

I had water problems both at the outset (I had no water whatsoever) and later (no hot water with which to shower or shave). Interestingly, the front desk agents spoke almost no English, but the front bellmen were English-fluent.

While the front desk staff was very nice, there were information issues there. While the hotel is about a 15 minute walk from Lima's Metropolitan system (rapid transit via dedicated high speed bus lanes), the first front desk agent told me the hotel was too far away to walk, and suggested a taxicab to the Metropolitan station instead. The front bellman, instead, gave me directions that worked well--in very very good English.

A number of the reviews preceding this one make special mention of the hotel's location. It is important to note that the maps TripAdvisor uses on the computer and phone apps put the hotel in the wrong place--if the map is right, the hotel would be about 12 blocks from downtown Lima. It is not--rather it is several miles north of the coordinates where the TripAdvisor map places it. Hotel Ginebra stands out in the neighborhood, as it is both more quiet and elegant than most of its surrounds. Immediately in front of the hotel is a brightly lit, often crowded, entertainment district of bars and restaurants many guests will have little interest in. There are a few shopping malls nearby--about a ten minute walk--with numerous shops and a movie theatre. A bit further, the Izguerre Metropolitan station is convenient, and will take guests to downtown Lima, or Miraflores/Barranco beyond. The fare is very inexpensive--just 2 Soles once you've purchased a card for 5 Soles--but the ride can be long and at rush hours, very very crowded. A cab to LarcoMar in Miraflores costs about $15, and takes about 40 minutes when traffic is light.

Breakfast is pleasant enough, but there are no eggs included--this carb-heavy offering is essentially a continental breakfast.

If you are considering this hotel, you'll have to balance the notably attractive cheap chic of the place against a marginally unpleasant location that is inconvenient for many Lima attractions. If you are at all uneasy about using the Metropolitan to get around, cab fares will eat up any savings this hotel's admittedly attractive rates afford. Me personally, I'd rather stay in a Miraflores or Barranco location and pay more for it--than commute from this neighborhood where almost nothing of interest is nearby.

Room Tip: Interior rooms are quiet, though lack ventilation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelBeard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel G, Gerente at Ginebra Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Thanks for you comment! We are working in order to offer you a better service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HAWTHORNE, Ca
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 3, 2014

We Stay at this Hotel two different time it was great.And one of the times were Feb 14 we got a nice room..All personnel were very nice to us all both times we were there nice breakfast and we even got a drink because we had to wait for our room.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PLANET924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Minnesota
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014

In fairness, we didn't stay, but read-on and you'll understand why.

We were sorely disappointed in the service and accommodations.Our intention was to use stay there for a long layover - rest, bathe, eat, then catch our flight. Part of the attraction was not only price, but it offered an airport shuttle.

We emailed the hotel several days in advance asking about arrangements for the airport shuttle - they questioned if we even had reservation. We decided it was easiest to take a taxi to get to the hotel. When we arrived, we asked about a shuttle, and there was none, and it certainly was not complimentary (no benefit there).

Further, the hotel was not air conditioned, and neither was the room we booked. If we wanted a/c, the price would double.

They did let us use their internet in an attempt to make other arrangements. Because the neighborhood isn't terribly touristy, getting a taxi back to the airport was quite challenging. Ultimately, someone in the street hustled a friend to drive us. The fare was less, the young man was very kind and personable, but that was lucky on our part.

Room Tip: Make certain you know if your room is air conditioned - Peru is warm!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarahspassport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lima hotels

Prescott, Arizona
Level Contributor
88 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013

First let me say that our room was spectacular, made even better by the free upgrade from a matrimonial suite to an even better room ... and they even let us check in early! We received all that for a great price.

Maybe I should not complain because hotel front desk service is slow just about anywhere you go, nonetheless we did experience some slow and/or indifferent service at the front desk a few times during our one-night stay at Ginebra. And I will probably always be annoyed by (and ignore) the banquet of high-priced snacks that hotels stock their rooms with while hoping to gouge you should you get hungry or thirsty.

The neighborhood is not some place my wife felt comfortably hanging around, made worse by the representatives of at least 5 cevicherías in the area that hang out on the street and hound you incessantly to eat at their restaurante. Fortunately, it is a short 3 block walk to a very large mall, otherwise we would have been cooped-up in our room the whole time. We don't really like malls, however, so we went there only to eat at one of the restaurants and to get a few groceries at the grocery store (which is nice and conveniently located near the entrance to the mall).

Ginebra connected us a nice taxi service that arrived on time at the airport early in the morning to whisk us from the airport to the hotel, and then arrived on time very early the next morning to take us back to the airport.

So in summary, Ginebra works really well if you need plush accomodations at a great price for a night or two in Lima, especially if you need to be fairly close to the airport to catch a connecting flight. But I suspect that few of their guests stay more than a few days.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fotopala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

There is no way to explain how a hotel this nice could be so inexpensive. Sure it's a long way from Miraflores (about 35 minutes) and the neighborhood is a little rough, but that still doesn't make up for the fact that I paid so little to stay there. It was so clean and crisp. The staff was eager to help. Some spoke little English, but they were willing to try, and we always figured each other out. Lovely restaurant. Top-notch service from bellhop to chambermaid:).

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DocJoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Ginebra Hotel has beatiful rooms, in special the room 301, however the kitchen service manager has not willingness to serve and the wi-fi coverage is poor into rooms.
I've been in this Hotel on average 20 times since 1 year ago. I just go to this hotel because its rooms are good, but
I do recommend to change to the kitchen service manager in order to improve the customer service.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronald U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel G, Gerente at Ginebra Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Google Translation
Estimado Ronald:

Lo saludo cordialmente y a la vez asegurarle que para su proxima estadia sera mucho mejor, ya que nos comprometemos a brindarle un mejor servicio como usted se lo merece.

Lamentamos los inconvenientes.

Saludos cordiales.

Manuel E. Rojas Diaz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lima hotels
Hostal L'Baron
#152 of 224 in Lima
16 reviews
Lima Wari Suites
#73 of 224 in Lima
87 reviews
Laurent's Deluxe Hotel
#180 of 224 in Lima
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Isidro
Ocean Hotel
Ocean Hotel
#183 of 224 in Lima
14 reviews
Miraflores
Hotel Vila Santa
Hotel Vila Santa
#11 of 224 in Lima
793 reviews
Machu Picchu Suites
#105 of 224 in Lima
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ginebra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ginebra Hotel

Property: Ginebra Hotel
Address: Calle B Mz: D Lte: 54 | Independencia, Lima 0051, Peru
Location: Peru > Lima Region > Lima
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #144 of 224 Hotels in Lima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ginebra Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ginebra Hotel is perfectly located in the business area of Lima norte where you may also find well- knowed stores, restaurants, theatres, art shops and museums. Our facilities combine elegance with modern technology in order to provide quality and personalized service to our guests. We have thirty rooms which have been specially and elegantly designed to provide the best stay guaranteeing peace and quiet. Our luxurious rooms have safety box, 32-inch LCD TV with Cable DIRECTV signal, a minibar and wireless internet connection. Additional features rooms with terraces and people with disabilities. In our cafe restaurant you can enjoy our menu carefully designed under national and innovative culinary criteria. You can also enjoy an exclusive range of national and international cocktails. The hotel business center, located on the second floor, has a sophisticated equipment and bilingual trained staff assistance to facilitate the work of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ginebra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing