We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A unique collection of Peruvian art”

Artesanias Las Pallas
Ranked #5 of 87 Shopping in Lima
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Specialized in select traditional folk art:Weavings,pottery,masks,hand painted frames and trys,baskets,charms,amulets.Also carved gourds,retablos,appliques and much more.
Vienna
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A unique collection of Peruvian art”
Reviewed June 9, 2012

If you are looking to find something else then the usual tourist memorabilia then you need to visit this place. We ended up talking with Mari Solari, the owner, a very committed and educated third generation women, for more then an hour. The collection of the old art is very extensive, maybe the best one you can find in Peru. The house is a peace of art itself with a beautiful garden and a nicely painted house front.

If you are anywhere close to Lima, come and visit the place, it was one of the best experiences we had during our stay in Peru.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Dejan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    45
    2
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“An extraordinary store run by an extraordinary woman”
Reviewed February 21, 2012

My wife and I are part-time residents of Miraflores, 3-4 months a year. We discovered Las Pallas several years ago and always go back at least twice a year. Mari Solari is a fascinating and principled person, and she is doing wonders to protect and preserve the traditional folk arts of Peru. Nothing in Lima's far more famous and tourist-riddled Indian Market can compare with Las Pallas. It is somewhat more expensive, but that is because it is so much better.

Visited March 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Jonboy439
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean VA
Level Contributor
247 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Excellent store for Peruvian crafts”
Reviewed August 13, 2011

We looked at many crafts stores during 2 1/2 weeks in Peru, across the Andes, but Artesanias Las Pallas topped the list. They have really done a very good job of picking the very best art from various regions--and then offer it at a very reasonable price. We bought a retablo and a painting from the Amazon simply because we liked them, but after we came home we did research on the artists and discovered that in both cases they are tops in their field.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank geldolphMcLeanVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara,Ca
Level Contributor
47 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Artisan crafts and an education”
Reviewed April 6, 2011

My wife and I have been to Peru about once a year for the past 4 years and always spend time shopping at Las Pallas. The store is tucked out of the way in a residential area next to a school and is owned by a Swiss lady named Marie. She has spent 20+ years, traveling into the remote villages in the Andes to buy the coolest things from the artisans who make them. She has a great collection of textiles, blankets, and jewelry from the highlands, as well as hats, ornaments, and shamanistic religious/ceremonial items like chicha bowls, and illas (stone carvings of animals or villages used to ensure prosperity for a village). Marie is always glad to teach you the meaning of the symbolism on the pieces, be it a peacock on a cloak pin, or a fist carved in Huamonga stone that's been fashioned into a necklace. If you want to buy something that looks like it belongs on Indiana Jones' bookshelf and feel good that the artisan enjoyed a fair trade payment, be sure to visit here.

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank favtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Artesanias Las Pallas also viewed

 
Lima, Lima Region
 

Been to Artesanias Las Pallas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing