We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond excellent”
Review of La Locanda

La Locanda
Ranked #6 of 2,591 Restaurants in Lima
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: San Isidro
Description: The best Mediterranean and Peruvian fusion cuisine in Lima. At La Locanda, guests enjoy classic elegance in an exclusive environment with a beautiful view of the garden. With warm service, each detail has been meticulously attended to for an unforgettable experience. La Locanda also offers a great selection of desserts and the finest wines and liquors. This is the perfect place for a business lunch, a romantic dinner or just a fun evening with friends.
Rochester, NY
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Beyond excellent”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Yesterday, I had the pleasure of treating my Peruvian hosts to a nice dinner at La Locanda. My hosts and I were a little reticent of having dinner at a Hotel´s restaurant. La Locanda has a written a new page for hotel food. Service was impeccable, Mr. Candiotti, the Maitre´d is the Peruvian Sirio Marcionni of Le Cirque,s fame. Mr. Candiotti has a talent of explaining every dish in his very varied menu. The delivery of every dish was timely and the Chef accomodated every special request we asked for, he was able to prepare three appetizers into 4 plates, all of us had the same appetizer without the cumbersome task of passing food around. My hosts being non-drinkers left me at at the mercy of choosing a half bottle or the dreaded reality of a house wine. The two glasses of wine Mr. Candiotti produced were superb, a Viognier and a Ribera del Duero.
Throughout the dinner Mr. Candiotti and his staff made sure EVERYTHING was perfect.
The food was exeptional, you can clearly discern that every item was cooked from scratch, for example: the lobster bisque was tasty, velvety and had nice chunks of lobster in it. No Aji-No-Moto(msg) or sillau(soy sauce) were detected, two ingredients found in many of the Lima restaurants that crowd this this extensive list.
This restaurant deserves a rating beyond excellent and should be the numero uno destination for a gourmand visiting Lima. Congratulations to the young Chef and the gracious Mr. Candiotti, the Peruvian Sirio Marcionni.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Culebra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    546
    130
    34
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“La Locanda is Beautiful Mediterranean Cuisine with Peruvian Twists from a Talented, Young Chef”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

This is a mostly Mediterranean restaurant with creative dishes made with high quality local ingredients.

I started with tiradito, which is like ceviche but with fish or seafood cut sashimi style instead of in cubes. That day it was scallops. The slices are spread out and soaked in a lime and amarillo yellow chili pepper sauce and served with boiled sweet potato and chocolo (fat corn). There's also a traditional appetizer plate with sole ceviche, cilantro tiradito and fried calamari.

Then I had the "chita" rockfish with cherry tomatoes, capers, pickled onions, fresh artichokes, and green beans on a bed of spinach. The chef is really good with balancing fresh flavours with bitter greens and fresh herbs. In Lima you don't get a lot of green. Ever. So things like watercress and mustard greens were so welcome. Another diner had the lobster ravioli. It looked beautiful. The chef is also very good at plating. Oh, and he did a fois gras circle and pressed, gel-ed pineapple circle on a rock plate as an amuse-bouche. It was gorgeous.

I also tried a little of the whole cabrilla fish stuffed with cheese and served with a balsamic reduction. It was a very generous serving. Actually both fish were very generous.

There was also a main with baby calf (it was a huge portion!), with watercress, gnocchi, and cherry tomatoes and I think a port reduction. I didn't get to try it, but I heard it was really good. The flavours in everything seemed really simple (a lot of cherry tomatoes, balsamic olive oil, salt and pepper, but the ingredients were top notch so the food all tasted amazing, and the fish wasn't overcooked).

Dessert for me was a trio of sorbets - lemon, watermelon and passionfruit (plus liquid nitrogen smoking rose petals...), so a good balance of acid and sweet. But the layered apple tart that looked like a piece of baklava looked beautiful with a dulce de leche ice cream and an apple gel.

And if you order coffee or tea (or just come for coffee or tea in the afternoon) you get a complimentary platter of cookies and truffles. Afternoon coffee is a great tradition in Lima...almost as good as the siesta you'll need after most meals. But La Locanda's food isn't that heavy. It's healthy and filling, but not full of preservatives like the cheap meals you get on every corner at lunch. And not just pure carbs like a lot of Italian places. This is refined Mediterranean food, and the price isn't bad for what you get. About 37 soles for apps and 56 soles for mains. So about $40 with service and tax included, I think. There's also a more expensive tasting menu, around 150 soles, I think. So just under $70?

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MissWattson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“an experience”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

itis always an adventure to eatatla Locanda.The mettreknoledge and passion describing differentdishes is just overwellming

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank GRSQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
“Master of his Craft”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

I asked the Maitre 'D, Senor Alfonso Candiotti, for the highlights of the menu and for his best recommendations. Everything I ate was excellent, but even the wonderful food was surpassed by the amazing performance of Sr. Candiotti. To be served by him is to see a great professional at work, and one who obviously relishes what he does! A true Master of his Craft! He brought an even higher level of enjoyment to a lovely meal.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellent service... and food”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

This restaurant is awesomly good and the service is the best point. The maitre recommends very well and makes special dishes if needed. You have to eat the maple apple desert!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank J Oriol L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Locanda also viewed

Lima, Lima Region
 
Lima, Lima Region
 

Been to La Locanda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing