We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Personalized service”
Review of Lima Walks

Lima Walks
Ranked #43 of 238 Tours in Lima
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: LIMA WALKS offers guided walks in Lima. With an uninterrupted history of more than 2000 years, Lima is perhaps the most fascinating city in the continent. In many ways, it's a hidden city and the best way to appreciate its architectural and historical richness is by walking. Ancient pre-Columbian temples, Colonial churches and mansions, abandoned haciendas, Republican houses, early XX Century buildings and modern villas, all share a space, side by side, in this amazing city - surely the Americas' best kept secret.LIMA WALKS offers 11 architectural/historical walks, of which four in the historic centre and six in different districts, and two gastronomy walks, one on ingredients in the Peruvian cuisine and the other on regional gastronomy. The walks can be done in English, German, Spanish or Dutch. As of 10 dollar per person
Pgh. Pa.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Personalized service”
Reviewed April 27, 2012

If you like to tour a new place or see an old place from a different prospectus, at your own style and pace Lima walks is the way to go. Air Canada lost one of bags on the way to Lima so my wife was left without proper shoes for our subsequent voyage down the Amazon the following day. We met Ronald at our hotel on time. We explained our situation and told him we need ladies shoes for the next days voyage. Ronald wisked us to the mall across the street from our hotel and helped us in the shops as we tried to find some "water shoes". He was most helpful in communicating with the locals as to what we wanted and the prices. We did find what we needed. After a quick cup of coffee we started our day tour. He took us to the Larco Museum and then to a very local restaurant for lunch where he ordered the local cuisine for us. This is the way I like to experience an new country. We then took a cab to downtown and walked the city while he explained the surroundings culture and architecture. That was followed by another quick cab trip back to our hotel. Robert took care of everything as far as the cabs, restaurant tabs and any other expenses in the local currency while we were touring and we settled up back at the hotel. I did not have to worry about anything and we got a fantastic personal tour that you cannot get with a canned company tour in a bus or in a big group. Lastly his rates and very reasonable for the services provided.
THANK YOU RONALD
John & Donna Green

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Divemaster57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    10
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines, Iowa, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic preparation and knowledge”
Reviewed March 31, 2012

This was a class research trip and provided Ronald with our topics of interest and he put together a great customized tour that nailed exactly what we wanted to see while also seamlessly integrating the storyline into a cohesive presentation that was easy to follow and very informative.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kelly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ames, Iowa, United States
1 review
“Perfect!”
Reviewed March 28, 2012

I signed up 15 design students from Iowa in the USA for a walking tour of the historic center. Ronald showed us places we would not have found on our own. It was a both a solid historical overview and an insider's window on the contemporary city. We all loved the tour, which was extremely affordable. I only wish we had had more time to learn about other parts of the city this way. Lima Walks is fantastic.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank 42Clare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
“Infuse yourself with art, architecture, and cuisine on Ronald's Lima Walks”
Reviewed January 26, 2012

As a serial expat and architecture journalist, I come to know cultures through architecture. Lima Walks has helped me get to know Lima in a way I may not otherwise have found. It's on two walks I've already gone with Ronald: to Barranco and Callao. I plan to go on at least two others. He always reveals delightful restaurants to walkers and funny little anecdotes in addition to historical and cultural facts.
One of the most enjoyable facets was that the groups aren't so big that they drag along or distract or compete to hear Ronald or his other guides. He keeps on time and, though most of the walks are timed and planned carefully, his ability to individualize walks-- either slightly or significantly-- impresses his guests. These walks offer one of the city's best activities at a really reasonable rate.
Through Ronald's walks, I've made friends and found niches and local personalities to write about. I encourage all expats, business travelers, tourists, even locals, to join Ronald and his guides on a Lima Walks tour. You simply can't get this from a bus or a cab.
http://www.architecturetravelwriter.com

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank Nichole R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
94 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Great way to get to know and understand Lima”
Reviewed January 9, 2012

Lima Walks is an outstanding walking tour service. My wife and I have taken three of their small group tours - Barranco, Miraflores and Callao - and we have been enthusiastic about all of them. Our guide, Ronald, an enterprising Dutchman, has a remarkable knowledge of Lima’s history, culture and architecture, and takes you way beyond the obvious sights and the usual guide explanations.

An affable person, with excellent English (not always the case with guides in Peru), he sets the relaxed and informative tone for the guided walks. They are sociable and pleasant outings, providing low-key opportunities to meet fellow travelers and even to make friends. The walks are equally suitable for short-term visitors to Lima and expats living there. Lima Walks’ fees are very reasonable.

An indication of Ronald’s credibility as a guide is that his articles on Peruvian history are published in Peru’s leading newspaper, a remarkable feat especially for a non-Peruvian.

We plan to do several more outings with Lima Walks.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank WarsawWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lima Walks also viewed

 

Been to Lima Walks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing