We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Saqra

Saqra
Ranked #28 of 2,461 Restaurants in Lima
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $35
Cuisines: Peruvian, Latin, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Saqra, from the Quechua language meaning “little devil”, “naughty” or “mischief maker”. Saqra also refers to one of the characters found in the festival of the Madonna of Carmen in the village of Paucartambo, Cusco. Here, this happy little devil wins the heart of the Madonna with his childish pranks and mischief making as he dances around her playfully in the procession. These ideas inspired the creation of Saqra as a restaurant bar that offers modern Peruvian food where we reinterpret the Peruvian identity in a playful and contemporary key, conjuring up fun and colourful results. Saqra, in essence, is not really a place but a state of mind where this little devil plays a delightful host who wants that all his guests live a unique experience, where they meet again with their the inner child, sometimes long lost.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

This is a great place to eat! Everything I tried the many times I ate there over 3 weeks was excellent! If you are staying in the area, you should definitely try this place! The prices are a little high, but the food is worth it. The staff is also very friendly.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank guitars7625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jdelapiedra, Owner at Saqra, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Hello Guitars:
Nice having you over the past weeks with us.
Please drop by when you hit Lima again.
All the best,
Joaquin de la Piedra
SAQRA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    737
    341
    93
    24
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delicious meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

Four of us shared a delicious meal in Lima in this Restaurant. The staff spoke English and were very friendly and welcoming. We were served a complimentary Pisco Sour while we chose items from the menu. We each chose differently and were very pleased with the taste and quality of our food. The bill was very reasonable for what we ordered. This Restaurant was highly recommended by the Concierge at the hotel where we were staying, a ten minute walk down the same street and we were very glad we took his advice. This is a hidden treasure in a small lane way, off the Main Street.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jdelapiedra, Owner at Saqra, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Hello Marie:
I enjoyed reading your comment. It was so good to have you and your friends.
Please visit us soon.
All the best,
Joaquin de la Piedra
SAQRA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“nice experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

If you don't look for this place u can miss it . A little hidden in the heart of Miraflores but nice surroundings, Pisco sour was very good and plentiful ,steak beautifully done as i ordered and the salad that accompanied it very tasty and fresh, I asked for Mr. Joaquin waiter said he wasn't around. Went back the following week and had a lomo saltado, again the meat done the way i like it, these guys use top quality meat, very tender.The overall taste of the Lomo was good but it felt like they used too much soy sauce, the rice portion was very small compared to what you are used to in a Lomo dish. Washed it down with some Jugo de Maracuya, it was very fresh and pure. I asked for Mr, Joaquin again and the same waiter said he was not around again, oh well maybe next time. Overall a very nice experience I will be going back with family this time and try the rest of their interesting looking menu, and delicious looking deserts.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank perucho1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jdelapiedra, Owner at Saqra, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Hello Perucho:
Too bad I missed you. I would have liked to chat with you, maybe help you order. But I see you did great without me. If you are still in toen, please let me know. We are launching the new menu next week. We have also taken note of your comments.
Hope to see you soon,
Best regards,
Joaquín de la Piedra
SAQRA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Outstanding Food, Service, and Experience......”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

We were so glad we found Saqra (the Seafood restaurant we originally planned to eat dinner at was closed for the evening). We started with a delicious (and enourmous) Trout Tartar. Upon receiving our main courses one of the owners came to the table and gave us a "tour" of the dishes we ordered, describing the preparation and history of the foods. This made the meal very enjoyable as we understood the roots of the foods we had each ordered. My husband had the Lomo Saltado that was perfectly prepared. I had the Ravioli and my sister had the Gnocchi. My brother in law had been sick the days prior and could not finish his Escabeche- the owner came over after the meal because his staff had expressed concern that he may have not liked the meal because it was not finished. When we explained the situation you could see his relief. This man has a true passion for the foods they prepare and it shows! For dessert we shared a Chocolate and banana dish that had us all in paradise!
We all appreciated that they told us up front the 3 dishes that were unavailable- this should be expected at any establishment that uses only fresh ingredients and refuses to compromise quality just to have all menu items available all of the time. The price is very reasonable for the quantity and quality of the the food, and the experience we enjoyed.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pharmgirltn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jdelapiedra, Owner at Saqra, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Hello Pharmgirl:
We enjoyed having you in Saqra. We have read your extensive comments. Thank you for taking your time to write a review.
Please drop by when you are in town.
Enjoy spring in Nashville
Best regards,
J.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
146 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Small portions- great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

Situated in a small cobelstone lane, this restaurant has great food, good service and good decor. The quinao tableau was very good and so was the dessert lucomo. A little pricey for the portions served. A dinner for two can set you back by 100 sols.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karjanmed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jdelapiedra, Owner at Saqra, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Hello Karjanmed:
We appreciate your comments.
All the best,
Joaquin de la Piedra
SAQRA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saqra also viewed

 
Lima, Lima Region
Lima, Lima Region
 

Been to Saqra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing