We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor fault management”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Flying Dog Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Flying Dog Hostel
Ranked #29 of 324 Specialty Lodging in Lima
Salzburg, Austria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Poor fault management”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

We have booked a double room with shared bathroom, but at the check in we were told that due to a booking mistake of the stuff (we were registered for the following night) there were no private rooms left. Instead, we were offered a mixed dorm for 25 instead of 30 soles.
The "dorm" was actually a room with 5 beds between another dorm and the bathroom and didn't have any door or curtain to prevent noises and light from the corridor. We met another couple with the same situation, who got the night for free. After returning to the reception to check why we had to pay for sleeping almost on the corridor instead in a private double room, we were fobbed off with the hostel rules - initially the stuff was not helpful and friendly at all. After a long discussion we were offered the night for free, with hardly any word of excuse ...
Due to old mattresses, noise from the street (the window looked directly to a main street) and from the corridor, having light shining all night long in our faces we didn't sleep well at all.
The only good thing was the included breakfast which we had in a café nearby on the next day.
Overall, we were very disappointed with the reaction of the stuff concerning our situation. It seemed that only our persistence lead to a solution that was acceptable for us. In our eyes, this is not the way one should deal with guests!

Beside that, WiFi was not working.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    78
    65
    23
    16
See reviews for
17
73
44
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Medellin, Colombia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

First of all, they didn't have any private rooms (not their fault of course but didn't even bother to ring up the one across the road). WiFi was terrible, couldn't get it in most places, even the common rooms. There seems to be ONE toilet serving the whole place and it's tiny. We were questioned about us sleeping in the same bed together in the dorm, 'you cant sleep in the same beds, if you want to share you get a private', to which i replied, 'well we wanted one but you didn't have any'. 'you have broken the rules'. We were given a list of do's and don'ts and this wasnt listed in it. First place in all my time of traveling that we weren't allowed to sleep in the same bed. $10 dollars each for a dorm (breakfast included) seems a little too much for what you get. I suggest you find another place to stay as this WILL be a letdown.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank baileyprice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lima hotels

Williamsport, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
292 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

Great place--very convenient and friendly staff. Next to Kennedy parke--close to beacxh, shopping, etc. Easy to take bus into Central City' Very friendly little bar where travelers meet to share advice on travel

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank godofthearmadillos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2012

There are 3 flying dogs around parque Kennedy. Maybe the 1 with "backpacker" in the name is ok but the other 2 are not. Checked into the 1 on lima st - listed in the lonely planet. There was a skylight that could not shut so lots of noise and light and a drip only for the shower. Nice big bar but smelled like puke and no one was hanging out. We switched the next day to what we thought was the "backpacker" flying dog but they put us in this one.

This was the WORST hostel i have stayed at in my entire life! There are only 6 rooms in a row and all face the tv/lounge so its loud all the time. The shower is cold, and only a drip. The water was shut off at 1 point. The bathrooms were dirty - toilet bin not emptied and brown water dripping down on 1 of the toilets from a skylight. I sat on the bed and 2 wood bars that are underneath to hold up the mattress fell down. If someone cooks, you get the smell in your room for a long time. What topped everything off was that the staff of all 3 hostels had a party in the small lounge instead of in the bars at the other 2 hostels! Our room was right in front and we were trying to sleep. Even when I came out of the room all 10 people just laughed! This is how u treat your customers?!!!!! Do yourself a favor and don't stay here!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Springazure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed in their matrimonial room for two nights.

Upsides: The staff was very nice and spoke English well, so they were very easy to communicate with. The location was great - right in downtown Miraflores. Hot water! Breakfast from La Cafe de Paz was included - there is a foot fetishist man that walks through every morning looking for men with exposed feet. ´He´s harmless, but it is strange.

Drawbacks: There are two Flying Dog hostels in the same 2 blocks - make sure you give your driver the correct address or you have to walk through the park. The community areas downstairs smell like cat pee (there are two cats that like to hang out). The rooms facing the street can be very loud - people love to honk and let their car alarms run, and the glass is thin. There was low water pressure in the shower and there were no blinds in our private bathroom.

We found a better hostel for a similar price, but Flying Dog is not too bad for a 2-night stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lima hotels
Flying Dog Hostel B&B
#48 of 324 in Lima
3.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Miraflores
Flying Dog Backpackers Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miraflores
Puriwasi Hostel
Puriwasi Hostel
#8 of 324 in Lima
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
Pariwana Hostel Lima
#2 of 324 in Lima
4.5 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
Miraflores
Hostel Kokopelli
Hostel Kokopelli
#17 of 324 in Lima
4.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flying Dog Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flying Dog Hostel

Property: Flying Dog Hostel
Address: Martir Olaya 280, Miraflores, Lima, Peru
Location: Peru > Lima Region > Lima
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 324 Specialty Lodging in Lima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Flying Dog Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Flying Dog Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing