We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good overall” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cesar - CLOSED

Cesar
Price range: $5 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Local very welcoming for families, couples, group of friends with a custom kitchen according to what customers want, where everything is prepared at the time. Open 7 days a week with flexible hours for special events.Local muy acogedor, para familias, parejas, grupo de amigos, con una cocina personalizada de acuerdo a lo que los clientes deseen, donde todo se prepara al momento. Abierto los 7 dias de la semana con horarios flexibles para acontecimientos especiales
pa
Level Contributor
94 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“good overall”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

I had causa & cabrito there. Both are good, although I like the goat better. The meat fall apart & melt in your mouth... Yumm, I can still taste it...:)

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank p l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    16
    5
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San José, San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great tasting experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

When my wife announced that lunch would be at a potato themed restaurant I wasn't exactly jumping for joy....however, when we found the newly named "Cesar" and were greeted warmly, I became more interested. As we were gifted four unsolicited causas that tasted like the things we were told they contained, I was even more keen to get stuck into lunch. My wife was delighted to be presented with the green dish as featured in "The Lonely Planet Guide" (spinach, artichokes, corn...). I opted for the ceviche-inspired causa served with crumbed marlin dish with a sauce best described as lively on the palette. As everything is made to order, it's possible to tweek dishes to your dietary requirements. Our hosts even flagged down a taxi for us and agreed on a more sensible price than we would have been offered as tourists. As well as tasting good, our dishes kept up our energy levels long enough to get us round a few hours in a museum. We intend to go back for a pisco sour on the house. A great tasting experience!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Trato calido y muy deliciosa comida. Great food great service.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Trato calido y muy rico comida. Our server was a warm friendly gentleman who was very accommodating and even spoke some English. He was profesional and took good care of us and gave us directions and reccomendations. The was priced fair for the size of portions. The ceviche was delicious but the guacamole seemed to have too much Mayo. Overall very very pleased with this place.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gregoryschratz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, SC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful Place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

I, of course, echo the many other reviews of Cesar (formerly Mi Causa) in the quality and taste of their food. However, the reason why this place is so amazing has to do with their staff and owner. My wife and I just recently returned from our first trip to Peru. During a brief layover period in Lima and Miraflores, we decided to check out Cesar. We were not paying attention to the time, and arrived at 5:40 PM. They close at 5. We fully expected a "sorry, we're closed" response. However, to our shock, Cesar, the owner, walked up and told us it would be no problem to serve us. We insisted that we take the food to go, in order to allow them to close for the evening. Not only was the staff absolutely delightful to us, allowing us to order almost an hour after closing, but Cesar reviewed our guide book with us, and suggested several areas and activities to visit. The food is amazing, everyone agrees on this. But it is very rare to find people so nice, pleasant, and gracious to travelers. This place is a true gem and a prime example of great Peruvian people. Many thanks to Cesar and this great restaurant!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Scott C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
1 review
“Delicious food and a great owner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

We had a great experience in this restaurant. The staff was really friendly and the food was delicious! We heard some stories of the owner and got to taste coffee of his own coffee plantation! Also we got to taste traditional drink of Peru, the Pisco Sour. Excellent restaurant!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Emma A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cesar also viewed

 
Lima, Lima Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing