We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mindblowingly delicious!”
Review of Saqra

Saqra
Ranked #28 of 2,591 Restaurants in Lima
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $35
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Peruvian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Saqra, from the Quechua language meaning “little devil”, “naughty” or “mischief maker”. Saqra also refers to one of the characters found in the festival of the Madonna of Carmen in the village of Paucartambo, Cusco. Here, this happy little devil wins the heart of the Madonna with his childish pranks and mischief making as he dances around her playfully in the procession. These ideas inspired the creation of Saqra as a restaurant bar that offers modern Peruvian food where we reinterpret the Peruvian identity in a playful and contemporary key, conjuring up fun and colourful results. Saqra, in essence, is not really a place but a state of mind where this little devil plays a delightful host who wants that all his guests live a unique experience, where they meet again with their the inner child, sometimes long lost.
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Mindblowingly delicious!”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

We stopped here for a rest and pisco sour after busy day not expecting to stay to eat. But the drinks and atmosphere was great we decided to check out the menu. Our prawns and salad were delicious - but it was the desserts that blew us away! Yummy. Try the banana brûlée one and the pineapple coconut donut - best desserts we have had in South America in two months!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rachel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jdelapiedra, Owner at Saqra, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Hello RacyVee:
Thank you for your comment. Good vibe is greatly appreciated.
Best of luck,
Joaquin
SAQRA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,275 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    775
    363
    96
    26
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicestershire, England
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“A lovely meal in Lima”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Two of us had a really good meal here on our last night in Lima. Good service, a nice glass of wine, a great shared starter of cured fish and two steaks perfectly cooked. In particular one of the steaks was ordered very rare and was delivered as ordered, quite unusual these days. I guess its mostly tourists who eat here, and the only downside was a party of loud Americans drinking large quantities of coke with their meals, but I suppose even they have to eat somewhere, although there are plenty of burger bars in Lima of course.........

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian-SK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jdelapiedra, Owner at Saqra, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Hello Brian:
Thank you for stopping. We appreciate your review.
I see you liked our steaks...
Please drop by when you are in town again.
All the best,
Joaquin
SAQRA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Not bad, not great”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

I had higher expectations, not bad but have had much better food in many other places in Lima.
The places was very lonely, maybe because it was a tuesday but still the atmosphere was kind of depressing. We shared appetizers very traditional nothing really different, good but as good as an average place in Lima

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Euliana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jdelapiedra, Owner at Saqra, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Hello Euliana:
I am sorry to learn you had a disappointing experience with us.
If you are in Lima, I would like to discuss your experience and see what we can improve.
Let us know. My email is jdelapiedra@saqra.pe.
Have a nice week,
Joaquín de la Piedra
SAQRA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“May Be The Best Meal I Have Ever Had In A Restaurant”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Saqra was the best restaurant we ate at in Lima where the food is exceptional. Be sure to finish with their creme brule with chocolate truffles. Wow! We spent about $70 including drinks and tip for two full meals. The waiters were very friendly and helpful. A great experience. Don't miss it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Theodore M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jdelapiedra, Owner at Saqra, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Hello Ted:
Thank you for stopping by.
Please drop by if you are in town again.
All the best,
Joaquín.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Wonderful restaurant”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

I just had a great time at this restaurant. The service was perfect and the food was just fantastic. We tasted many delicious dishes. I couldn't believe. It was so good that I can assure that if you go there you'll love it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jfabio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jdelapiedra, Owner at Saqra, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Hello there:
We are glad to know you ad a good time with us.
I see you tried many dishes and you enjoyed many of them.
Please drop by soon.
Joaquin de la Piedra
SAQRA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saqra also viewed

 

Been to Saqra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing