We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love it!”
Review of Ginebra Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ginebra Hotel
Ranked #147 of 226 Hotels in Lima
HAWTHORNE, Ca
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Love it!”
Reviewed April 3, 2014

We Stay at this Hotel two different time it was great.And one of the times were Feb 14 we got a nice room..All personnel were very nice to us all both times we were there nice breakfast and we even got a drink because we had to wait for our room.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PLANET924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    22
    18
    4
    4
See reviews for
5
37
5
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014

In fairness, we didn't stay, but read-on and you'll understand why.

We were sorely disappointed in the service and accommodations.Our intention was to use stay there for a long layover - rest, bathe, eat, then catch our flight. Part of the attraction was not only price, but it offered an airport shuttle.

We emailed the hotel several days in advance asking about arrangements for the airport shuttle - they questioned if we even had reservation. We decided it was easiest to take a taxi to get to the hotel. When we arrived, we asked about a shuttle, and there was none, and it certainly was not complimentary (no benefit there).

Further, the hotel was not air conditioned, and neither was the room we booked. If we wanted a/c, the price would double.

They did let us use their internet in an attempt to make other arrangements. Because the neighborhood isn't terribly touristy, getting a taxi back to the airport was quite challenging. Ultimately, someone in the street hustled a friend to drive us. The fare was less, the young man was very kind and personable, but that was lucky on our part.

Room Tip: Make certain you know if your room is air conditioned - Peru is warm!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarahspassport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lima hotels

Prescott, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013

First let me say that our room was spectacular, made even better by the free upgrade from a matrimonial suite to an even better room ... and they even let us check in early! We received all that for a great price.

Maybe I should not complain because hotel front desk service is slow just about anywhere you go, nonetheless we did experience some slow and/or indifferent service at the front desk a few times during our one-night stay at Ginebra. And I will probably always be annoyed by (and ignore) the banquet of high-priced snacks that hotels stock their rooms with while hoping to gouge you should you get hungry or thirsty.

The neighborhood is not some place my wife felt comfortably hanging around, made worse by the representatives of at least 5 cevicherías in the area that hang out on the street and hound you incessantly to eat at their restaurante. Fortunately, it is a short 3 block walk to a very large mall, otherwise we would have been cooped-up in our room the whole time. We don't really like malls, however, so we went there only to eat at one of the restaurants and to get a few groceries at the grocery store (which is nice and conveniently located near the entrance to the mall).

Ginebra connected us a nice taxi service that arrived on time at the airport early in the morning to whisk us from the airport to the hotel, and then arrived on time very early the next morning to take us back to the airport.

So in summary, Ginebra works really well if you need plush accomodations at a great price for a night or two in Lima, especially if you need to be fairly close to the airport to catch a connecting flight. But I suspect that few of their guests stay more than a few days.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fotopala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

There is no way to explain how a hotel this nice could be so inexpensive. Sure it's a long way from Miraflores (about 35 minutes) and the neighborhood is a little rough, but that still doesn't make up for the fact that I paid so little to stay there. It was so clean and crisp. The staff was eager to help. Some spoke little English, but they were willing to try, and we always figured each other out. Lovely restaurant. Top-notch service from bellhop to chambermaid:).

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DocJoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Ginebra Hotel has beatiful rooms, in special the room 301, however the kitchen service manager has not willingness to serve and the wi-fi coverage is poor into rooms.
I've been in this Hotel on average 20 times since 1 year ago. I just go to this hotel because its rooms are good, but
I do recommend to change to the kitchen service manager in order to improve the customer service.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronald U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel G, Gerente at Ginebra Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Google Translation
Estimado Ronald:

Lo saludo cordialmente y a la vez asegurarle que para su proxima estadia sera mucho mejor, ya que nos comprometemos a brindarle un mejor servicio como usted se lo merece.

Lamentamos los inconvenientes.

Saludos cordiales.

Manuel E. Rojas Diaz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

After an awful experience with a hotel in Lima last October, I was skeptical and a little nervous (to say the least) as our taxi driver tried to find the hotel. We had booked at the Ginebra hotel online a few nights before, and were going to stay 2 nights there before I traveled back to the UK, that's if we could ever find it.
We were driving around in a pretty rough looking area, when finally I noticed it. A tall silver building that looking quite ridiculously grand compared to everything else around it.
We got out the taxi and a friendly porter came to carry our bags into the hotel reception, the decour was lovely, tasteful clean and expensive looking. I suddenly got quite nervous when I remembered the price that the internet has said, I thought that there must be some mistake - either we had walked into the wrong hotel, and the grubby, standard one we were supposed to be at was actually round the corner...or, there has been some mistake and we must pay much more than we thought.
But this wasn't the case, we were in the right place, and we had paid the right price, which was roughly £40 for the two nights.
The hotel was lovely, the people at reception were helpful and polite. Our room was clean, nicely decorated, with cable TV, a lovely bathroom, fresh towels both days and our own Terrace. Breakfast wasn't included, and we didn't eat in the restaurant, but from what I saw the food looked delicious. There was a nice long check out time, which meant that we didn't have to rush out our room at 5am, and it was within walking distance of a large shopping mall, with restaurants, a cinema and shops. We were also given a free welcome drink when we arrived, which was a tasty cocktail - a nice bonus.
The only slightly odd thing, was the very strict rule of bringing no food or drink of your own, what so ever, into the hotel. I thought this was a little odd, something that I have never come across before, obviously a plea to urge you to buy from the well stocked but over expensive mini bar. The only other negative I have, is that the rooms became very hot during the night, they didn't have air conditioning, and if we opened the door, the bugs would come in.

Over all I would say that this is a fantastic little hotel, a true gem, so you if find yourself in Lima and are willing to spend a little extra in order to get a great night sleep and a hot shower before a long flight, you should stay here. Just bear in mind, that it is quite far from the center points of Lima, if you stayed here and wanted to go to some attractions more central, you would need to take a bus (which can be dangerous) or a taxi (which can be expensive), also if your backpacking or on a budget, there are plenty of other hotels which are much cheaper.

I was really impressed with this hotel, I have paid a lot more in the past, to stay in hotels in London, that were rubbish compared to Ginebra. You can really get value for your money in Peru, if you are willing to spend a little bit extra (not a lot, a little) instead of hunting for the bargains.

Happy travels.

Room Tip: Some rooms come with Hot tub, for a little extra money, were were advised not to to choose one of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Faith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel G, Gerente at Ginebra Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Google Translation
Estimado Faith:

Lo saludamos cordialmente y a la vez agradecemos sus comentarios acerca del hotel. El hotel Ginebra estara implementando muchos mas servicios que permitiran que su estadia sea hospitalaria, de calidad, exclusividad y de basntate confort para el proxima visita.

Saludos cordiales

Manuel Rojas Diaz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
94112
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2011

Ginebra Hotel is in the heart of Los Olivos, Independencia, Lima. Near Mega Plaza, it offers easy access to any part of Lima. It is far from the main city, but there are plenty of night life atractions surrounding the area. We booked a matrimonial room for 144 soles (approximately $50.00US) and although the room was quite small for our taste, the service was excellent. When you just arrive at the hotel, they offer you a "welcome drink." The drink can be a "Pisco sour"or an "Algarrobina." Both are delicious traditional drinks. On the following morning, a continental breakfast was served at our room, upon our request to be served at 7:30am. There is a cheapper room called "ïndividual," which I could not see, but the price is around 90 soles (approximately $35US). There are other fancier rooms with jacuzzi. Place has a private parking at no extra cost. Hotel is well maintained and very secure 24 hours. There is a bar and a restaurant inside the hotel as well as outside in the surrounding area.
In the evening and up to late hours at night, outside you can find a lot of sellers on the streets, where good price items are offered; much cheapper than in a store. Just be aware that all transactions are made in soles, so have plenty of Peruvian currency. If not, there are several agencies who change dollars to soles just a few stepsto the left from the hotel.
Hotel can also be rented per hours (8 hours) at a more affordable price, especially if you ar arriving in a flight late at night and want just a secure room and a warm shower. A taxi from the airport should not charge more than 20 soles(around 9 dollars), although 15 soles (around 6 dollars) is a well paid value. Inside the airport a taxi is more expensive, around 35 soles, but it is more secure. If you speak Spanish, you could walk outside the airport to get a cab, but it is not recommended.

Room Tip: The top floors provide more quiet rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank luisSR36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuel R, Manager at Ginebra Hotel, responded to this review, March 23, 2012
Dear Customer:

I greet you cordially and also tell that the hotel services are improving and implement many details which will allow a better stay and an unforgettable experience.

I hope your next arrival to the hotel very soon.

Best regards.

Manuel Rojas
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lima hotels
Hostal L'Baron
#153 of 226 in Lima
16 reviews
Laurent's Deluxe Hotel
#180 of 226 in Lima
30 reviews
Lima Wari Suites
#79 of 226 in Lima
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Isidro
Ocean Hotel
Ocean Hotel
#190 of 226 in Lima
15 reviews
Miraflores
Hotel Vila Santa
Hotel Vila Santa
#14 of 226 in Lima
799 reviews
Miraflores
Miraflores Inn
Miraflores Inn
#76 of 226 in Lima
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ginebra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ginebra Hotel

Property: Ginebra Hotel
Address: Calle B Mz: D Lte: 54 | Independencia, Lima 0051, Peru
Location: Peru > Lima Region > Lima
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #147 of 226 Hotels in Lima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ginebra Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ginebra Hotel is perfectly located in the business area of Lima norte where you may also find well- knowed stores, restaurants, theatres, art shops and museums. Our facilities combine elegance with modern technology in order to provide quality and personalized service to our guests. We have thirty rooms which have been specially and elegantly designed to provide the best stay guaranteeing peace and quiet. Our luxurious rooms have safety box, 32-inch LCD TV with Cable DIRECTV signal, a minibar and wireless internet connection. Additional features rooms with terraces and people with disabilities. In our cafe restaurant you can enjoy our menu carefully designed under national and innovative culinary criteria. You can also enjoy an exclusive range of national and international cocktails. The hotel business center, located on the second floor, has a sophisticated equipment and bilingual trained staff assistance to facilitate the work of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ginebra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing