We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms NOT as advertised”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
1900 Backpacker's Hostel
Ranked #19 of 330 Specialty Lodging in Lima
Wollongong, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Rooms NOT as advertised”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Hi

We booked this hostel via email, expecting from the photo's a nice double room, and were given a dingy, slightly dirty, very average room. If you are expecting 3 star style room (like on the website) think again - you will get 2 star, dirty not nice room. They also tried to give us a twin room, and also tried to charge us $30per night, not the $28 we were quoted. We had to take our email confirmation to the check in staff to grudgingly get the correct price.

Otherwise the common rooms were nice, although the roof top area was completely filthy. Bathrooms were ok, but a little dirty. The hot water was inconsistent.

Travel agency was nice and helpful, but told us Lima to Mancora was 14 hours - when it's really 21. Also the agency can book you cruz del Sur, or express Cial tickets. We used expresso cial and it was a very average bus ride, that left 2 hours late. If you don't want to pay cruz prices, maybe look at Cial - who we heard are good.

Staff were hit or miss - English traveller working there was tops, other staff were a bit rude and unhelpful.

Location in the centro is good. Right next to a park and a nice walk to the plaza del armas.

Room Tip: Insist on one of the rooms on the website - otherwise, don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    114
    56
    21
    22
See reviews for
7
90
95
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed June 9, 2013

If you dont want to stay in Milaflores/Barranco etc (you wouldnt be missing anything other than expensive shops and restraunts if you dont) then this is the place.

Great location, 10 - 15 min walk from the centre and all the museums that you might want to see.

The hostel itself was cool. The rooms were basic, just beds infact. But its a hostel so you shouldnt expect too much more i guess. Shared bathrooms were clean, the bar sold cheap beer, reception was manned 24 hours and wifi worked great wherever you were. Always people hanging about and having a beer in the bar so quite a good vibe about the place too.

If i go back to Lima (which i will try not to if i go back to Peru because its just not that great as a city) i would definatley stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Griffbox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Really cool building, organized and helpful staff. Only problem was the room was nothing like advertised. Website showed clean room with desk and giant bed for 2 people. Received room with 2 twin beds and an old chair in the corner. Room had no ambience at all. Hostel is big and surprisingly private for how many people appear to be here. All in all nice, but overpriced for a room without a private bath.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank LouBass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Good: it is old guesthouse with marble decor..., and is located within 10 blocks to the Palza de Arms, and I reached the Real Plaza, supermarket on foot, English speaking staff and tour agency in the lobby that I bought bus ticket.
Bad: my room is near to the lobby and reception, the ventilation is based on the top window on the door. It is quite noisy in the morning when people keep ringing the bell while the keeper went to nowhere. You can hear all people talking in the reception or party in the night. The men toilet & bathroom door always open and you can see only two toilet slot when you walk by. The last slot of shower s hot water does not work, I changed to the next one. Breakfast was even late and the bread and drink is preparedin the kitchen and leave a while and removed to the bar.

Room Tip: Room not near lobby
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Coral_Bay_HK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Lima was just a stopover for us, but we had a really good experience at 1900. Things were well organized, beds and bathrooms were clean, the building and decor were really nice. Great social atmosphere too, even though we were a little tired from traveling to really enjoy it! With the short time we had we were able to walk around the city center from the hostel, to Plaza de la Armas etc.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aguafijo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Well located in the center of Lima (near the historical center), 24 hour reception, hot showers, nice clean rooms with personal lockers and very good value for the price. Bathrooms could be better though. Bar and pool table disponible. Nice lobby and nice staff.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hubert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

This hostel is affordable and a great place for anyone wanting to meet fellow travelers and see the city of Lima. They offered daily activities lead by their staff (some extended travelers and some Peruvian staff). We went to the beach south of Lima, surfing in miraflores, had a rooftop grilling night, free tour of the historic district, and more. It was pretty clean and a great place to get a personal and relaxing experience while in a large city. We would recommend this place to anyone,as it is well worth the cost.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abby E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lima hotels
Cercado de Lima
Gran Hotel Bolivar
Gran Hotel Bolivar
#72 of 224 in Lima
676 reviews
Hotel Continental Lima
#57 of 224 in Lima
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pariwana Hostel Lima
#1 of 330 in Lima
718 reviews
Cercado de Lima
Mana Hostel
Mana Hostel
#16 of 330 in Lima
171 reviews
Lima Backpackers
#2 of 330 in Lima
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1900 Backpacker's Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1900 Backpacker's Hostel

Property: 1900 Backpacker's Hostel
Address: Ave Garcilazo de la Vega 1588, Lima L 01, Peru
Location: Peru > Lima Region > Lima > Cercado de Lima
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 330 Specialty Lodging in Lima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — 1900 Backpacker's Hostel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A renovated mansion in the historic center of Lima,walking distance from Lima's main tourist attractions and just in front of The Lima museum of art. It is a perfect blend of luxury and low price, old and new. With marble floors and french architecture, this backpacker oriented hostel provides plenty of fun with its stylish bar overlooking Old Lima and its good vibe! Hope you enjoy Lima with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your 1900 Backpacker's Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing