We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Central hotel in Lima” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carmel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Carmel Hotel
Ranked #82 of 226 Hotels in Lima
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Central hotel in Lima”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

We stayed at the Carmel Hotel for three nights. We were travelling with GAdventures and stayed here pre and post tour. The hotel is located in a great location with restaurants, nightlife and shopping close by. It is a short walk to Kennedy Park and to the Inca Market. I would recommend that you ask for a room at the back of the hotel as the rooms facing the street can be quite noisy at night. The staff were wonderful and attentive. The check in and check out were quick. The breakfast was great. The rooms were basic but clean. A great base for seeing wonderful Lima.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoJoWro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    72
    25
    6
    3
See reviews for
17
34
21
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

Stayed here twice during my visit to Peru. Excellent location, iclose to everything in Miraflores. The staff are very friendly and helpful. You are a two to three minute walk to the centre f Miraflores, and minutes to numeroues eating area and shopping. |I would stay here again when i go back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunny California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

Stayed at this hotel as a part if Gate1 travel package. location is in the heart of Miraflores, the safest part of Lima for tourists. Right across a famous chicken restaurant serving Peruvian cuisine called Norky's. A must for first time visitors! (this is my 5th visit to Peru not to mentiobeing married to one!) right next to it is a laundry service pay by weight. 3 blocks away is the Inka Market for souvenirs and Parque Kennedy for restaurants and strolls. Metro and Wongs supermarket is a good place for your needs from fresh breads and other snacks. This hotel has an excellent wifi connection in every floor. The interior of the rooms needs serious uograding, noise proof glass is a must for the street facing windows, curtains are outdated but sheets are clean. Bathroom has very basic amenities, 2-1 shampoo and tiny bar soaps, and a hairdryer! Flat screen TV small fridge in the room. Adequate hot and cold water in the shower. Computer for public use at the lobby. Breakfast is very basic, eggs, bread jam, and fruits. Around the corner is a pharmacy that you can get bottled water, and has an ATM machine inside. Will stay here again.

Room Tip: Away from the street and higher floors to avoid street level noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank worldmissionaries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
190 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

This was our first visit to Peru and this hotel had everything we were looking for. The hotel staff spoke English and were always helpful and friendly. The hotel is located a very short walk from Kennedy Park and the heart of Miraflores. There are restaurants all round this hotel and one of the best restaurants in South America, Astrid & Gaston, is a 5 minute walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 59_Ford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

We were blessed to be a part if a group GATE trip for 12 days to Peru. We ended our trip at this hotel which was a pleasant surprise. Restaurant service. Room service. Public computer off the lobby. All the comforts we are used to in the US!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dagrlz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito, Ecuador
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

I enjoyed every bit of my stay at Hotel Carmel. The staff were excellent and friendly, the wifi was reliable enough to Skype with video without problems, and the air conditioner was great! My room was always clean and the front desk staff were able to provide me with plenty of options for adventures around the city and provided the transportation. I definitely recommend this hotel!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katherinebarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

Recommended by our travel agent. This is a great Hotel if you are visiting Lima Peru. Location is great and service is excellent.We stayed one night and got a Junior Suite which has a Jacussy made for a very relaxing time

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jgtropical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lima hotels
Miraflores
Allpa Hotel & Suites
Allpa Hotel & Suites
#48 of 226 in Lima
4.0 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
Miraflores
Hotel Stefano's
Hotel Stefano's
#46 of 226 in Lima
4.0 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
Miraflores
Habitat Hotel
Habitat Hotel
#71 of 226 in Lima
4.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miraflores
Hotel Miramar
Hotel Miramar
#50 of 226 in Lima
3.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Miraflores
Miraflores Inn
Miraflores Inn
#66 of 226 in Lima
4.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Miraflores
El Farolito Hotel
El Farolito Hotel
#131 of 226 in Lima
4.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carmel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Hotel

Property: Carmel Hotel
Address: Atahualpa Street 152 | Miraflores Lima 18, Lima, Peru
Location: Peru > Lima Region > Lima > Miraflores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 226 Hotels in Lima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Carmel Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, HostelWorld and Despegar.com so you can book your Carmel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing